We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice room, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Room was a good size, bathroom clean and well set out, and hotel had a lovely lobby. Free parking nearby was suggested, which was ideal. Parking outside was available to unload luggage. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay again if in La Rochelle. Room (no 42) was next to elevator which was a bit noisy at times (esp at 4.20am in the morning).

Room Tip: Choose other than Room 42- some elevator noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MareeandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    254
    33
    8
    1
See reviews for
77
460
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Stayed two nights. Lovely French style with some character missing in others we have stayed in. Emailed to reserve parking which was convenient and covered. Friendly reception a small cosy bar and classy public rooms. Large well furnished bedroom and a modern clean bathroom. We love La Rochelle and will return here when we next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POITIERS
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I'm hard to please at 100e or more per night especially when i have to pay extra for breakfast and parking but we left here feeeling very happy.
Fairly forgettable from outside with strange parking set-up.Inside however a period building with beautiful features.
Staff missing from reception on arrival but we were 2 hours early and they appeared promptly and showed me where to park and we could check-in.
Room was nice,a couple of small problems quickly sorted out which is very unusualy for France.
Lovely bar and reception area and didn't get ripped off for drinks- like everywhere else in La rochelle.
If it was slightly closer to the harbour we'd stay here every visit but i can recommend it to anyone.
We didn't eat breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SONOFDRAKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We spent 2 nights here in early September 2011 during a 3 week tour of France. I am very familiar with La Rochelle (it's an excellent short break destination) but had not stayed in Hotel Champlain before.

We had a second floor room but had no issues with street noise; we had the large casement windows open early each morning to let in the warm fresh air. Our room was large and clean with antiques and a well equipped en suite bathroom, with comfy soft bathrobes too. The comfort of the bed was excellent, with good quality mattress and bedding and plenty of pillows / bolsters.

Secure parking was very important to us as we were touring in a soft top MX5, so the private indoor parking in the building next door to the hotel was most welcome and worth the 7 euros a day.

Without exception, every member of staff we had dealings with, however minor, was cheerful, polite, helpful and professional. This is the most critical factor in our view, because no matter how luxurious or well located your hotel might be (and the Champlain is both of these), if you can't wow the guests you are dead in the water - so top marks to the staff here!

Don't know if it's been mentioned but the hotel is also adjacent to Parc Charruyer, a beautiful park which runs almost the whole length of the city. Simply walk out of the front door, turn right, cross the road and you will see it. Bear left on entering the park and you have over half a mile of traffic free gardens and trees to wander through on your way down to the beach.

Incidentally, if you want to fly to La Rochelle for a short break, it couldn't be easier. We fly from Stansted (1 hour 10 mins) to La Rochelle, turn right out of the airport main entrance, 150 yards to the bus stop, no 7 bus (it's about 1.3 euros each) takes you straight into Place Verdun in the centre of La Rochelle. Hotel Champlain (and plenty of other hotels, for that matter) is about 250 / 300 yards away - ask at the police 'station' on Place Verdun if you need directions.

So; if you are going to La Rochelle, and you want a classy, welcoming hotel, spend the money and try the Hotel Champlain. Excellent.

Room Tip: Rear rooms have garden views. If you have a front room, second floor or higher is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank merlinthehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in August 2011. The car's satellite navigation system found the hotel easily. There is a drop-off parking space immediately outside the main door, which eases check-in. I recommend the under-cover parking which is immediately next to the hotel, although it costs 7 Euros per 24hrs. The hotel is in the old part of town, so walking to the shops and restaurants is easy. The reception staff were amongst the friendliest we have encountered; very willing to help with any questions we had and very good spoken English.
Our room was a "Prestige" room and well worth the additional money. It was very large with a sublimely comfortable bed that demanded no first night sleeplessness of us. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided - so often not found in French hotels - and fresh milk on demand from the kitchen. We had a superb modern bathroom (yes, with bath) and a wonderfully quiet room overlooking the well-managed garden in the enclosed quadrangle.
Breakfasts were good, buffet with tea and coffee served to the table. Sadly no cooked English, although we were able to boil eggs.
All staff were lovely; breakfast staff, reception and cleaning. The hotel does not provide evening meals, however there is a restaurant just a few doors further down the street with relatively inexpensive but good food available. I recommend you book either in person or via reception though, as it fills up quickly.
As a footnote to this review my wife and I stayed in various hotels, guest houses and a privately rented villa during our stay. Nowhere compared as favourably to this Best Western - even the 4* ones!

Room Tip: A lift is available in the new part of the hotel. Our "Prestige" room type (number 14) wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snobsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.8 km away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#5 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
#3 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#2 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#7 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel La Marine
Hotel La Marine
#18 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.4 km away
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
#4 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre
Address: 30 rue Rambaud, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
#1 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
#4 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,089 - ₹ 10,124
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Rochelle
La Rochelle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing