We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lunch in France this trip”

Bistrot Saint Andre
Ranked #5 of 207 Restaurants in Angouleme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 26
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We came across this little gem while wandering around Angouleme and are so glad we decided to stop off for some lunch. There is an outside seating area and as it was a hot day that was our preferred option. We weren't hungry enough for a full lunch so opted to share a plate from the menu of the day which was escalope Milanaise. No eyebrows raised by the waiter and out came two plates, one with the meal and the other empty but decorated in the identical way. There was plenty to share and the meat was accompanied by pasta in a superb tomato sauce. We had a dessert each; one was finely cut pineapple in a lime syrup and the other a peach tart. Great position, friendly and attentive staff and superb food. Take a look at the wonderful trompe l'oeil mural at the end of the street.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annsullivan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Been trying to come here every year we come to Circuit des Remparts in Angouleme, finally managed to book a table for sat night.
We were seated outside which was fine as it was a pleasant evening. But a full 10 minutes passed and we still didn’t have menus. Eventually we manage to flag the waiter down and ask if we can have some menus, he brings them and when we ask if we can at least order some drinks he says one minute. Another 10 mins pass, we ask him again can we please order drinks at least and ideally our food??! No, he doesn’t take any orders, only the manager? After a full 30 minutes from being seated we get to order both food and some drinks.
Having said this once we got going everything was very good. Our steaks in particular were amazing and their squiggly frites were suburb. The steaks were enormous though!! Seriously you need to fast all day to manage it. Best steak I’ve had in ages and the Roquefort sauce was delicious.
So to summarise, the food is definitely worth trying I’m hoping we were just unlucky with the service. The service was fine once we managed to order. Lovely setting.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 341deannep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We arrived in town for lunch as this restaurant was very popular and had tables beautifully located alongside the church. We asked if they could serve us and were advised of a five minute wait whim they cleared and prepared a table.

Very friendly staff happy to advise and serve. Suggested a carafe of the rose wine as better value than by the glass. Delicious lunch menu, I have never had mustard ice cream before, especially in a gazpacho soup! As it was 30C matched the weather beautifully.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank JohnR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We had not booked and it was very busy but they found a lovely table and looked after us excellently. The staff were amongst the best I have come across and the food was also very good. My only slight concern was that the lovely steaks were a bit too large for us at 350 grams each and perhaps a smaller size option could be offered. Thanks so much to the staff, we had a lovely evening.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank richarddY5149GZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

It was threatening to rain where we were camping so we packed up and booked a couple of rooms in this town. This restaurant was amazing. How can it only be number 5 in town. Everything was delicious and our tomato fan was in heaven with la Tomate dessert. Liked it had just been picked off a vine. Don’t miss this place but book if you want a table outside. We were quite early and got the last one.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank cherryp669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistrot Saint Andre also viewed

Angouleme, Charente
 
Angouleme, Charente
 
Angouleme, Charente
Angouleme, Charente
 

Been to Bistrot Saint Andre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing