We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal to get away from it all”
other travellers have booked this property
the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the house
courtyard in autumn courtyard in summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
the house
courtyard in autumn
courtyard in summer
Kitchen and eating area
Dining table for 6
Lounge area with log fire
staircase to bedrooms
Bedroom Loire
Bedroom Lodge
Bathroom
Bedroom suite
Living suite
Bathroom suite
the pool
Our mascot
The alley
Golf
river walks and picnic
historical site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Angers, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
TN6Irons
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal to get away from it all”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely conversion which is attached to owner's property. Very tastefully constructed and retains many original features plus all the modern amenities you would expect as well as a pool to yourself. Those who like animals will enjoy the company of Maverick the Chocolate Labrador, horses, resident donkey and cats plus numerous wildlife - we saw buzzards and deer.

Very peaceful setting and there are bicycles available for you to enjoy the nearby countryside lanes. The village of Cheffes is very close and has access to the Sarthe for messing about on the water. The property also backs onto Golf d'Anjou.

Great location to explore the nearby towns of Angers and Saumur (take the Levee de Loire (D952) rather than the motorway for a scenic drive that follows the Loire) as well as the Bio Parc in Doue Fontaine - watching the vultures feeding on carrion is a daily spectacle.

Although the owners live next door they are not intrusive and this is a great place to get away from it all and enjoy the French countryside while sampling the local food and wine.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your feedback and the useful travel tips for future guests. We were delighted to have you to stay and hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addo de V
1 review
“Fantastic location, very well equipped house, very friendly owners”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I do not write recommendations often but for the Shakespeare Lodge I make an exception! This is really worth a 5+ star recommendation if you're looking for a lovely and well equipped holiday house. It is very quiet and peaceful with friendly and very helpful owners. Nice swimming pool with nice water temperature. A lot of space to play. We were here with our kids of 7 and 11. If we want to visit this part of France again we will surely want to book Shakespeare Lodge again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Addo, thanks for your encouraging review and for being great guests. We would love to welcome you again!
A-L & F
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allymac20...
County Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Perfect holiday cottage in picturesque countryside and ideal base to discover Loire Valley”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a wonderful holiday in Shakespeare Lodge. The accommodation is spotless and has everything you need for your holiday. Ann-Louise and Francois are lovely people and have the right balance of being there but not intruding.
The surrounding area is beautiful and full of wildlife – we were even lucky enough to see a deer on one of our evening bike rides along the lane from the cottage.
The local village, Cheffes, is pretty and very friendly and there are some lovely walks along the river and the lock. The boulangerie is very good and there is a small supermarket. We found the larger supermarkets in Tierce ideal and it was only a 5 minute drive away.
Further afield we visited the Puy du Fou park which was amazing. It involved a very early start and meant returning around 1.30am but it was well worth the effort. Closer to Shakespeare Lodge we also spent an enjoyable few hours at Terrabotanica with it’s hot air balloon and other attractions , Saumur Castle and the Tank museum, and Angers (Use the park and ride system via the metro for an easy and cheaper way to get into the city centre)
There is such a lot to see in the area, both nearby and slightly further afield that you are spoiled for choice.
It’s a year since we were on holiday in Shakespeare Lodge but we all still remember our holiday fondly and wish we were there again this year! Hopefully we’ll be back soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you for your positive review. We are so happy you enjoyed the property and all that Anjou has to offer. Do come back and see us!
A-L & F
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thank you so much. We would be honoured to welcome you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
robhipwel...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant holiday property”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely property.
About 3 miles from nearest town, so you will need to travel, either by car, or using the selection of bikes available.
The cottage is finished to a high standard.
The owners are helpful and on hand, but don't intrude.
Everything is as described, you really can't go wrong selecting this for a holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of property finish
Liked least: Directions
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Thanks Rob! Hope to see you again.
A-L and F.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing