We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Hotel Oscar!”
Review of Oscar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oscar Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Le Havre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We booked at the Hotel Oscar at the last minute, our usual (sailors) hotel being booked up (my husband is a French merchant sailer); And how pleased we were to find that not only were the rooms much cleaner and up to date than our 'usual' hotel, but it was much calmer, being a smaller hotel, and the staff were so friendly. Rapid in-room wifi, cool decor, very comfortable 160cm bed (Chambre 5), the cleanest and up to date shower room and loo ever, and very peaceful (ok, we DID had maybe we were lucky to have a room facing the back of the hotel, as rue Volaire can be noisy at night); the only critisism was that we thought the 8,50€ breakfast was a bit over priced, even if there was a lot on offer - just can't manage to eat that much, early in the morning. But that really is a minor minus. Will definitely be going back there on our next trip to Le Havre.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel are much quieter. We had Chambre 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyBeeBeaurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We chose this hotel to a last minute trip to the region.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded with no cost. Breakfast was very good.

However, rooms were poorly acoustically isolated, we could hear everything in the whole hotel. Thus, we had a very bad sleep.

If you don't care about some noise, this place is not bad at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hugolpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Managed to get a room for myself for 2 nights without making a prior reservation (I strongly advise making one). The hotel is recently refurbished and has a retro decor. It is about a 5 min walk from the Hotel de Ville tram stop. There are NO lifts. The single room (#15) is very small, with barely any space to put my luggage, However, everything was very clean. Bedding was new. Reliable, fast wifi in the rooms. Toilet was in a separate room from the shower and sink. I found the area quiet (the entire Le Havre is never very busy), sleep was uneventful.

I suggest getting the buffet breakfast as it is very value-for-money. Cold cuts, cheeses, cereal were available. Unlike Paris, there are not many cafes around the town area.

The woman at the reception speaks English and is very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HinYeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

In the heart of the Perret district in Le Havre we stayed in this little fifties gem. A perfect place for everyone who wants to indulge in the fifties. The service here was exceptionally good, breakfast was more than okay (especially if you are familiar with the usual French breakfast).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeentjeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I can't thank the hotel staff at the Oscar Hotel enough for their friendly service as my friends and I were stuck in Le Harve during an extreme snow storm. They went out of their way to help us with phone calls and advice. The rooms are also clean and the breakfast spread is lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Havre hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Vent d'Ouest
Hotel Vent d'Ouest
#5 of 33 in Le Havre
249 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Carmin
Hotel Carmin
#1 of 33 in Le Havre
373 reviews
0.9 km away
Ibis Le Havre Centre
Ibis Le Havre Centre
#4 of 33 in Le Havre
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Pasino
Hotel Pasino
#6 of 33 in Le Havre
366 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel le Petit Vatel
Hotel le Petit Vatel
#3 of 33 in Le Havre
391 reviews
1.8 km away
Campanile Le Havre Centre
Campanile Le Havre Centre
#8 of 33 in Le Havre
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Hotel

Address: 106 rue Voltaire, 76600, Le Havre, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Le Havre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Le Havre
Price Range: ₹ 2,806 - ₹ 6,378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oscar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oscar Hotel is located in the heart of historical centre of Le Havre, listed as World Heritage Site by the UNESCO. The hotel has been entirely renovated in 2010 in a 50's style by the architect designer Vincent Duteurtre. Each rooms are comfortably fitted with shower room, queen size beds, television and free WiFi access. You will be warmly received in a warm and relaxing atmosphere. The hotel is close to typically Norman restaurants. It is near a lot of famous museum, and 10 minutes away from the beach, swimming pools, the railway station and a lot of other tourist attractions that can be reachedwith in a 15 minutes walk. The Oscar hotel is perfect for a professional stay or for family vacations. Please dont hesitate to contact us for the best prices posiable or check our web site . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Oscar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing