We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Location in Honfleur”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Honfleur, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

BoardingP...
1 review
“Fantastic Location in Honfleur”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just returned from a fantastic time at The Grey House situated in the lovely Honfleur.
Loved dining at the restaurants around the Old Harbour, day trips within easy distance to Landing Beaches etc!
The Grey House is a home-from-home with all facilities & technologies (Wi-Fi) needed to stay for a longer time as well!

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJPXYZ123
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great townhouse in a lovely place - we had a great week”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at the Grey House for a week in August (family of 2 adults, 2 teenagers and dog). We’ve done lots of house rentals before, but usually in the countryside – this time we were aiming for a ‘French townhouse’ trip. The Grey House and Honfleur are both excellent choices, and we had a great week.

The location is great. Honfleur is easy to get to, and a good base for trips out. It’s a beautiful town, full of old timbered buildings and narrow streets, with restaurant tables surrounding the old harbour. It’s clearly a tourist hotspot – there aren’t many ‘everyday’ shops, but there are endless galleries, art studios, patisseries and restaurants. The Grey House is located just a short walk from the town centre so we just wandered out for anything we needed or just a stroll along the waterfront to the beach. We got breakfast pastries and baguettes fresh every morning from the excellent boulangerie that’s just a few steps away. When we got back to the house after a day trip, we could leave the car at the house and walk down to a choice of restaurants for dinner (there’s a list of recommendations provided).

The house itself is lovely. It’s spread over 3 floors – modern kitchen on the ground level, living room, bathroom and main bedroom on the first floor, and teenager-zone on the top floor with the cinema room. Plus a small courtyard garden outside. It was recently renovated so everything is in good condition, well-equipped and clean. The kids enjoyed changing the colour of the lights and having music playing in the shower.

There’s lots to see in Normandy - we had trips to Rouen, Bayeux for the tapestry and the WW2 landing beaches, Etretat and Deauville for the coast – early morning at Deauville for horse riding on the sand (dog allowed before 10 am). All recommended. Honfleur is centrally located for all those, but they’re mostly an hour or more away, so we covered quite a distance in a week and accumulated quite a few toll tickets for the roads and the Pont de Normandie.

Other practicalities – There’s a decent convenience store supermarket just a few minutes’ walk away at the bottom of the hill, and also a vet – handy for the return check/tablet needed before heading back to the UK. Another reviewer mentioned that the access to the parking space is narrow - it’s behind the house through a gate. I have a Toyota RAV4 4x4 with a roof box, and that went in easily. It might be a squeeze for a large 4x4, but is fine for any family car. Our deposit was returned promptly in full. I exchanged a couple of emails with Francois (the owner), and he replied quickly and helpfully.

All in all, highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghouse201...
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The house was everything you could wish for on a break to Honfeur , from location to decor everything was spot on.The house is a stones throw from an excellent boulangerie and another minute walk to a well stocked local supermarket as well as a short stroll to the shops and harbour with it's many restaurants.
The house itself is extremely well equipped in the kitchen and the cinema room proved excellent entertainment for the kids.I particularly liked the middle seating area with a beautiful open fireplace as it meant while the kids were upstairs watching cinema quality dvd's before going out in the evenings the adults could either quietly read a book while sitting on some of he very comfortable sofas or chairs on the middle floor or drink wine at the table in the kitchen area without even hearing the kids.
It is worth mentioning that the insulation and heating in the house is of the highest quality as the temperature outside was very cold during our break but only short sleeves were worm when in the house at all times as it was so warm.
Francois , the owner responded quickly to any questions which was helpful and his housekeeper Lawrence arrived exactly on time when needed.A five star rating and would definitely stay here again if I return to the beautiful Honfleur.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EclecticG...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful place near the centre of this beautiful city”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A wonderful place to stay in the centre of Honfleur. The house has recently been refurbished and it is modern, while retaining its character. We particularly enjoyed the music system.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryliz12...
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The grey house”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The grey house is immaculately clean and has all the amenities you need. There is a garden with table and chairs which is a real bonus when in a town house. There is also parking but be aware it is tight to get into the lane. At the bottom of the street is a lovely patisserie for your morning croissants. It takes about five minutes to walk to the main quai area with many restuarants. There are two small super markets within a five minute walk for other provisions.
The technology in the house is very modern but slightly confusing for us 'oldies' however we did manage to use the home cinema. We had a very enjoyable stay in the Grey House but would add a cautionary note for people who are older and who,like me, have a hip problem. The stairs are very steep and challenging. The house is ideal for younger people especially those with a young family who would love all the gadets.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.