We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean and recently renovated -very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel le Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel le Louvre
Certificate of Excellence
berlin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Clean and recently renovated -very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed here for two nights before a 2 week holiday in Normandy. We also chose it because it was close to friends who we wanted to visit.
The hotel- and also our room- seems to have been recently renovated and was in excellent condition (if a little pink for our taste). Bathroom was modern with a good shower and clean. We had a double bed and a single, although we only requested a double. Make sure you reserve parking if you have a car. or there could be a problem parking, as the hotel is right in the town centre. Breakfast was good and staff friendly. Only (slight) downside was that the street outside is one of Cherbourg`s least pleasant - especially if you walk back late at night. Having said that, we had no problems at all.
Hotel also offers free wifi internet access.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    106
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
37
95
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
salisbury uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Hotel is situated in the middle of Cherbourh - a 30 + minute walk, or 10 Euro taxi ride from the ferry terminal (go for the taxi option !).
Our bedroom was basic - the bed was on the hard side but it was spotlessly clean and had a good power shower in the bathroom.
The breakfast was very good value (we got a deal with Brittany Ferries) and included cheeses, fruit, yoghurts, breads, pastries and cereals.
The service was excellent - very helpful staff who let us keep our bags there after we had checked out, so that we could spend the day shopping.
Free wi-fi also a bonus.
I'd recommend this place for a stop-over, or a one-night break.
The only downside was the noise from the midnight moped riders, but that's what you expect when you stay in a town centre.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank margo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed in the hotel as part of a special deal with brittany ferries. The hotel was ideal for us as we wanted to visit Cap la Hague and a dahlia festival in Coutances. There is much to see in and around Ctentin but most Brits. dont' bother. Their loss. Buffet breakfast was fine for us but I expect some would complain as it was a continental breakfast. We had a great time and will certainly go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank france036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a package deal through Brittany Ferries. Stayed on a Sunday and had a peaceful night. The room we stayed in was quite basic but exceptionally clean and found the bathroom really spacious which was a bonus. Powerful shower, comfortable bed, tv, and most importantly clean!.. ideal for an overnight stay. Very close to all the shops, restaurants etc. The breakfast was a help yourself style buffet, but there was plenty to choose from..pastries..toast..fruit..cereal..juices..tea/coffee/, fruit etc. Overall a great little hotel if you're looking to explore Cherbourg on a short break.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zest77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

Hotel was of a poor standard. Fortunately we only stayed one night. The room was tired and the bathroom had mould on the ceiling. The best word to describe this hotel is poor. I would definitely not go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manonmax, Directeur at Hotel le Louvre, responded to this review, 9 December 2009
We are sorry for this customer who didn't enjoy her stay in our hotel (room in the second fllor).
However, we would like to explain that all rooms of the 3rd and 4th floor were completely renovated last year and we are going to begin the renovation of the rooms of the 1st and 2nd floor at the beginning of the year (2010).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherbourg-Octeville hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre Port
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre P...
#1 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Chantereyne
Hotel Chantereyne
#4 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Ambassadeur
Hotel Ambassadeur
#5 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
#1 of 4 in La Glacerie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.6 km away
Logis La Regence
Logis La Regence
#8 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#11 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Louvre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Louvre

Property: Hotel le Louvre
Address: 28 Rue De la Paix | 2 Rue Henri Dunant, 50100, Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Cherbourg-Octeville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Cherbourg-Octeville
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,599 - ₹ 6,422
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Louvre 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel le Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inter Hotel Cherbourg Octeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing