We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent and well worth a visit.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Vallerie

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Bayeux
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bayeux, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Cliff O
1 review
“Excellent and well worth a visit.”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Ideally located within 30 minutes of most places of interest including the landing beaches. The property is very well appointed and every need catered for. My wife and I together with my son and his wife and their son stayed for a week and really enjoyed a relaxing holiday. The host Stephen made us most welcome and was very helpful which was greatly appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The weather could have been a little kinder for August
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2016
Pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the review. Come again sometime. Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz53_11
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic wheelchair friendly house”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our first time in the area and what a find ! Perfect for wheelchair user with rails in bathroom etc. Nice wide doorways for easy access too.
La Vallerie an easy drive from the WW11 beaches / Museums.
Lovely peaceful location. Stephen, the Manager, only a phone call away if you had any problems.
Will definitely return !

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2016
Thanks, and I'm so pleased it worked OK for you. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nasbags
Wombourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent base to stay for DDay beaches, Mont St Michel and Bayeux”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house is just far enough away from all locations to be a peaceful country retreat but close enough to be no struggle to get to the main locations for DDay beaches, Bayeux Tapestry etc.

The farmhouse is clean, spacious (6 adults stayed) and everything is there that you would need. Big supermarkets are close by in Bayeux with smaller supermarkets and bakers in nearer villages.

Stephen was very prompt in all dealings with him and came over on the day we arrived to fix a minor problem within about 10 mins of being asked about the problem.

Unfortunately for us the weather was absolutely atrocious most of the week but I would definitely recommend both this rental and the area in general for what it has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thank you, we're glad you had a good time here, you're welcome back any time we're free. Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles D
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxation from the moment you arrive.”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The gite offers a quiet getaway in the Normandy countryside. It is the first time we have stayed in a gite and La Vallerie sets a standard for others to live up to: clean, spacious and well-equipped. Comfortable, like a home from home. Our party was two couples and a sister. There was plenty of room for all of us, and space to do our own thing had we felt the need. Situated up a quiet lane, La Vallerie is secluded, but not so far away as to be out of reach of town. We ate in Bayeux on two evenings during our week's stay. Easily driveable. The roads were empty.

We had a fabulous week. If you love the countryside you will love the location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that it exceeded expectations!
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2015
Pleased you had a good time, nice to have you here. Hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoolStuff...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect home base for a lovely holiday.”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This gite was exactly what we needed. Very clean, all the necessities for a young family, fabulous location, and surrounded by quiet countryside yet close to amenities. Stephen was incredibly professional and helpful. We would stay again and definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: Having to leave. We thoroughly loved being there.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2015
Pleased you had a good time, nice to have you here. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing