We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
51
39
10
7
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
39
10
7
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station other guests three nights yogurt nice breakfast normandy region bayeux tapestry courtyard tours cheese bnb cathedral hosts sites paris
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2015 via mobile

We were desperate to find lodging with 3 beds in Bayeux and ended up here! We are not normally B&B people but Villa Aggarthi worked out alright. The room we stayed in needed some updating, new bedding/towels and fresh paint would do wonders. Not bad considering the age of the building but some updating would make it amazing. There was no television in our room, would've been nice since the city closes down early. There was a mini fridge that was useful.

A quick walk to the Tapestry museum and local restaurants and a grocery store. Great spot for anyone looking to go to the beaches of Normandy.

The breakfast room was nice, a TV played CNN for us each morning and there were crepes or waffles with fruit, cereal, scrambled eggs and pastries with bread and cheese.

Not too hard to find, the parking inside the villa can be a bit tight though!

Two dogs, 7 cats, a duck and chickens on the property. All very friendly.

We had a large bathroom with a lot of counter space. Would be nice if they had more soap and towels though.

The eldest son attended to us our entire visit, he was very friendly and we didn't have a huge communication barrier. He had pretty good English.

Overall, not a bad stay. Just needs some updating. One note - as others have mentioned - Expedia DID charge us before we got there, though it said it would not. Be careful and be prepared for that!!

Stayed: March 2015
2  Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2015

When we made the reservation through Hotels.com in early Jan the information we got was that there wouldn't be a cancellation fee and our card wouldn't be charged until check out. When our travel plans changed on 1/18 and we cancelled the reservation we found out that our credit card had been charged for the full amount and that we would be charged half of the cost of the room. As of 2/05 we have not been refunded any of our money. If you plan on staying at this hotel , you would be advised to talk to the hotel directly and ask some questions. I didn't and it's costing me money.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Capo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2014

We just got back from three nights in Bayeux and had a wonderful time in great part because of our experience at Aggarthi. Great location only minutes walk to the Cathedral and restaurants. Myriam and her kids were top notch hosts and I still am disappointed every morning since leaving there when I come downstairs for breakfast. What a delicious spread!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wrekdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2014

If you want a French experience, in a modest but warm and welcoming B&B then look no further. A very friendly welcome from Pierre, awaited us from behind a set of large red gates. The rooms are modest but very clean, with a lovely garden to sit and relax in or have your breakfast, weather permitting. It is run by a very loving family and that warmth is echoed throughout your stay. Breakfast is a feast of homemade goodies, from breads, brioche and croissants to jams, as well as cheese and fresh chicken eggs, from their own chickens that are kept in the garden. All this in the heart of Bayeaux, amazing. My husband, Jeremy and I loved the fact the Myriam, the mama, stayed at the breakfast table and spoke to everyone of her guests for the duration, in extremely good English, with enthusiasm that was infectious, and was a font of knowledge of the area, which was immensely useful. I would most definitely book this accomodation on our return.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2014

What a lovely warm welcome we got at Villa Aggarthi. Our first siting of the B&B was a large set of red wooden gates amongst a row of houses. A little unsure of what awaited us we rang the bell. When open it revealed a large house, with an annex, a lovely garden with some beautiful plants, a patio area for dining, somewhere to sit very peacefully and relax as well as chickens, two most wonderful little dogs and some cats also patrolled the garden. We stayed in the annex in the attic which had a very low ceiling, but as it was a last minute booking and we wanted to stay in the centre, this was acceptable. The room and ensuite were very clean and nicely appointed. The breakfast was amazing, Myriam, Mama, sat with us throughout around a large table laden with homemade breads, brioche, crepes, jams, croissants, fresh chicken eggs, and cheese. It was a very relaxed atmosphere, just like sitting around your own table with your own family at home. Myhriam speaks excellent English, as do her children who help her run the B&B whilst studying at Uni. Her eldest son makes all the breads, taught by Myriam herself. This little oasis in the middle of Bayeaux is a must for anyone wanting to visit Bayeaux as it is in the centre a very short walk from the Cathedral, the Bayeaux Tapestry and amongst wonderful Museums, and ideal for anyone wanting to visit the Beaches. Can't recommend this very French home highly enough, and we will definitely be returning. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laurel Cottage B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews