We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent value hotel, with extremely helpful staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Bayeux
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent value hotel, with extremely helpful staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

To be honest, after reading some of the reviews on here, I was a little worried about staying at this hotel, while exploring the D Day landmarks with my mum and children. In reality I had nothing to worry about. This hotel is excellent, our room was the family room and was perfectly laid out for our stay. Everything was clean and the beds were very comfortable. I cannot fault the staff at all. The lady owner could not have been more helpful, I think some people mistake her lack of English for rudeness, and her daughter and other staff were equally charming. Breakfast was quite expensive but you can eat as much as you like and as my lad was allowed to eat for free (worth asking for!) it turned out to be reasonable value. The parking is an issue, I would strongly recommend not parking at the hotel, the spaces looked very cramped and it costs about 10 euros a night. About 100 yards away is a big free car park which you can leave your car in all the time. It does get quite full during the day, but it suited us as we went out early and came back late. For reference, don't go to the smaller car park just at the bottom of the road, go to the bigger free one, slightly further on. (As you walk from the hotel, turn right at the bottom of the road and its a short distance on your left.) As for Normandy itself, we were only there for three days, but what a place! The D Day burial sites should be compulsory visits for all school children, so inspiring yet tragic. The museums were fascinating, and Bayeux is so quaint with an awesome cathedral and of course the tapestry. I can't recommend this hotel and area enough and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charltonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    408
    134
    38
    14
See reviews for
375
435
68
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Booked two nights and stayed an extra one as the hotel was quiet, friendy and well located.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The manager organised a DDay tour for us through "Gold Beach Evasion" tours which was small tour of 8 with an excellent guide. Also organised same day laundry for us at 15 euro per bag which is quite reasonable.

The rooms are clean, well sized and the bathroom quite large. Free WiFi worked well and the breakfast was excellent.

Parking was 10 euro per night. The restraunts, shops, the tapestry and the cathedral are within a few hundred meters - very easy walking.

Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: The hotel has no lift, so if you can't handle stairs, get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in April and it was perfect to explore the DDay Beaches (about 20 minutes or so away) and Le Mont. St. Michel abbey (about 1.5 hours away). The gals at the front are nice. The town is charming and several restaurants to choose from. We traveled with a 6 yr. old and a 4 month baby. Our room had a queen bed and a single bed for my daughter. There is a Boulanger (bakery) shop around the corner from the hotel with a small fruit market next to it if you decide not to buy the breakfast at hotel. The bakery shop has yummy french pasteries and baguettes that are delicious! We went both days to purchase for breakfast and the baguettes for our day trips. There is a wonderful creperie down from the cathedral.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children ask for the first floor since no elevators. Also, they were kind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeBoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst doing Normandy battlefield sites. Ideally suited for Caen, beaches etc. the hotel is in the centre of town, opposite the cathedral and in easy walking distance of food and drink. Rooms were basic but clean and well stocked. Breakfast was good. Internet access and free wifi. All made by the staff who were friendly and accommodating, to the extent that they personally drove me to hire car pick up instead of calling a taxi. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The hotel was absolutely perfect for my wife, my two daughters, and me. Mary is quite picky and Amy (much more experienced traveler, and daughter) warned me time and again that Mary would not like this hotel based on its rating. Not so. Great location. Great room. Great facilities. If we ever find ourselves in this area again, there is no other place we would look. Highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amorphous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
0.7 km away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bayeux

Property: Hotel Le Bayeux
Address: 9 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,544 - ₹ 11,198
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bayeux 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bayeux is located on a quiet street in the historic centre of Bayeux, opposite the Baron Gerard Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi access and a warm welcome.Rooms are comfortable, non-smoking and equipped with flat-screen satellite TV and en suite facilities. There are also family rooms which can accommodate 4 to 6 guests.The Cathedral, Tapestry Museum, Place du Quebec, Place Charles De Gaulle and many shops and restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk away.Hotel Le Bayeux is located between Paris and Cherbourg, Ouistreham and Caen. Bayeux is ideal for discovering Normandy – Deauville, Honfleur and the breathtaking Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing