We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,308)
Filter reviews
1,308 results
Traveller rating
716
446
105
29
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
716
446
105
29
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wwii photos mont st bayeux tapestry pedestrian street no elevator shuttle service d day beaches charming hotel world war ii day tour perfect location normandy beaches rooms are small shops and restaurants breakfast room normandy invasion train station
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 1,308 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Hotel Churchill was a great part of our visit to the Normandy Region. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The hotel is decorated with fantastic WWII photos and is very reminiscent of the mid 40's. We were not expecting such modern amenities as A/C and a very modern bathroom/shower. Breakfast was enjoyable, and again, the staff went out of their way to make sure you had what you needed.

Located near the city center, there are plenty of restaurants right outside the door, and you are within a 15-20 minute walk of the British Cemetery, 5 minutes from the Cathedral, and 15 minutes to the Bayeux Normandy D-Day Museum. Additionally, the tapestry museum is approximately 10 minutes away. This place was great!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troutfishing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We stayed at the Hotel Churchill in June for two nights so that we could tour the D-day beaches. Bayeux and the Churchill hotel was a great location for this. Our rooms were large and comfortable. The breakfast was very good in a lovely room. The staff was very helpful. Parking was a little bit difficult in town but not a big problem for us. From here we went on to Mont St. Michel which worked out very well. We would definitely recommend the town and this hotel to anyone wanting to experience the D-day beaches.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CherylG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We recently spent a night in Bayeux and had a nice time at the Hotel Churchill. It was perfect for our family. We stayed in the newer section and the rooms were quite modern and spacious. Ideal location in the heart of the city. Easy walk to train station. Most tour groups pick up right behind the hotel. We came in from Paris in the morning and went on a Normandy beach tour that afternoon. After returning to the hotel, there were so many great restaurants to choose from within 2-3 blocks. We took advantage of the shuttle service to Mont St. Michel the second day. It is very convenient. Our only issue was the driver's insistence to not put on A/C or allow us to open windows despite the 95F weather. Made for an uncomfortable return trip. Overall, the hotel was great and the staff was friendly and accommodating. It was a great 2 day side trip for our family.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

We spent two nights here to tour Bayeux and D-day sites. The hotel itself is at a good location, very centered located, and right besides a Carrefour grocery store. The staff is nice, and speaks English well. The only thing was the parking as ppl mentioned before.
The free parking at Place Charles De Gaulle is 10 mins walking. The parking behind the hotel is very hard to navigate to, and it's only free from 7PM to 9AM daily. Otherwise, you have to pay every 3 hours. We parked at Place Charles De Gaulle, and walked over. It is a nice walk. The cathedral is on the way. I would suggest to park there and walk, as long as you don't have big luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YingXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

We (2 couples) spent 2 nights at Churchill Hotel last June in order to visit the WWII battle sites and monuments. Having spent the first part of our land trip in Amsterdam and Paris, the small city of Bayeux was my instant favorite. I wish we had added 2 more days our trip to kick back and relax in this beautiful and charming town.

We chose a Privilege (Deluxe) room (215 sq ft) which I found out is in a newer section that was added to the hotel. The room was spacious, modern and comfortable. The hotel itself is historic and has interesting WWII pictures and memorabilia in the lobby area. We had a nice breakfast in the restaurant each morning. The staff gave us great restaurant recommendations, both just a very short walk from the hotel. In fact, these were probably the best meals we had in France (Amsterdam and Paris included).

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in the newer section.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews