We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Bayeux”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location in Bayeux”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The location was great for a visit to Bayeux. The chateau was an easy 10 - 15 min walk into town. The grounds were lovely and there was plenty of parking. There was a lift to our room on the 4th floor, and the room was comfortable. We chose not to eat breakfast which seemed overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    167
    76
    28
    9
See reviews for
107
227
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dade City, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We were greeted at the desk by Madame who was charming and helpful w/ my high school French. She took us to our rooms which had wide open windows and blowing drapes. We had a huge two person sized tub and our friends had an enormous glass shower. The rooms had all the amenities but seemed like a flash to the past w/ delightful wallpaper, armoirs and bedspreads. It was cool and the heavy comforters felt great.
Breakfast was French (thin sliced cured meats, croissants, fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, and hot coffee,tea, or chocolate), not American. But we had travelled to France and expected a French breakfast. Isn't that part of the joy of traveling.
The grounds are incredibly relaxing. We drank, we ate, we saw the sites. We'll be back.
Henri, madames beautiful little dog was enjoyed by all. Thank you for welcoming us into your home.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are charming and for couples. Families should opt for the side building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda8956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This was to be the highlight of hotel stays in Normandy,staying in a beautiful chateau so we payed more to have a 'privilege room' in the traditional main chateau.As we had booked over 3 weeks in advance and had the room confirmation, we were shocked to be led out of the main building toward an old style but modern inside set of duplexes. Having read other reviews of this hotel, we knew we did not want this accomodation. When challenged, the receptionist tried to tell us this was a privilege room. After our protests she had to admit there wasn't one of the traditional ones left, and we could have a small room in the chateau. We reluctantly accepted,and when challenged about the validity of our booking, she tried to blame the booking.com site for not having updated their page soon enough.we are left with the impression that our booking was given to French clients as it was a Sarueday night- she offered the privilege room for Sunday- moving rooms is not convenient when you are touring.Also, the hotel is hard to find approaching from the south and returning from the city of Bayeux, small sign on side of road easy to miss.

Room Tip: Insist on the room you booked if possible, even try to confirm by phone- don't be put off like w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelpro499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The drive up the gravel pathway to the Chateau will take your breath away. Beautifully manicured lush green grass, fragrant roses, lilies, and assorted bushes and mature trees are intersected by a wide sparkling waterway with swans, ducks, water lilies and sleek plump fish directly in front of the Chateau. It is hard to imagine anything more idyllic. The small yet beautifully appointed dining room is the perfect spot for a feast of gastronomic delights all artfully and deliciously prepared for you. The menu is somewhat limited, but the quality is magnificent. Breakfast is served in a separate location overlooking the side yards. It is a buffet style somewhat small in scope but again, very tasty and much easier than trekking out in the morning. If you are so inclined though, there are many delicious restaurants, cafe's and bakeries to choose from. Our room was large and very comfortable with an adjoining room for our daughter that allowed us both access to the bathroom through separate doors. We found the staff most helpful and the owner particularly so. We expressed the desire to go horseback riding and she took it upon herself to make a number of inquiries until she was able to procure for us suitable arrangements with Cherokee stables nearby. We had a fantastic time and never would have found them had it not been for the owner of the Chateau Bellefontaine.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main house overlooking the water. We were in room 4 on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwaystime4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Follansbee, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Hotel and grounds were very nice. Don't get the breakfast; it's overpriced coffee and croissants, and very little else. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff did not speak English. It is somewhat outside of town, but I later found out that it was only a short walk into town. We had to leave very early on the day of departure, and arranged with the desk to have a taxi there at 6:15am. When we came down to the lobby at 6:15am, no one was there and the front door was locked from the inside. No one had bothered to tell us that the staff is not there early, and that my room key would open the front door. Finally figured it out ourselves, but the taxi didn't arrive at the arranged time. Started walking to the train station (about 1 km away), dragging our luggage. Taxi showed up when we got to the station. All in all, not a terribly bad experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,274 reviews
1.1 km away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
965 reviews
1.0 km away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,285 reviews
1.4 km away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
2.5 km away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine

Property: Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Address: 49 rue de Bellefontaine, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bayeux
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,546 - ₹ 18,704
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here the life of the château can be experienced every day: wood panelling, fireplaces, mouldings. We have preserved the 18th century spirit which is carried through into our park with its 200-year-old trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bellefontaine Bayeux
Chateau De Bellefontaine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing