We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful hotel, staff, location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel, staff, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I would stay here again and again. New property (opened Feb 2012). The staff couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The rooms are great and the daily breakfast was wonderful (try the local jams!) They even have a small bar if you want to have a drink before of after dinner. The only glitch was that we couldn't find them.... they don't have signage yet, but we called and they directed us right there. We had our own car and they met us as we were pulling into the lot. Again, the staff couldn't do enough to make sure we had a pleasant stay, including some wonderful restaurant reservations. Merci.

Room Tip: they all have a great view of the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adajPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    48
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
208
526
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

The staff and owners treat you like friends and are wonderful hosts. As non-French speaking Canadians we appreciated that they spoke English very well and always in our presence. We have stayed in several 4 and 5 star hotels and this rates as many stars you can give it. We absolutely had no concerns and it was really unique when the owner slash manager was there to cook our eggs in the morning.

Recommended by Rod our guide for the Battlefield Experience. Thanks Rod.

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms and they all had their uniqueness....the stairwell is somewhat hidden in the wall in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeKay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We ended up at this hotel when a room at a neighboring hotel was unsatisfactory. It is six months old and a 4 star hotel. The room was spacious, huge bathroom with tub and shower, a fabulous view of the cathedral, and a great breakfast daily (not included, but worth the convenience). Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocknjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This recently opened hotel was exceptional..very accessible from train station as well as town centre. Staff was very helpful and very willing to book any tours or restaurants..which were fantastic. Really enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel is a real jewel. Family owned by longtime hotel professionals, with an outstanding young staff just waiting to serve your needs. Location, with wonderful views of cathedral from every room and in close proximity to Bayeux tapestry, is superb. Carol and I were there for 4 nights and were sad to leave this brand new hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Superchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Property: Villa Lara Hotel
Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,161 - ₹ 27,407
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing