We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Knowledgeable, enthusatic and goes above and beyond being a tour guide”

Executive D-Day Private Tours
Ranked #6 of 37 Tours in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bertrand is an independant tour guide who offers private tours on the sites of the Normandy D-Day Landing Areas.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable, enthusatic and goes above and beyond being a tour guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

One of my husbands' dreams was to visit Normandy. His knowledge of WWII is vast and he wanted to visit Normandy and connect with what happened during that time. He met his match with Bertand, Executive Day Tours. Betrand was an exeptional tour guide. His knowledge of the area and the time period was exceptional. He provided photos of the "then" and we saw the "now". He adjusted the tour to adapt to our interests. Betrand made our tour of Normandy come alive. We spent one day there but definitely could have used an additional day. We will be going back and know what we want to see thanks to Betrand!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northeast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience - highest praise for Bertrand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

After researching and emailing several of the other tour providors on trip advisor, we settled for Bertrand........AND WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED..........from the opening email dialogue everything progressed smoothly...........he was early at our hotel meeting and started the day by sharing personal knowledge of Bayeau [ he lives there] before we started into the tour; during our pretrip dialogue we had set a rough plan for the day and after the city portion, we started our drive.........the maps and photos he provides gives an excellent overview of D Day and brings the places we saw into prospective with the big picture.................unfortunately we had poor weather, fog and heavy mist limiting visibility and some photo opportunities, but this in no way downgraded the quality of tour or the experience......Bertrand was outstanding and a true value..........touring by private car is the way to go..........

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HoosiersNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittstown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An awesome and sobering experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Bertrand Saudrais provided us with a beautiful and full day experience touring the actual D-Day sites. He was very knowledgeable and used photos and articles to compliment the stories he shared with us. We packed the most into one day, mixing museum visits with site tours that he tailored to our requests. I would go with him again!

Thanks Bertrand from Donna & Colin!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beyond All Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Bertrand was amazing! His knowledge and passion for WWII history made the trip the highlight of our tour of Normandy. He picked us up at our hotel at 9 am and we didn't return until 6:30 pm. No matter how many history books you may have read, you will never grasp the devastation and history without touring the area. Bertrand made it easy to follow with tremendous details and resources. The visits were enhanced by the photos he had from 1944 in the same places we were visiting. As we got to spend more time with him, we learned he also had a great sense of humor! If you're looking for the perfect tour, read or see the Longest Day, visit the WWII Museum in Caen and then go out for the day with Bertrand.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Bellini22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bertrand is an excellent tour guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

I read the previous reviews, then booked Bertrand for our full day tour. He drove our car, so we got to see much more than if we had been touring on our own. He also had maps, photos, and always stories and commentary about each location. Our tour covered the American sights, but he also told us what was going on with our allies: were they were landing, the issues they faced along the way.

I highly recommend Bertrand. He knows his history and is a great driver and tour guide!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Bovette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Executive D-Day Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Executive D-Day Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing