We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
71
23
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
23
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centremetrostationbedbathroom
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel situated quite close to Lille Europa station, is a lovely old residential building which has been renovated to a modern standard in recent times. Being an old building, there is no lift, but there are few other negatives. The orientation of the bed within our room was an issue as the toilet was on one side of the bed and the bathroom on the other. This could easily be remedied by rotating the bed 90 degrees within the room. Our friends in another room did not have this somewhat strange configuration. Having said that, the rooms are clean and of a reasonable size. Bathrooms were modern and well thought out with a nice big shower. Staff were very pleasant and most helpful with our many questions about where to eat etc. We actually walked to this hotel from the station when we arrived in Lille (20 minutes), but the subway would be the preferred option. There is a subway stop just across the road - easy access to the central city. We really liked this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Villa Gou... H, Directeur général at Villa Gounod, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We thank you heartfully for your nice comment about our boutique hotel.
We constantly strive indeed for guaranteeing our customers the best possible conditions for their stay at the Villa Gounod.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the next future.

Kind regards,
Laurent Cabané

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Villa Gounod was a lovely hotel for our two nights in Lille. Our trip to France was an unexpected last minute affair and we struggled to find reasonable accommodations in Paris. Instead, we found this wonderful hotel in a beautiful city which we can highly recommend to anyone.

Our room was on the top floor and featured skylight windows and all the comforts we could need without unnecessary extras. Everything was clean and warm. Some of the staff can speak english, so no worries if, like us, you find yourself in France with only a basic knowledge of the language.

A word of warning, but not a complaint: the hotel does not have a lift so if you have trouble climbing a lot of stairs, be sure to check and see if you can get a room on a lower level.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_and_Gaelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Villa Gou... H, Directeur général at Villa Gounod, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We thank you heartfully for your nice comments on our hotel.
We constantly strive indeed for achieving the best possible stay for our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Laurent Cabané
La Villa Gounod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Our family trip to villa Gounod was excellent - the hotel was well located near to the metro which gave easy access to the City Centre. We walked back which was a pleasant 30 minute stroll.
The rooms were very good, in particular the superior double that had a roof terrace where we were able to drink a bottle of champagne before going out for the evening.
The best bit though was the way we were looked after by the owner/manager who was fantastic and really made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Superior double with roof terrace
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMB500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Hotel Gou... H, Responsable réception at Villa Gounod, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Villa and very pleased you were able to relax.
My familly and I are very touched by your king comment.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards

Anne-Cécile Gayraud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

After a long day of travel we arrived to the loveliest location. The building is perfect, the hostess is so accommodating, the rooms are lovely and clean.........I could just go on and on and on. What a quiet comfortable stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank audreysnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Hotel Gou... H, Responsable réception at Villa Gounod, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Dear Madam,

We thank you or your nice comment.
Doing our best to satisfy our guest, to make them feel home is our goal.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Anne-Cécile Gayraud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

以上に静か、気持ちのいいところです。
19世紀の元々700sqmの自宅でしたから、歴史のあるブラウンハウスをホテルにしている家族です。ただいまリニュアル中なので、部屋の中には新しくて、ベッドも完璧ですし、シャワーもいいし、タウルハンガーが温かくなるから、いい感じでした。また、古い家具もあるし、昔の雰囲気をしっかり守れてあります。サービスがとても優しくて、客に一人一人ケアーしているし、本当に良かったです。This hotel is managed by a private owner, who is restoring it with adding more authenticity to this Maison de Maitre, a stone house that belonged to an industrial family, family who also participated to the building of the whole street. The bed is really comfortable and the place is incredibly silent, you can rest so well. Rooms are restored and therefore everything is in good conditions, but they added the authentic touch with an old wooden wardrobe. Breakfast is big, the bread was excellent. When I went the dinner room was in restoration so I had my breakfast served in the room at my desired time. The hosts are very friendly and the service is simple but very kind, they do care about your well-being. It is a host like hotel, and I will go again for sure.
Easy to access, 1 or 2 metro stations from the SNCF train stations of Lille Flandre and Lille Europe, 15 mm walk from the city center, 50 meters from the metro exit and visible from the metro exit.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank Zhealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Hotel Gou... H, Gérant at Villa Gounod, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017
Google Translation

Merci, Cher Hôte, d'avoir pris le temps d'exprimer votre satisfaction.
En effet, nous nous efforçons de personnaliser notre établissement dans l'esprit de cette belle rue Gounod.
Nous sommes donc très sensible à votre appréciation et vous prions de recevoir nos très cordiales salutations.

J. Cabané

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews