We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
47
117
61
23
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
117
61
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews triple room near the train station hotel is situated buffet breakfast old town lille europe station room was clean bed elevator flanders convenience cleanliness belgium eurostar
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, very close to railway station and centrally located, comfortable, affordable hotel, clean, lovely bathroom small rooms but suitable for what we needed, with the windows closed you cannot hear anything but it gets hot as there is no air conditioner in the room, no tea service I'm assuming this is not considered a 'thing' of need in France?
Paid €9 each for breakfast which was a simple continental offering

Stayed: August 2017
Thank chefbynite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We stayed in a triple room for a few nights. The hotel is very close to Lille Europe which makes it handy if you arrive on the Eurostar. The room was basic and no air conditioning so wasn't too comfortable at night and the room wasn't cleaned each day (not sure if that's meant to be the case or not). The staff were friendly.

We paid £50 a night for a triple room, if I had paid more I would have given a lower score but overall I think for the location etc it was good.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mn3cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

This hotel is situated near two train stations and only 200 metres from a large shopping centre. Vieux Lille, the old town, is very close too. Rooms are comfortable, but rather small. Breakfast for € 9 wasn't worth its price. Staff was very friendly ans helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leamarinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Hotel Calm delivers on its promise of "comme la maison" for it is indeed cozy and homey to a certain extent. The appart-hotel offers the convenience of location - very close to the train station and the Grand Place de Lille and there are restaurants and brasseries aplenty nearby, yet at the same time, surprisingly quiet even during the day. They also have breakfast for an extra fee, which we thought was not bad because the selection was pretty decent (bread, cheese, confiture, charcuterie, free flow coffee and tea). The room is spacious enough for our family of three, even when they had to put a cot for the little one. It's an appart-hotel so there's a small kitchen where you can cook or just microwave stuff, if you want to - especially if you're staying for a few days. But because it's close to so many brasseries, you wouldn't be in any danger of going hungry.:) Lastly, we find the hotel staff truly nice and charming. The receptionist, especially, was very accommodating and chatty. And oh, this may not be of such importance but, uhrrrm, there's a sex shop just next door.:p

Room Tip: Corner suites appear to be larger and sunnier.:)
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsvickyaltaie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We stayed at the Hotel Calm when we went to see Placebo in concert at the Zenith Arena and wanted somewhere you could walk to from the arena. The Hotel was very central. We never needed taxis, we could walk everywhere we wanted to go to.

The room and bathroom were very clean, but the bedroom sometimes felt very hot at night. Breakfast was available at a supplement but there were so many places nearby that you didn't need breakfast from the hotel. Can't comment on the breakfast as we didn't get it at the hotel.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. I suffer from vertigo and we only had one pillow each in the room, but they gave us more when we asked without any fuss.

It's an old building so there were some winding staircases, although it does have one lift as well. Our room was quiet, but I see some reviews here that it was noisy. I suppose it depends in which room you stay in, ours was away from the road. So ask if you can book a quiet room.

Some rooms do seem larger than others, as there was a floorplan on the back of our door. Ours was medium sized and didn't feel cramped. Only one side of the bed had a bedside table though which was slightly awkward.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the road.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank penguin513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews