We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at a reasonable price”

Restaurant Au Gout Du Jour
Ranked #59 of 1,555 Restaurants in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Vieux Lille 4
Dunblane
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This restaurant is well worth a visit if you enjoy good food and do not have particular dislikes. It is well located in Vieux Lille just 5 minutes walk from the Grande Place. The menu comprises two options - a fixed three course menu with a choice from two dishes in each course (40 euros) or a surprise 3 course menu with no choice (a snip at 30 euros). The latter is not too high risk because you have the chance to declare any particular dislikes when your order is taken. My wife and I went for the 'surprise' menu, while our friends took the 'safe' option. In any case, the four of us agreed that all of the food was delicious. The meal was preceded by a scrumptious 'Mise en Bouche' which the chef rustled up to tantalise our taste buds. There was a good selection of French wines at a reasonable price. Service was friendly and attentive. Come here for excellent food at a good price in nice surroundings.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Phantomfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    96
    26
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended for three course meal!”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Every course is a splendid surprise! Not to mention the 30,50 euro 3-course meal is super value for money together with authentic french high cuisine ambience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liushamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tienen, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good value for money!”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Au gout du jour offers a 3 course menu for around 30 euro. The cuisine is quite inventive and is- for the price being- of a good quality. The surprise menu is a clever gimmick from the chef and keeps the price down. We had a veloute of asparagus, a dorade with risotto and the cheese. We had the lunch in Atelier Gourmande and it was a little bit more sophisticated, but you can't beat this price-quality ratio!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SvenPans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

As everyone says this is a different experience we told them waht we didn't like and then you wait to see what they bring. We had a wonderful meal one of the best in France and we have had plenty. Crab Mousse then veal then a chocolate pudding with pistachio cream WOW! With a bottle of wine £60 for the 2 of us Wonderful

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy, France
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An amazing blind surprise”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We arrived to the restaurant without really knowing what to think... and we were welcomed by a really kind atmosphere and a perfect and nice service. We tried the blind menu and we found it amazing and tasty. For 30€ each we had a lovely culinary experience. We will surely return here to try the others plates.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mariolezoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Au Gout Du Jour also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Au Gout Du Jour? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing