We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A wonderful afternoon

What a great place and the bonus was that they had a few outdoor dog kennels so we were able to go... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Hhandontheroad
,
Wales, United Kingdom
via mobile
Historic France

Beautiful area in Narbonne France in a well known wine region perfect fot a day trip to explore and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
chickandbeast
,
Durham, Canada
Read all 1,772 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Narbonne
from US$ 41.50
More Info
Reviews (1,772)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
166
83
17
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
83
17
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose garden guided tour beautiful abbey wine tasting two hours couple of hours stained glass windows set menu cathar region la table well worth the trip for sale ticket office per adult worth a visit interesting history really enjoyed our visit
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

What a great place and the bonus was that they had a few outdoor dog kennels so we were able to go in whilst our doggy had plenty of fresh air :-) Plus it was a reasonable entry fee, it's interesting history had a fairly good translation into English and very picturesque. Nice little cafe/restaurant on site. Friendly welcoming staff throughout visit.

Thank Hhandontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful area in Narbonne France in a well known wine region perfect fot a day trip to explore and spend a day.

Thank chickandbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had read about the abbey prior to going to France and it was on our list of places to visit courtesy of the friends we were staying with. The abbey is a wonderful place to visit and the use of tablets as quidance and information throughout the tour is an added bonus, although everything was clearly labelled throughout. The abbey is well maintained and has a wonderful atmosphere. It was like stepping back in time.The terraced agrdens are beautifu and also well maintainedl.We were there for a very peaceful couple of hours...

Thank liz7772015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spectacularly preserved and restored, large abbey near Narbonne. Black plague reduced the monks numbers from 250 to 20. The church with its 20 m height is impressive as is the cloister and courtyard. Very worthwhile.

Thank hilliard j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We recommend doing a wine tasting here (for free, 30 mins, 3 wines). And then take the self guided tour. The place is outstanding beautiful and for me as a white wine drinker it’s so far the only red wine in southern France that I really enjoyed. The medieval architecture is simply outstanding and beyond words!

Thank Lucas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our visit to this old historic Abbey and it's adjoining gardens. Visiting in October we did not see the garden at it's best, but then it was quiet with plenty of time to walk around and take photographs, without worrying about fellow visitors.

Before you enter the Abbey and Gardens there is both a restaurant and cafe. Make sure, even in the shoulder months, to pre book a table in the restaurant, as people were being turned away when we visited. Telephone 04 68 41 02 26. English is spoken.

We ate in the cafe, enjoyed our snack and appreciated that they served us, on request, using plates and cups, rather than paper serviettes and cardboard cups. The staff were very attentive and again spoke good English, if needed.

To enter the Abbey you need to buy tickets at the small shop before you reach any of the buildings. It is very easy to miss the sign saying this, though they are considering clearer signage.

The Abbey has been well maintained and walking around the buildings you got a good feel for how life must have been for the monks. I particularly liked the atmospheric Cloisters with the well tended central garden area.

We have already decided to visit again in late April / early May to see what the gardens look like then.

Finally a well done to those in charge of signposting. For some reason our Satnav wanted to have the day off and did not recognise the address. However from the road sign telling us to leave the motorway, to the final one telling us we were almost there, the signage could not have been clearer.

Thank Bwyd2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Loved the place plenty of history explained on a Samsung tablet some super architecture and beautiful grounds. Didn’t use the restaurant or the wine tasting but certainly enjoyed our visit.

Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Monastery was founded in 1093. Beautiful church, peaceful, beautiful gardens, lot of history and very good restaurant. We lived the visit.

Thank Rodolfo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Impressive renovation of a once severley damaged abbey. No longer an abbey, but you can still feel the spirit of the monks hanging around. Or working. Or praying. Or drinking beer, because the abbey has its own beer.

Thank TonyWithoutAnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

We were disappointd that many vineyards were closed for sales and tastings on weekends, and wanted a drive form Beziers to visit more rural area. The abbey visit was perfect. There is a convenient restaurant and cafe. Admission is 11.5 euros which comes with a tablet which gives history and many details about the 13 or so stops. You can listen to everything or fast forward. Lovely gardens and beautiful architecture. There is a wine shop (disinterested employee on phone- unusual in France) and small gift shop with the ticket office.

1  Thank parrothead99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews