We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steaks in Montpellier ”
Review of Thym et Romarin

Thym et Romarin
Ranked #95 of 1,640 Restaurants in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 27 - US$ 32
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Saint-Roch
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We were recommended this lovely restaurant by a freind of our daughter. We had a lovely meal with the standout being the half camembert. The service was excellent and we also had the prawn and guacamole. The steaks and cuttlefish were gorgeous and the duck was lovely. We had such a great meal we booked to come back. The staff were excellent and the food was superb, I had the steak with n my second visit and it was melt in the mouth gorgeous would highly recommend and hope to visit again.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank NickMott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

Visited with a family member who is a regular visitor to Montpellier, and who was originally recommended Them et Romarin by a colleague. Two floors for dining, although on both our visits we were on one of the three street level tables, with traditional french cuisine on the menu of around 5 choices per course - all set menus. The first hour of the evening is managed by one guy who takes orders, cooks and waits on tables, but he managed to be quick and efficient. It was difficult to choose but on two visits we collectively tried 80% of the menu and everything was excellent. Menus change periodically to ensure fresh produce, but from the current one would really recommend the black pudding and onion tart starter and cafe gourmand (local speciality of a range of mini-desserts) and any of the mains! Local red wine is charged by hoe much you've emptied from the bottle

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SolihullRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessica f, Gérant at Thym et Romarin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear customer ! We appreciate your warm comment and the recommandation of our restaurant. Your comment makes us very happy, is a source of pleasure for us ! Hope to see you again to try new dishes. Have a good day & hope to see you promptly in Montpellier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Hidden away in a quiet side street , away from any other restaurants. It was empty when we went past but after a quick chat to the waiter we decided to give it a try. Food and service were both very good , freshly cooked and well flavoured. Its just a few tables in the road but don't be put off by the appearrance its very good.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessica f, Gérant at Thym et Romarin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Hi John ! We appreciate your warm comment and the recommandation of our restaurant. Hope to see you again to try new dishes (fresh & flavoured). Have a good day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

I enjoyed my dinner here very much. The menu is available in english (and the staff speak english as well, yet it is a lovely local restaurant. Creative dishes, well prepared. I had cuttlefish tossed in pesto, perfectly prepared, accompanied by a glass of rosè. Dessert was grilled pinapple crumble with a scoop of ice cream on top. Everything was high-quality and freshly prepared. Staff was very patient with my not-very-good french. All in all, a very enjoyable meal.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank 669kellyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Recommended to us by a local, this was our favourite meal in Montpellier. Service by Jean was excellent and he was happy to accommodate in English (even though he teasingly encouraged us to first try our French). The camembert was a standout for the starter followed by the goat cheese, but the true star was the twice cooked confit duck. Jean kindly recommended some places for a drink following, and if I still I had time in the city I would go back to try some of their other dishes.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thesetwoeyes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thym et Romarin also viewed

 
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to Thym et Romarin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing