We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant reception, but..”
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Reviewed 20 November 2016

In one line: agreeable receptionists, cleaning woman who doesn't know her job and the greedy owner.
Both receptionists I had an opportunity to speak with (Vincent and Alan) were intelligent and agreeable interlocutors. Our conversations that went beyond regular tourist questions, brought me pure intellectual enjoyment.
The breakfast is over-priced. For 9,5 euros you get a basket with croasson, baguette, butter, hot drink (tea/coffee/chocolate), orange juice, natural yogurt and cereals.Cereals are the only thing you can take as much as you want. With other things in the list be happy with what you get and don't ask more or ask but for the next breakfast.
My room was suffocating: with closed window I hadn't an air, with open one I breathed exhausts.
However this was cleaning woman who ruined my stay. The first and the last time she entered to the room she didn't make a bed, nor replaced the towel she took, but decided that my cup belong to the hotel (or that I don't need it anymore) and took it to the kitchen.
This cup is precious for me and before I discovered what happened with it, I had half an hour in the Hell. And for this "amazing" experience the compensation I received was the price of one breakfast. Now I know why the breakfast is over-priced: the owner of the hotel is a miser.
So it's your decision to stay there or not. Me personally hope I'll find next time another hotel to stay in it.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YK317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

6 - 10 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

We chose this hotel for its location very close to Comedie. It was inexpensive (109€ for a triple).
Location was awesome, but the hotel offered a minimum of anything else. We had a triple which was far in the back with a lack of windows. There a lift to get you part way up.

The room was spacious enough, yet a bit tired like the rest of the property. Minimum linens but enough to get you through. The beds were very firm with minimum pillows. Not particularly comfortable.

Free wifi in rooms was nice.
Parking is in public lot. Hotel offers a discount, but only for 12 hours. We were there for 18hours and paid the 24 hour price which was close to 25€. Figure this out before hand.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank SBTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

The hotel is located very conveniently near to La Comedie and the train station. Its best asset is the cordial and nice attitude of those who work in it. It is nice and comfortable, but you have to be careful that it closes at 1 AM so if you plan a late dinner or outing be sure to be back on time.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGlacierist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Stayed here for a week. It is just 5minute walk from the train station, 2min walk to La Comedies Square where there is a supermarket, tram stop, tourist bureau and many cafés. The hotel is small, rooms aero clean. I had my own bathroom. Breakfast is available. Staff speak many languages and are accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015

We stayed here as an overnight stop for an early train and it was perfect. A five minute level walk from the main station and on a quiet road just 100m from La Comedie, the main centre of Montpellier. The hotel is tastefully furnished as one would expect from the name and the room we had with its' excellent little en-suite was superb. The room was quiet and comfortable especially considering it was on a relatively major street. The electric roll down shutter eliminated all sound and light very effectively.
The air-conditioner in the room coped admirably with the scorching heat currently being experienced in Europe (40c). The staff welcome and registration was speedy and friendly and we were in our room 10 minutes after getting off the train!.
The slightly pricey breakfast was however good quality and served in a very pleasant room. They even had a teapot for our fussy English tea!
The only insignificant niggle was the shower head holder in the en suite was one of those ball types that doesn't actually hold the shower head and it kept dropping.
I would recommend this hotel, at least the en-suite rooms, to anyone and will stay again when we explore the surprisingly interesting city. The free wireless internet was excellent and seemed very strong as we were able to watch video.
And the whole hotel is non-smoking.

Room Tip: Choose an en-suite unless you are keen to share facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Le Mistral
Le Mistral
#12 of 93 in Montpellier
307 reviews
Royal Hotel
#14 of 93 in Montpellier
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nova Hotel
#44 of 93 in Montpellier
105 reviews
Hotel d'Aragon
#8 of 93 in Montpellier
332 reviews
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#10 of 93 in Montpellier
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Address: 6 boulevard Victor Hugo, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range: ₹ 6,059 - ₹ 9,902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our entirely renovated, soundproofed and air conditioned establishment you will be welcomed with great pleasure by our wonderful team in a very family friendly environment.Located in the heart of downtown Montpellier. Within walking distance of the famous place de la comedie, the Theatre, the palais des congres (le corum), the fabre museum.Access to many different types of entertainment including museums, movie, theaters, restaurants and much more. Public transportation consists of train, tramway or bus.Whether your stay is a learning exerience, professional or touristic you will have an exceptional time.You will be perfectly situated for a wonderful visit of old montpellier and its beautiful typical small streets.All our rooms are equiped with either a shower or a bathtub, toilet, flat screen tv, telephone. Free wirless internet in certain rooms and in the reception.Rooms for families available maximum 4 people, free beds available for babies as well on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing