We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
69
129
77
22
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
129
77
22
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small lift coffee machine great location stayed one night receptionist glazed town stairs wardrobe castle beaches sea
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018

This is a review of the restaurant and not the hotel. I first ate here twenty years ago and have returned only a couple of times since - which probably says something. The restaurant has a pleasant interior and an outside terrace with several tables. It sits at the junction of the largely pedestrianised area and the main road through the lower part of the town. The terrace is an agreeable place to sit and enjoy dinner in the evening. Service was friendly and reasonably efficient but became very slow as the evening progressed despite the fact that it wasn't particularly busy. The goat's cheese salad starter was excellent according to my partner. My Collioure salad did not fit the description on the menu but did contain some of the elements I would expect from a dish of that name. I was not expecting a slice of pineapple, a strawberry or a cherry none of which have a role to play in a Collioure salad. That said it was fresh and tasty. The goat's cheese salad was similarly pointlessly garnished. The two fish main courses were well cooked. The cod was beautiful as was the monkfish but both were presented with a creamy leek side dish and a baked potatoe with aioli, so there was a lot of creamy stuff on the plate - too much. And inevitably perhaps my monkfish was presented with a slice of pineapple! Someone needs to confiscate the chef's supply of pineapple. Less is more! The bill for two for two courses and a bottle of mid range wine was over 100 Euros. In summary the key elements of the food were good, but the dishes were overly garnished and it wasn't value for money.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank leonard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafregate, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant La Fregate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comment following, your recent visit in Hotel La Frégate in Collioure.
Put our decoration on the plate we would like to make a colors that is all
We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with our services
It was our pleasure to welcome you to our beautiful resort .it will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and please Keep in touch with us on the page Facebook.
With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Stayed one Night. Room was simple but very clean and had a nice view of the surrounding town and ocean. Breakfast was extremely limited. You would be better off walking around town to find another spot to eat.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank Opustwovt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafregate, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant La Fregate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear Madam ,Dear Sir ,
Thank you very much for your comment following, your recent stay in Hotel La Frégate in Collioure.
It was our pleasure to welcome you to our beautiful resort .We invite you to come back to us by email or phone to enlighten us on your experience in our establishment.Ususually we have a lot of compliments about our breakfast so we didn't not understand your
judgment .
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and please keep in touch with us on the page Facebook.
With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Stayed for one night last week, Fri 1st Dec, and invited a couple of friends round for dinner - food and service excellent. So was breakfast. Booked a superior room, just about big enough, round the back with a nice view of a lovely old street. Windy night and the double glazed patio type doors creaked and groaned all night! Shower so small we didn't bother with it but as we only live an hour away it didn't matter. As we left we told the receptionist 'We'll be back' and when we got home (Sat) we booked and had confirmed, 2 nights next September for a wedding. On Monday afternoon had a phone call with the old 'computer was playing up' excuse and the hotel is full all weekend ... the computer shouldn't have confirmed it, they said - yeah right! I wouldn't mind a fiver for every time I've heard that one! Presumably someone's block booked the place or they don't want someone just staying 2 nights and not a week in September. Either way we weren't best pleased. We've now booked down the road in a cheaper but better looking place and will also use that for dinner trips with our friends who have a place in Collioure! Their loss!

Room tip: Superior room ... presumably standard are worse or even smaller or maybe they don't have a coffee machine ... which we didn't use anyway!
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbd100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafregate, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant La Fregate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Madam ,Dear Sir ,
Thank you very much for your comment following, your recent stay in Hotel La Frégate in Collioure.
It was our pleasure to welcome you to our beautiful resort .We invite you to come back to us by email or phone to enlighten us on your experience in our establishment.
it will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and please keep in touch with us on the page Facebook.
With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Quirky hotel on the Main Street going down to the sea and the Square and a few doors down from the Templier Hotel and restaurant, famous for all the art works acquired in exchange for food from impecunious but now world renowned artists...

The bedrooms are small, with strong colour schemes. Our wardrobe, feature wall and bed cushions and drape were emerald. Spotlessly clean. We had a Juliet balcony overlooking the tiled roofs of the city, and it allowed us a pleasant breeze overnight with the double doors open. There is a tiny lift which will take one person and a suitcase. On one floor there is a bar and lounge with comfy sofas. Wifi good. Patisseries close by so we skipped breakfast in the hotel and ate our pain au chocolate sitting on the harbour wall.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Ideal location for walking out into the surrounding vineyards, street cafe life, restaurants and back street artist shops.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafregate, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant La Fregate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Madam,Dear Sir ,


Thank you very much for your comment following, your recent stay in Hotel La Frégate in Collioure.
It was our pleasure to welcome you to our beautiful resort .it will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and please keep in touch with us on the page Facebook.
With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

This is a quite reasonable place in the very centre of Collioure. Whilst the staff are all pleasant and accommodating they appear to be halfway to the singularity: they wandered around dressed in black, headsets, microphones, headsets and iPads directing them. Quite unnerving. We approached the tiny reception desk where two Borg were performing tasks oblivious to our presence. It seemed they were in another dimension. Eventually they acknowledged us and checked us in. During this process, answering one of our questions, his answer started to make no sense, until we realized he had been taken over by command of his headset; his eyes glazed over and he was in communication with unseen entities. Seamlessly his monologue reverted to us.
We dined in the restaurant upon recommendation and it was excellent quality and value. However it was again a temple to the occult. The head waiter looked like a bouncer from the future dressed in black, a gadget belt adorned with electronics, his head swathed in wires. Our waitress, charming and efficient, had similar head dress and distant look. The restaurant was strangely bedecked with pictures of faces all with one eye occluded.
The building is old, so rooms are small. The lift takes just over 1.5 people; otherwise steep, dark stairs. If you are a light sleeper you may need ear plugs and eye pads. Appearing for breakfast without reservation disorientates the Borg, but once you have worked out where everything is (a bizarre layout) it is very good and varied.

Room tip: Higher may be quieter
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoalfaceFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafregate, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant La Fregate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you for your review of our property.
We take note of your remarks concerning the maintenance and the equipment of the staff it is to make the work more practical and more functional.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our kitchen.
It was our greatest pleasure to welcome you to our beautiful seaside resort.
And it will be a pleasure to welcome you to us soon.
We invite you to join our Facebook page and stay in touch with us all year round.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews