We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Carcassonne but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Fred

Chez Fred
Ranked #31 of 329 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 16 - US$ 38
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant working fresh products and home-made, "Chez Fred " welcome you all year in its modern room with its oven , or outside(terrace), has the inside of a quiet and green patio in city center.
Brussels
Level Contributor
145 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good for Carcassonne but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

just back from Chez Fred and sadly disappointed..! In comparison with what else is on offer in Carcassonne Chez Fred is not a bad restaurant at all. Original dishes, locally sourced products, good local wine list. BUT the atmosphere in the restaurant is lacking and nothing special at all...service poor; OK it was relatively busy for a Tuesday night but one waiter for the whole restuarant...consequently the service was confused and slow, forgotten orders, even the bill was wrong..The food itself is well cooked and of good quality. But I expected better especially after reading such good reviews on TA. 7/10. I think Chez Fred does well because there is little serious competition in Carcassonne..but for me that is not an excuse for the restaurants shortcomings.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PGRBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    146
    56
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved our evening here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We decided to wing it in Carcassonne as all the best reviewed restaurants in the ancient, walled city were shut or over-priced (e.g Hotel de la Cite). Asked a butcher as we wanted to find the best Cassoulet and he recommended Chez Fred.

Do not be put off by the name, which is a little cheesy to English ears. Since we had time to kill before it opened for dinner (we'd walked in to make our reservation) we checked reviews of it, mostly very positive, on a few French and English language websites.

This place served us fantastic food in generous portions. Wine was lovely, recommended, low-mid price range. Great value all round for about €70. Very nice and genuine people too, easy going service with good humour. We will make a bee-line for Fred's next time we are back in the area.

Best mid-range restaurant we've been to for along time, and surpassed on our holiday only by a fantastic, Michelin starred place in Le Puy.

Tip: if you like the cassoulet bowls, ask and they might sell you some delightful, battle-hardened ones with their logo on for about €8 each. Great for our first cassoulet attempt and pasta, curries too. Bargain!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank grinch_at_xmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Can be excellent - but not always”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Went here first for a Valentine dinner in Feb 2010 - fabulous food, service and atmosphere.
Tried to repeat the experience the following Winter - poor food and service - atmosphere also not good but that was more to do with our mood as the evening was a disaster

  • Visited November 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food in a nice setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We enjoyed a good meal here recently. it was a relief to get away from the standard dishes of cassoulet and goats' cheese salad and experience something rather more thoughtful.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rocksCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Dont Eat Out in France in August!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We ate at Chez Fred at short notice this August, with no previous recommendation. He was very welcomming and enthusiatsic at the beginning (that didn't last, sadly) - and we were very hungry! As is so often the case in France at the height of the summer, the food was just average and disappointing. It was a Monday evening, when most other places were closed and he had a captive audience. He did give us a very good recommendation for an excellent bottle of wine - a strong Languedoc red called 'La Regalona'. It wasn't cheap but it was outstanding. We suspect this would have been a much better experience when this lovely city isn't crawling with tourists. We should have known better really........

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilandLidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Fred also viewed

 
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to Chez Fred? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing