We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Hotel could easily be better with a very small amount of effort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cerise Carcassonne Sud
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, Hotel could easily be better with a very small amount of effort”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The Residhotel is ideally situated less than a 10 minute walk to the centre of the old town (including a short steep slope and steps). It is true that first impressions are not ideal but the rooms are fairly spacious (don't go for the studios, but ask for a one bedroomed appartment even if there are only two of you). Also ask for a room with a wardrobe otherwise you just get three hooks on the bedroom wall and a hanging rail in the lounge. There are no drawers and this is something the hotel easily could provide at little cost. Beds are quite firm.

Rooms were very clean and serviced daily including change of towels. Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, fridge and microwave. Good breakfast and excellent patisserie just across the road. The restaurant LE BREAK just 300 yards away has a good value set menu at 16 Euros but this not much cheaper than restaurants in the old town where set menus between 15 and 20 Euros are readily available. Supermarkets (Lidl and Casino) a 20 minute walk away.

If you are travelling with Newmarket, the day trips to Collioure and Avignon/ Pont Du Gard are well worth taking.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    305
    193
    53
    28
See reviews for
322
265
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The place is surrounded by a gate. You need to use the intercom at the gate to gain entry. Plenty of parking. It was hard to find where the reception was it wasn't really signposted but as you enter the gates you will see a building on the left near the exit gate which looks like a house. The room was clean. We were there only one night. Needed to make the beds up for our girls. Also needed to take rubbish from room when you leave the rubbish bin is at the front near the entry gate but it's not a huge bin. There is a large grocery story about 5 mins away. Carcassonne castle is about 10 min walk. The receptionist told us that after checking out we could leave our car in the car park indefinetly which was really handy for us. It does have a heated indoor pool which my kids loved.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We are travelling around Europe by car and are used to staying in all types of places. I normally think that people are overreacting when they write bad reviews, but this place left me sleepy and in a bad mood. I guess you definitely get what you pay for, although i could have put up with all of the following if i had a comfy bed (was ridiculously hard).
- No fridge in a 'selfcontained' unit. (Realised this after we went shopping for dinner)
- Pull out bed kept rolling under the bed every time you rolled over in your sleep.
- Poorly installed shower. (no shower screen so water goes everywhere. must be constantly hand held, cannot use wall mounted)
- Dirty walls, scuff marks everywhere, cutlery, utensils and crockery had to be washed before use.
- Reception is only open between 8am -12pm and 4pm -8pm, we knew this but thought we could at least park the car and walk into town. Checking out before 8am is a no go as well.
I do not recommend.

Room Tip: Try not to get room 118.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChillCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidHotel_RP, Responsable relations publiques at Cerise Carcassonne Sud, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
We are sorry that your stay did not completely satisfy you and let us give you some precisions. Some rare apartments, intended for the stays of a single night, do not arrange a fridge and they should be equipped with it soon. Some tracks on walls, due to the friction of furniture are going to be erased soon, we put this apartment first to be repainted. Concerning the bed, it was necessary to lift him simply to set up feet and so avoid the movement. Finally, the residence, for safety reasons of his hosts, is closed out when the reception is not opened, a code must be given to you to bring in your vehicle inside the residence. Your departure would have been able to take place before 8 am if you had contacted simply the reception the day before.
We hope that this precision will have allowed you to make you a more favorable opinion of our establishment and let us hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carcassonne hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

On first sight you can only imagine a prison. On entry it gets better. Staff where helpful they showed us on a map where our room was.
The room was clean and good for a family with good cooking facilities
The Apartment was clean but beware of the of the ventilation extractors.
1) they don't work
2) They fall out the wall and land on you.
Breakfast. one can only say disappointing, you get what you pay for.
If you don't like dogs don't stay there

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Good location, just a few minutes walk from "La Cite"
very good price,
big room.
separately bathroom, one side the shower and washbasin, and on the other side in other room was the toilette.
and instead of a double bed we have slept in a Sofa bed. not the best sleep, but it was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lu_biancooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 km away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.6 km away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
764 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
0.8 km away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.5 km away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#15 of 39 in Carcassonne
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerise Carcassonne Sud? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerise Carcassonne Sud

Property: Cerise Carcassonne Sud
Address: 1 Rue Darius Milhaud, 11890 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,627 - ₹ 10,049
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerise Carcassonne Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Aude department, the CERISE RESIDENCE Carcassonne Sud is situated in an exceptional location 10 minutes by foot from the Medieval City, a World Heritage Site. Its 76 apartments are spread over two buildings set in vast landscaped gardens. The former mansion house which has preserved the charm of old buildings houses the reception and the breakfast rom. For leisure, the residence offers access to its indoor heated swimming pool, a hammam and a fitness room You can take your meal in one of our restaurants partner, within walking distance, or to make you deliver your meal in room (more information at the reception) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cerise Carcassonne Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residhotel Le Clos De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing