We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in an excellent location 4 stars (iPad won't let me do 4!)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Octroi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Octroi
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in an excellent location 4 stars (iPad won't let me do 4!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

I stayed here with my Mum for two nights whilst we were visiting Carcassone. The room was clean and elegant (we were in the dark grey room, we saw the bright green while they were cleaning it, it may have been a bit much!). The room wasn't large but there was enough space for two of us to move about. The air conditioning wasn't very effective, we weren't able to change the temperature. A back room would have been better as the road was quite noisy but we were in the lowest price band and the back rooms are the bigger suites. The staff were pleasant and helpful, when we went down for a cup of coffee the receptionist asked if we would mind waiting while she brewed a fresh pot instead of giving us the old one! We didn't have the breakfast but it looked nice, although expensive compared to what you can find if you venture out into the Cite or the town. Location wise, is hotel is perfect for exploring both parts of Carcassone, it's a five minute uphill walk to the Cite and no more than ten to the town although the road to the town isn't as nice as it's a busy dual carriageway with only a small pavement. If you don't mind going the long way over the old bridge you it's nicer but will take fifteen minutes or so. Carcassone is a great place to explore for a couple of days BUT there is not much choice for vegetarians!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKateG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    169
    77
    14
    14
See reviews for
112
179
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

If you're not offended by the modern decor of this hotel you'll most definitley enjoy your stay. This hotel is quirky and unusual in terms of its layout and decoration but it is ideally located just five minutes walk from the old city and approx 1 mile from the new city shops & cafes. €15 will get you a taxi from the airport.
The staff are friendly and helpful and during our 3 night stay we encountered none of the negativity from the hotel perssonel which you may see commented upon in other reviews. The staff of course are typically French and at worst, may seem aloof or offhand to the inexperienced traveller.
Smoking is no longer permitted in the little courtyard at the rear so despite the fact that our bedroom window overlooked this space we encountered no problems with noise or smoke from within.
We didn't sample the breakfast, preferring to go uptown to a cafe and enjoy the al fresco dining experience.
Finally, evening dining in Carcassonne isn't quite what you expect of a French city. The staff were very helpful in this regard giving reccomedations for Restaurants that were above the general average offering.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Tried booking its sister hotel and got its poor cousin without realising it!! as a result went to the incorrect hotel to start with, booked through the website so it did tell us we were staying in its sister hotel but this was very hard to see!

Even got a delux room, which was still tiny, dull and just not what we thought we booked!

Watchout they charge extre for parking!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smythy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a night after arriving into Carcassonne and before travelling further east to Portiragnes. We booked the hotel in the airport after arriving on our flight (it was an unplanned stop over) because of it's proximity to the castle and it's low price of €65 for a room (no breakfast).
Check in was quick and easy and the room, although a little small, was perfect for us and very clean. In my opinion the hotel had a feel like you were staying in a little apartment but I think this is just because of the way the hotel is laid out. The bed was comfortable, there was loads of hot water and it had a lovely deep bath with nice products, the soap looked hand made.
The hotel was quite literally a 2 minute walk up a little hill to the main entrance of the castle.
We checked out the next morning with no difficulties and I can say that from now on this will be the only hotel I will stay in when spending the night in Carcassonne.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

We spent one night at Hotel L'Octroi. Our triple room was very small, but clean. Each room is decorated in a different colour - orange, red, green - quite psychadelic really and a bit overhwelming in such a small space. The bed was very comfortable. The ac only seemd to blow hot air, but our window opened onto a small courtyard so was fairly quiet. The bathroom had a shower over the bath with a curtain around it and had good hot water.

One of the couples we travelled with said their room smelt very musty and when they opened their window they could smell strong cooking odours from somewhere nearby. Their cold water adjustment was not working (very unusual taps) so they could not shower as they only had hot water. The other couple had a double room next to ours and although small, it was fine.

There is no lift and the spiral staircase to the first and second floors was a bit challenging with heavy bags. The breakfast area next to reception is very basic, but all this was quite evident on the website so all was as expected.

We arrived early evening and when we looked out our window we saw the top of the old cite lit up like something from a fairy tale. We walked the two blocks there and had dinner, planning on going back the next morning before leaving to have a good look. Unfortunately it was pouring the next day so we weren't able to do so.

The girl on reception when we checked in was very nice and helpful. The girl on duty the next morning was less so.

I think this hotel is fine for a short stay, but due to the lack of space/storage in the room I could not cope for more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvaholiday_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.2 km away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 km away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Octroi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Octroi

Property: Hotel Octroi
Address: 143 rue Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,372 - ₹ 10,886
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Octroi 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well situated at 300 meters from the Carcassonne medieval castle entrance. It offert you 23 contemporary bedrooms. AC ans private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Octroi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Octroi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing