We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, simple and clean”
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, simple and clean”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This hotel is a great place to base yourself when visiting Versailles, or even Paris as there is a metro stop with a direct line taking you to the Eiffel tower or mitre dame which would be 30/40mins away. Francois was friendly and extremely helpful giving advice on directions and train times. The room was perfect for our 1 night stay as we were passing through, but I would've been happy to stay there longer. The breakfast included cereal, juice, tea/coffee and fresh breads and pastries picked up from the patisserie that morning. Very happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katredmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    43
    13
    14
    1
See reviews for
28
34
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed here for one night in October. We stayed and had an average time. The real kick in the guts was when we were able to check our emails a week or so later during our 6 week tour of Europe, we found an email from both the hotel and Booking.com to notify us of our no show. And we where charged a night's accommodation on my credit card including international fee. The hotel did admit responsibility but it has taken over a month to get a refund of the extra night that we where charged. And we are now out of pocket for the initial international credit card fee and for the bank fees charged when the refund was deposited into our account. Instead of a refund we were offered the night for family to stay at the hotel - we are from the otherside of the world. The situation was not taken seriously. We had to get Booking.com involved to organise the refund of our money. The matter was not resolved in a satisfactory time frame and we are still not happy that we have had to pay fees for their mistake.

BE CAREFUL STAYING HERE - THEY DO NOT KEEP GOOD GUEST RECORDS!!!!!

Only good thing about our stay here was the location - close to the Palace and the RER station. The receptionist was not particularly friendly on check in and was more interested in watching the World Cup. In the morning he was serving breakfast and they really could have done with another pair of hands. It took us asking twice to get some milk for our tea and coffee. And the people after us looked as though they got to choose from the last few rolls and croissants as none were readily refilled. Also better planning on breakfast supplies is recommended. The shower in our room was over the bath but had no glass screen or curtain so any splashing from the shower ended up all over the bathroom and toilet. Not particularly well thought out bathroom renovation. The younger receptionist was more helpful but was still far more interested in the World Cup on TV than the guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmondlady
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel is excellent value, considering it is within walking distance of the Palace of Versailles. It has all the appearance of a boutique hotel while being very much a budget one. My only criticism would be that breakfast was served in the same area as reception and the receptionist has to attend guest checking in and some of the guests were kept waiting for their coffee/tea while he was attending the guests checking in. Perhaps there should be one more person attending the guests who are having their breakfast. Versailles itself is a very pleasant city and has some excellent restaurants near the hotel which stay open late for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richmondlady06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

No luxury. Small rooms, simple, clean and basic cleverly decorated to make it look like a small boutique. Could do with one more member of staff al breakfast.
The location is exceptional, 10 minutes walk from the station and 5 minutes from the Chateau. If you go to the Royal Opera, you'll enjoy walking back to the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guitarman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Had a fabulous time at Hotel d'Angleterre. Celebrated our wedding in Versailles and booked 10 rooms for our friends and family. François was very accomodating and even gave my spouse and me a bottle of champagne for our honeymoon! Literally a two-minute walk to the palace grounds and a five-minute walk to the RER station--very convenient. Had a lovely stay--the bed was extremely comfortable, totally refurbished rooms! Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowflakexc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#15 of 26 in Versailles
155 reviews
0.5 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#14 of 26 in Versailles
100 reviews
0.7 km away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#7 of 26 in Versailles
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#10 of 26 in Versailles
868 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
485 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Versailles Chantiers
Hotel Versailles Chantiers
#6 of 26 in Versailles
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: 2 B rue de Fontenay, 78000, Versailles, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,327 - ₹ 9,628
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Versailles
Hotel d Angleterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing