We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Japanese tea room”
Review of Toraya

Toraya
Ranked #1,829 of 19,431 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Louvre / Palais-Royal
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Toraya is a classy tea room where you can find different kinds of japanese teas and authentic patisserie.
You may not find the same sweets throughout the year, but will have the chance to get whatever is typical of the season.
It is absolutely worth more than a visit, but it is very pricey and was not impressed by their service, since I have been waiting a while for the tea and had to remind the staff before getting it.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Francesca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

This place is great for lunch, they have a menu that tastes fresh and light.

There's only 3 choices and if you reserve you also need to choose in advance; but everything look and taste delicious (including their famous traditional Japanese desserts).

Date of visit: September 2015
1  Thank carlosalbertotc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We took a refreshing break before returning to our hotel nearby. We didn’t know anything at all about Toraya, but a lady seated inside,on her own, give us a “discreet” thumb up while we were looking through the window.
The place was quiet and we were offered a “monastic” table near the window. The waitress was very patience and gave us plenty of guidance and explanations. We ate several confectioneries that my partner and I never tried before, all were delicious, full of flavour and most of them a big surprise to our palates. We heard for the 1st time about ingredients that we didn’t know exists and we drank macha tea and green that were invigorating.
The place is a little pricey (we were greedy!), but the experience is well worth the expense.
We mentioned this place to the concierge of the Castille Hotel and he agreed with us that the place is wonderful and we should go back for lunch next time.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pepe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

It's great to get away from the hustle and bustle every so often here. Also a nice place when eating alone (there's a big communal table). Good, light food with a french touch but essentially japanese. The lunch menus are refreshing and include magnificent desserts. Be ready to pay a rather hefty bill, but I'm not complaining, I would say that all things considered, it's worth it.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Xeni25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015

Toraya is a tea room where I go at least once a week maybe 3 x a week. Lunch is delicious but quite limited and rather pricey but always healthy and good. If you are watching pennies then just go there for a tea and a Japanese sweet. There are specials depending on the time of the year. In the winter there is hot chocolate made with Macha tea. I love it, when it is really hot in the summer they have an incredible kakigori which is shaved ice with green tea and red bean paste. It is beyond refreshing.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brasscupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toraya also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Toraya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing