We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't book here if you have changes to your plans” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse
Ranked #815 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't book here if you have changes to your plans”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We booked this hotel well in advance, and we have booked at other Holiday Inns with out problems. We found out 3 days before check in that our plane had switched to 1 day earlier, so we contacted Holiday Inn Customer service and they said they would speak to the hotel and get back to us. They didn't get back to us, so we went to the hotel as planned. On arrival we were told the price was fixed as it was an early booking, and we had to pay the extra day, no changes, so I offered that we put one of our 3 people in a seperate room for one night, and was told it wasn't possible. I then offered we could have free breakfast, as it was expensive, at $15 pp, but was told no as well. I tried to contact Holiday Inn about all of this, but never heard back. I would not recommend this hotel unless you are firm on your needs. The service is terrible. My experience is not good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 767traveler101111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camille B, Directeur général at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear 767traveler101111

Thank you for leaving a candid review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations,

We’re sorry you received service which was disappointing from the Holiday Inn Customer Service but you booked a discounted rate implying some restrictions (no modification or cancellation allowed, full prepayment, breakfast not included). This is the reason why they could not change it.

We do hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Regards,

Camille BOUR-BOUVOT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    399
    215
    68
    46
See reviews for
202
342
76
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

The wireless internet access was not working throughout my entire stay. I brought my concerns to the front desk EVERY day, and each day, they assured me it would be fixed as soon as possible. The staff did not seem overly concerned by the problem as they would not even listen to the full explanation (regarding what was wrong); they simply said they would pass on the information to the people that could fix the problem. I asked to speak with a manager on several occasions, but this also did not solve the problem. I explained that I needed the internet for business purposes (which is why I was in Paris), but they offered no alternatives and displayed no sense of urgency. They did not seem overly apologetic or concerned, and this was reflected in the fact that the problem was never resolved.

In addition, upon checking in, it was obvious that the rooms were not properly cleaned; I found numerous cherry-stems on the carpet in my room, indicating it had not been vacuumed since the previous occupant left (I took pictures of this). I also found a piece of chocolate on the floor by the garbage can. These problems were minor compared to the major problem with the internet to me, but added to it, it shows the commitment level to guests is lacking in this hotel.

To say that the service was disappointing is a huge understatement. I checked out a day early and will not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camille B, Directeur général at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Michael S,

Thank you for leaving a candid review as we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We do hope that you give us another chance in the future.

Regards,

Camille BOUR-BOUVOT
GHeneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel earlier this week. The hotel is in a very good location accessible to metro and the Montparnasse Gare. There are many good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is spotless, our room was very nice and with a good view of the city. It was very comfortable as well as the bathroom. The front desk staff was very helpful to us with suggestions and taking care of our needs. The price of the room was high, 300 Euros, but in Paris, the good hotels charge that and more.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HectorFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear HectorFL,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a review as it's always a pleasure to read that we have meet your expectations!
The staff is working hard to try and provide a good quality of service and your recognition is our greatest reward.

We do hope to welcome in again at the Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse,

Regards,

Camille BOUR-BOUVOT
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

After reading many negative reviews I was a bit scared when booking this hotel. I thought maybe people have exaggerated a bit but as soon as I arrived I realised that it was a big mistake booking this hotel.

Stayed for 1 night. Arrived at 14:00 o'clock and was told that the room wasn't ready and that I had to wait about 45 minutes. Didn't mind waiting as the lady at the reception (Valerie) was very nice and explained it in a good manner. She was quite helpful and advised me of some nice locations where I could dine while the room was being prepared.
The room was small but clean, the bed very comfortable and the hotel is perfectly located if using the metro. Paid 15€ for car park for a day and internet is complimentary.

However the evening staff ( I think the lady was named Galvina) was rude and had absolutely no idea how to behave in front of a guest and did not understand much of customer service. The hotel does not have a restaurant, so if you want to have food in the evening, it will take around 45 minutes to be delivered as they have to order it from a restaurant far away.
Asked the reception lady for some slippers and she started laughing and replied she will see in the morning if they have some. When I told her I'm leaving at 7 am, she started laughing louder. Next morning I needed an iron and upon calling the reception I was told that they only have 4 irons and they are all given out. Its ridiculous that a 4 star hotel with 100 rooms is not able to provide an iron to its guests and replies with "sorry we don't have any at the moment, we can give you one later in the afternoon".

Overall the stay was very disappointing and leads the list of "worst hotel stays". If you are looking just for a comfortable bed then this hotel is alright but don't expect good customer service, cause you will definitely be disappointed. Probably my stay would not have been that bad if I wouldn't have met the rude and arrogant receptionist. If things are explained in a nice manner like Valerie did, hardly any guest would get angry but if a hotel cannot provide something and on top of that the staff is rude, in my eyes it's not acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Attaul_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Attaul_R,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations.
I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order to investigate further (generalmanager@hipargm.fr),

I do thank you in advance and hope to welcome you again in the future,

Regards,

Camille BOUR-BOUVOT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We spent one night in this hotel which is situated next to the Gaîté metro station. The window in the first room we were given was glued with adhesive tape so that it could not be opened. We complained at the reception desk and were given another room. Here we could open the window but, as the room was at the front side of the hotel, there was a lot of noise from the Avenue du Maine. The room looked quite clean as well as the bathroom and the separate toilet. In the morning we had a look at the breakfast which cost 15 EUR. The choice was okay but the breakfast room (part of the hotel foyer) looked like a cafeteria, not suitable for a 4-star hotel where you pay 300 EUR a night. We won't choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidschnucke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Heidschnucke,

Thank you for having taken time to leave your comments further to your stay in our establishment Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse.

I have the pleasure to announce you that your remark concerning the windows was well taken into account and that we are actually working on a complete change of these ones.

Regarding the breakfast room, a program of renovation of the hall (including this space) is planned for the end of the year.

I do remain at your disposal and hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Paris.

Regards,

Camille BOUR-BOUVOT
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#585 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#374 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
#587 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse

Property: Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse
Address: 79 avenue du Maine, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#388 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#478 Business Hotel in Paris
#636 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,300 - ₹ 15,039
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Paris Montparnasse Avenue du Maine will open on July 27th, 2007. Located 100 meters away from Montparnasse Train Station, near the metro Gaité. It is the perfect location for Business or Tourism in the heart of the Left bank.Ideally located between the Eiffel Tower and Luxembourg Garden, near Porte de Versailles, the hotel is easy to access. The Holiday Inn Paris Montparnasse Avenue du Maine has been fully renovated in a very modern style, with air conditioning. The WIFI access is free of charge. Our 99 rooms and 1 suite (75% are non smoking) have air conditioning. They are all fitted with LCD TV, Pay TV, minibar, individual safe. Some of them are designed for up to 3 people. They sometimes have a private terrace with a panoramic view.For your meetings, the Holiday Inn Paris Montparnasse Avenue du Maine has 3 major meeting rooms and 1 small room; all illuminated by natural light and can accept up to 80 people. They are air conditioned and are fully equipped with the latest technology (LCD TV, Videoprojecteur ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris
Paris Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing