We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cordonnerie

La Cordonnerie
Ranked #420 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 32
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Louvre / Palais-Royal
Choctaw, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Found this place on the TA Paris City Guide ap and it was so good, we ended up going twice. We arrived at 6:30 on Tuesday evening to find that they didn't open until 7:30. Returned at 7:30 to find that you need reservations for dinner as the place is very small and obviously very popular. We made reservations for Thursday at 7:30. We were greeted by the chef when we arrived and seated near the kitchen. It was really nice watching him prepare the different meals. Half way through dinner we had already decided that we wanted to eat here again and made reservations for lunch the next day. After talking to the chef, he explained the he appreciated the high rating on TA but wanted people to know that he is not a 3 star restaurant. The food is but the restaurant is very small and much more casual than swanky. They are only open Monday through Friday from noon to 2:30 for lunch and 7:30 to 10 for dinner. Do yourself a favor and go to this place. I had the most incredible meals here.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDaveOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    105
    33
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“What you imagine eating out in France should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The restaurant is tiny and unprepossessing from the outside. The food is fantastic and the service all that you might expect from a family run business. This was our last meal before getting the train back to London and it made for a superb finale. I ate fois gras fried and dressed with balsamic vinegar, duck and bananas flamed (at the table) with rum. Every mouthful was superb.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AmershamMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We happened upon this little, quiet street and wandered into the small restaurant. The owner/chef met us and we made reservations for the next evening. Our waiter (his nephew) could not have been more pleasant. After being seated and presented with the menus, the chef came over and explained the specials. No pretense, just a wonderful chef excitedly telling us about his nightly dishes. As we moved from course to course, we learned that the restaurant has been in the family for 98 years and that the chef goes on extended trips in the fall in order to choose the wines that he will serve the following year. But once again, the wines are not expensive, just wonderfully and thoughtfully selected. My wife and I will make La Cordonnerie a required stop whenever we visit Paris. Just so you know, the seating is very limited.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank paulplf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Masterchef of your very own”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Tiny and unpretentious. Get the table next to the kitchen and watch the finest ingredients being lovingly and skilfully prepared.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dsdvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A perfect last dinner in Paris....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The one you will tell friends about....the other reviews led us here and while I was slightly worried about some negative notes, it proved unfounded. The small restaurant sits near the Louvre in a high end area but seems to be the place that time forget. Very charming...homey...like it should be in the countryside. Yes, there is a staff of one waiter and the young man is very busy. The chef, Hugo, is indeed charming and comes around to explain the menu and make food and wine suggestions. The reviews made me think he would be 60 but he is 43 and the restaurant has been in his family for a long time. We both had a simple mushroom starter which we both liked. We were tired of cream sauces by now. I had fish and my husband had duck. Both were delicious. We also had simple salads and we split a dessert, ice cream and sorbet. This is not a five-star French restaurant that will cost you 150 euros each. This is good food, simply prepared in a lovely and relaxed setting that will make you savor your last night in Paris. Afterward walk straight to the river and the small bridge to see the Eiffel Tower lit up.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris5654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cordonnerie also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Cordonnerie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing