We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t do it”
Review of Restaurant Allard

Restaurant Allard
Reserve a table
Ranked #3,495 of 19,840 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Quartier Latin
Reviewed 29 October 2022 via mobile

Staff very nice and did their best, but food would have been better if they had defrosted something from Picard. No atmosphere, music played through radio, complete with ads. We walked past so many lovely looking places to get to Allard and it felt like a bad French theme restaurant. Really disappointing, go elsewhere!

Date of visit: October 2022
2  Thank sarahgeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (1,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2022 via mobile

Rumsteak! Really? The beef plat was a perfectly cooked rump steak !as tough and stringy as they come. The Cepes were a pathetic vegetarian dish and they were cold ….and so we’re the potatoes.

To be fair the Grenouille were excellent, the sommelier very helpful, the junior staff pleasant, although surprisingly without any English at all, but the sound loop (REALLY REALLY!) of Frank Sinatra, Edith Piaf and Doris Day was a bit like a Carnival Cruise (I guess) and way too short so you heard the same songs come around again …..and our waiter held up Paris’ reputation for curt impatience.

This was not what ALLARD used to be and not, I expect, what M. Ducasse wants his reputation to be. Please come back Sir and give it your attention.

The profiteroles were a new take on a century-tested perfect dish: This was Milk chocolate (Ok, I guess) but then bursting with a type of creme anglaise that overpowered everything and made for a mushy desert. (Ducasse is a great chef so…OK for inventiveness but not for the result. )

Date of visit: October 2022
2  Thank chspiaggia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 October 2022

Being a racing man and going to the Prix de l'arc de Triomphe every year and as all gamblers superstitious we go to Allard.
We have been to Allard three times and won at the races. Last year we didn't go to Allard we lost
,so we returned after winning again.

Allard is living in the past ,the service very alof, the menu very limited as it is,even the Roast Chicken at 88euros for 2 ( if it was Bresse Chicken I could understand) and the Cod were finished leaving the Menu even more sparce. With Roast Duck with a multitude of olives at 90 euros. We even had Halibut on other visits, how can Allard have a Michelin star beggars belief.

This is probably the reason for many empty tables on a time when Paris was heaving.

Sort this out Mr Ducasse before it's too late and we won't get our winner next year.
GG

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank E9121CZgeoffreyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 July 2022 via mobile

On the positives, the staff was very nice.

On the negatives, this was the most expensive meal we had in Paris and the worst. The menu is limited and has dusty tourist trap recipes like frog legs and escargot, but very little that imaginative. It is not very kid friendly (unless your kids like sweetbreads or fish) because the menu is so limited. So we had to order the chicken for two which was 88 euros for the kids. I can roast a better chicken. Hell colonel sanders can too. It was dry and not seasoned well. The 28 Euro pate was awful. Just an all around disappointment.

Date of visit: May 2022
3  Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Restaurant-Allard, Propriétaire at Restaurant Allard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2022

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it is valuable to us to help make your next experience better.

We understand your dissatisfaction regarding the limited choice of dishes in our establishment.
Please be aware that we select our starters, main courses and desserts according to what arrives fresh and what products are in season, which guarantees optimal quality and freshness.

We hope to see you again soon,

The Restaurant Allard team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2022 via mobile

The place has a big reputation for chicken so we ordered the chicken with other plates. Comments were that chicken was dry and very expensive. 88 Euro for a chicken and veggies or potato are extra. Decoration will remind you of Grandma's House.

Date of visit: June 2022
1  Thank DanaLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Restaurant-Allard, Propriétaire at Restaurant Allard, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2022

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are sorry to hear that your dining experience did not meet your expectations. Our kitchen staff make a point of honour each day of preparing dishes that seek to take you on a culinary journey with every bite...
We hope to see you again soon. Have a good day.

The Restaurant Allard team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Allard also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Restaurant Allard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing