We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Convention Montparnasse
Ranked #658 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is a nice little hotel just a few steps away from the metro (line 12). Yes the rooms are small but it was spotlessly clean with plenty of towels changed every day. Breakfast may seem expensive but its not. At 9e its good value compared to the petit dejeuner offered at the local cafes - and they could always add it to the room price and tell you its free! What we had was excellent and plentiful. Good coffee. Good restaurants close by as well as the two cafe's serving food directly outside the hotel. Moka closes about 11 pm but La Source goes on well past midnight. Free wifi and very pleasant people. Felt like a nice safe area. Enjoy

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockside17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

For the price it was a nice little hotel, though I am not sure I would go back.

Pros: Cute, charming room; clean, well kept and comfortable. The shower had good water pressure and hot water, the cold water tasted good. Free wifi. The hotel was steps from the metro, and cute neighborhood cafes and bakeries right there. And the market was on many days a great to sample pates, cheese and wine!

Cons: The charming room was tiny, very tiny. The bathroom was tiny too. The bathroom door squeaked (and was at my husbands head when he slept, I feared I would wake him when I needed it in the middle of the night). I found the staff very unhelpful and at times rude. I did not know how to sign on to the internet. One man said you are already in as soon as you go on, while another knew nothing. He could also not help get on the computer in the lobby. I eventually figured out that I had to join a free French network to get on. They were equally unhelpful with the phone, not letting me use the lobby one to confirm a reservation or giving me directions on the room phone. After pressing random buttons I got through with the third button whatever that was.

But the reason I would probably not stay again was the location. It was just too far from everything. We could not go back in the middle of the day to take a nap, and although a fine neighborhood there was really nothing to see locally. Otherwise, it was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxinesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The location of this place is quite good. It is a few feet from the Convention Metro stop. Right outside the door are 3 bistro type cafes with good outdoor seating. There is also a popular bakery within a few steps. There is a street market set up on Sunday mornings directly out front. If you are planning to take in a cooking course at the Cordon Bleu this hotel is just a few minutes walk away.
The hotel has been remodeled somewhat recently. It has nice decor except for the carpeting on the steps is a bit obnoxious.

Room Tip: The double rooms were quite small but had a tiny standing only type balcony overlooking the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinmom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Great location next to underground. Small rooms, very clean, very helpful staff. Nice bakery on the corner. Felt safe.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyluelue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and enjoyed our stay. This was not so much due to the hotel as we spent very little time there but the location it was in. Literally 30 seconds from the metro which you can ride to all the major sites, and also a great french bakery 2 doors down and an abundance of restaurants around. The hotel itself was average, with deceivingly small rooms in comparison to the photos online. We can't really comment about the staff because in the time we checked in, to the time we left, all we heard from them was bonjour every morning, no welcome when we arrived or offer for help if we needed it. Our only complaints are that on our second day we got given dirty towels and on our final night a thunder storm struck and our windows kept blowing open as they wouldn't shut properly. This also was a slight annoyance at night, considering the hotel is on a busy road you can hear every vehicle going past.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ydde21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.2 km away
Ibis Paris Convention 15eme
Ibis Paris Convention 15eme
#691 of 1,803 in Paris
443 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mercure Paris 15 Porte de Versailles
0.1 km away
Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Best Western Montcalm
Best Western Montcalm
#392 of 1,803 in Paris
458 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Val Girard
Hotel Val Girard
#461 of 1,803 in Paris
523 reviews
0.4 km away
Chouette Hotel
Chouette Hotel
#321 of 1,803 in Paris
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Convention Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Convention Montparnasse

Address: 41 rue Alain Chartier | 15 Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #658 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: ₹ 5,753 - ₹ 17,030 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Convention Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Convention Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convention Montparnasse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing