We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty place. Dont stay here.”
Review of Hotel De La Comete

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel De La Comete
Ranked #1,019 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nasty place. Dont stay here.”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I dont undertand these reviews that say the place was clean. The carpet was filthy and smelly. There was hair on the bed which was smelly. The bathrooms were gross and there was barely a sliver of soap with which to bathe. Overall a very dirty and nasty place. We only stayed because we did not know the area and were intransit one night. Disgusting! The towels felt like they had ben wrung out nd dried in the sun because they were stiff and hard. Probably not even washed!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faye0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    136
    68
    15
    14
See reviews for
56
128
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The hotel is just across from the metro and the reception is open 24 hours. The staff does not speak English, so bringing a long a copy of your booking and cash to pay for your stay will be helpful. The room was cleaned each day and the hotel was quiet inside. There was no wifi even though it was advertised. Even if there had been wifi, they were charging for it (which I think is ridiculous when you are paying to stay in a hotel!). There is a McDonalds next door, so you can go there to use wifi, but it is not the best place to go late at night. The area is loud with the train station and emergency services station nearby, so sleeping with the windows open may require earplugs. It was a cheap place to stay (for Paris) and one of the only hotels in Paris with a quad room, so I guess the value was appropriate for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NowBoarding05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel is on the cusp between a great little neighbourhood, and a slightly dodgy area. However, never did we feel at risk, or uncomfortable. The location is KEY! It's located directly across from the Juares Metro Station, and is a great hub for sight seeing. Also the place is secure, left my laptop in the room, and never felt uneasy about it.
We never tried the breakfast, but others had it and it looked good, however there are cafes all around the area, which are really easy to go for a jaunt to. Dinner on the other hand was a bit more difficult, there wasn't really any easy affordable restaurants close by. McDonald's is next door however, which means for a couple bucks you can get free internet. (They have it in the hotel for a fee).
The room itself is SIMPLE. But very decent. A slight smell like old house..but you get past that pretty quick.
One "complaint" the bed were NOT comfortable..if you had a foamy or something, it'd have been better...but the beds were very firm, and quite small.
Also, it's a bit noisy as the road below is a bit busy...however Paris is a noisy city. Lots of honking..lots of people..and lots of cars.

Room Tip: We requested a highfloor and it was given. But you end up walking up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legoboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Across the street from train station. Staff ( owners ) is very friendly.
Rooms are fine for a low price hotel. Not very clean, but the overall experience was fine for our stay (only one night).

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank eszechet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel in February.
We had a very enjoyable 3 nights at the hotel.
My girlfriend spoke French, so could communicate with the owners which is very helpful, if you read the other reviews.
The television could only get French stations, but not a problem for us.
Opposite the metro station, Jaures, so very good for late nights.
We didn't experience any noise problems.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: The third floor seems ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattipatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,551 of 1,801 in Paris
277 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Ermitage
Hotel Ermitage
#1,411 of 1,801 in Paris
142 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Des Vosges
Hotel Des Vosges
#1,258 of 1,801 in Paris
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#859 of 1,801 in Paris
121 reviews
Hotel Paris Villette
#1,132 of 1,801 in Paris
351 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Hotel Tolbiac
Hotel Tolbiac
#1,452 of 1,801 in Paris
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Comete? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Comete

Property: Hotel De La Comete
Address: 196 boulevard de la Villette | 19 Arr., 75019 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,995 - ₹ 5,154
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel De La Comete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Comete Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing