We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Grand Hotel Dore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dore
Ranked #500 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights at the beginning of April 2012. The hotel is comfortable, clean and a good base for visiting the city. Staff are very friendly and most can speak English, Breakfast is a buffet comprising cereal, fruit, toast, pastries, ham and cheese. The coffee is fabulous. There is no bar or restaurant. Ok, rooms are small, but not as tiny as I had been led to believe by the other reviews. Our room was big enough, clean, everything worked and we slept really well in a comfortable bed. The district isn't central, but it's a nice "real Paris" area, and there's a Metro almost next to the hotel. Once we understood the way the Metro works, it was easy to get to everywhere from Daumesnil, and not expensive if you get a 5-day ticket for central Paris. It takes about 20 minutes to get from here to all the central big tourist spots. This is definitely not a rough area, and anyone who thinks it is should visit Montmartre or some of the more western districts. We came across homeless people and beggars and con-artists everywhere in Paris, most noticeably around the major tourist sites. For the cost, this hotel is absolutely exceptional value.

Room Tip: The lift is tiny. Lower floors let you take the stairs without too much discomfort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    275
    55
    16
    6
See reviews for
81
308
51
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

i book the hotel and flights threw lastminute.com for me and my girlfriend .. the information on the site about the hotel led me to believe that it maybe small but a lovely place ..
when i arrived at the hotel i thought i was in the wrong place .. on a street in a town which in my view was quite rough homeless ppl everywhere and prey on those hoilday makers as sooon as they hear you speak english they are giving you notes on how family have died and they want your money .. apart from being near a metro line leading to tourist attractions such as the eiffel tower and arc de triomphe there is little around to do thou we did find a lovely pizza place where we where very welcome .. when we checked into the hotel it was very empty and when we went into our room it was as said very small when looking at the bathroom i noticed that the ceiling sagged not a little but loads .. we was then moved room into a single which was even smaller .. we also payed for breakfast which we never got due to the dinning room being tiny and the hotel is doesnt offer dinner its not really a hotel more like a bog standard b&b ... i will never being staying there again ...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank touristkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happymanager, Responsable relations publiques at Grand Hotel Dore, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Madam sir
Thank you for choosing our hotel,
We are very Chocked by your comments and very sad, because we all do our best for our clients to make their stay as pleasant as possible, it is true that we had a technical problem Independent of our will but know that we have not wanted and that each one as we are dependent on unpredictable element, when you came to see us at the reception we have immediately reassigned a new room on the size of the room and all this is subjective as 99% of our Paris hotel standard room may seem small for guests coming from abroad, but quite normal for Parisian who know that size in Paris are smaller because of old buildings.
As for the breakfast you can certainly wait but you had your breakfast and you also have 30 min.in the breakfast room

As for the homeless we are not responsible and I am shocked that you could blame the social misery know that even on the Champs Elysee there are bums, but this is not the fault of the merchant s 'there is but precarious and in these times of crisis one might have expected a little more generosity of spirit more aware that you are not the only English tourist speaker and bums asking for money to the French to

It is unfortunate that you have not expressed your dissatisfaction during your stay and you have thanked us leaving and once you left us and unjustly maligned and free
I'm really sad because I really do this job with my heart and I love people and communication and entertain people but I am disappointed.

Hope to see you to make you change your mind

The staff of the grand hotel Dore and his manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Spent Three nights in the Hotel Dore in Early march.
The rooms are small and you have to navigate around each other but they are very clean and warm.
The bathroom again is small but very functioal with toilet shower and basin all well maintained and clean.
The towels were changed every day.
The lift is very small two people max or one with cases, a little rickarty.
Staff were friendly and helpful, spoke English better than my French.The breakfast area is small and can get a little crowded when the Hotel is busy .
Close to Metro and a few restaurants, although the Hotel does not serve Alcohol there is a small supermarket close by if you wish to buy and drink in your room.
and yes I would stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 0923Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Arrived to a warm welcome from the receptionist - we'd read reviews about how small the rooms are and the corridor to our room was very narrow and the room was certainly miniscule. Room to move between the bed and bathroom and not much else! Bathroom tiny with an unnecessarily large wash hand basin so you had to sit on the loo with your legs sideways - a bit awkward! That was the only negative for us though. The bathroom was spotless with an excellent shower, lovely big towels too. The bed was extremely comfortable and I usually find mattresses in hotels/B and Bs way too soft. We slept very well there. Breakfast was excellent with a lovely fresh fruit salad, croissants, pain au choc, ham and cheeses! Although it isn't in the centre of Paris, it is almost next to a metro station and you can get anywhere in Paris from there.
The only reason I give a 4 and not a 5 is the smallness of the room - everything else, fantastique and we'd definitely stay there again next time we go to Paris.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I understand Paris is an expensive city, and yes I appreciate finding a decent hotel at a decent price is a challenge. Though I anticipated a small room, I have to admit that I was truly stunned when I saw the room and realized what small really meant. It was minuscule and almost impossible to accommodate my husband and I with our suitcases. I know that when you go to Paris you don't expect to stay in the room, but the size and decor was actually uncomfortable and I felt claustrophobic. I could barely open my suitcase as there was just no space.

We stayed only 2 nights - on our way back from Nice - and i don't think I could have managed much more than that.

The only reasons why I haven't given it a lower score, is that there were some conveniences which I have to account for. Without these, I really don't think it would be worth more than two TA dots. So, if these are important to you, here were the good points about the hotel for us:

1. Free Wi-fi
2. Continental Breakfast included (though limited seating)
3. Short walk to Daumensil metro and close to Gare de Lyon station (where we arrived on our train from Nice)
4. Mini fridge with complimentary water
5. Kettle with tea, coffee and biscuits

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orderedsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de la Porte Doree
Hotel de la Porte Doree
#279 of 1,801 in Paris
697 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Le Quartier Bercy Square Paris
Bercy / Nation
Golden Tulip Gare De Lyon Le 209
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel L'interlude
Hotel L'interlude
#449 of 1,801 in Paris
378 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Pink Hotel
Pink Hotel
#943 of 1,801 in Paris
238 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#231 of 1,801 in Paris
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dore

Property: Grand Hotel Dore
Address: 201 avenue Daumesnil | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#106 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#290 Family Hotel in Paris
#364 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#397 Business Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,120 - ₹ 10,611
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dore 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over a century, the Grand Hôtel Doré Paris has been an ideal and pleasant haven in the heart of Paris for visitors to the capital. The Grand Hôtel Doré opened its doors at the beginning of the 20th century. It is one of those Parisian hotels of charm and character combining French tradition with a contemporary approach, which has always earned Paris its reputation. The Grand Hôtel Doré Paris has been recently completely renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Dore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Grand Hotel Dore Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing