We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Abysmal” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cecil Hotel

Cecil Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cecil Hotel
Ranked #1,669 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Abysmal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

An absolute nightmare of a hotel--dirty, broken/mismatched furnishings in every room and the lobby, surly service, noisy, poor breakfast, etc., etc. Go somewhere else. As one in my group said, " That hotel is a disgrace."

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wrb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    0
    3
    13
    10
See reviews for
1
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

This hotel is in a brilliant location! But thats about it!! .... I can't say anything for the condition as everything was very basic, dated, old etc. The bedroom was also very small, very basic and dated. The hair dryer didnt work and just smoked - giving off burning smells. The bathroom smelt very bad at times mostly after the maids had been in and cleaned it which was strange. Maybe the hot water when mopping brought out the in grain urine smell and the mouldy shower curtain also didnt entice me into have a shower. Im not sure weather we got a bad room, but if you can over see all this and mostly enjoy your time outside the hotel then its alright as it is in a really good location. Breakfast again, very poor - 1 croissant, 1 small bread roll and cornflakes if wanted. No additions or extras as breakfast staff are rude when asked! Also they watch you like your in a zoo when your eating breakfast.

Stayed February 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily021189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

I stayed here with a large group and the trip was pre booked by a travel company. The hotel is terrible!! when we arrived we were given the key to our room which when we got to the door was already open and the maid had all her wet washing on the beds and on the radiator in our room. There were crumbs all over the floor and the maid kept coming in and out of our room for about 10mins without knocking or asking us. The carpets in the corridor look riddled with grease and deperatley need replacing. The beds in our room where made up with picnic rugs with white paint all over them and there where numerous hairs in the beds. The pillows are not pillows, they are pillowcases stuffed with...... something and are very uncomfortable. There is no heating, we had to plug in an electric heater which was in the wardrobe which had only 1 wheel instead of 4 so it was very unstable and dangerous to use. The bathroom was disgusting, the taps had grime covered all over them, the toilet was dirty, in the corners of the floor there was a digusting build up of dirt. We told reception about all these things and they agreed to clean it, bit there wasnt much change. The staff are very rude, i asked for a glass of water so i could take some medication and they refused to give me one. I will never stay there again and i would advise you stay well clear unless you can overlook these things..

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

clean, good location, good services, have a excelent breadfast and big rooms.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank baliluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

Arrived as part of a group of 34 and was placed in a quad room. Man working on reception was very rude, refusing to speak English to those who spoke no French, though it was evident he could as he one time shouted at us in it. However, as I speak French this was no problem, though he still refused any kind of conversation, merely pointing and grunting even if I was awfully polite to him. The room was pitifully small, with brown marks up the wall. Generally dilapidated fittings, with nowhere for suitcases, though the beds were acceptably comfortable.
The bathroom was a tiny little room, again with no place for belongings. There was no toilet roll holder, so these had to be placed on top of the cistern and, due to the poor quality of the shower and the fact that rather than going downwards, the water sprayed outwards, we soaked 4 rolls. After a shower, one was left with around 2 inches of stood water covering the floor. Strangely, the bathroom doors of all the rooms I saw the inside of had 3 circles cut out of the bottom. I was in the only room with a balcony, though it was impossible to step out onto it due to it being caked in bird faeces. The breakfast was not the grandest affair; one had cornflakes, with a stale tasting bread roll, a flat, un-glazed and greasy croissant and then tea, coffee, cheap hot chocolate mix (left out in its box), water or orange juice, all served by 3 scowling staff. A larger choice and maybe a more jovial atmosphere would have been nice. The serving of these delicacies was, however, very fast. The lift was tiny, claiming to be able to fit 4 where as I would have struggled to fit two. The staircase was dark and covered in 2 different, but equally tatty, carpets.
On the up side, the location was good (though not for those who like a lie in- the church opposite is being renovated by noisy builders and its bell on the hour and on each quarter). Métro Grands Boulevards is nearby.
This is my seventh visit to Paris, and though I loved the city, I would never, ever consider returning to Hotel Cécil. Or, for that matter, the awful Flunch chain of restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakkhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Peyris Opera
Hotel Peyris Opera
#406 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel De Nell
Hotel De Nell
#78 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Emeraude Hotel D'Espagne
Emeraude Hotel D'Espagne
#528 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Pavillon Opera Bourse
Pavillon Opera Bourse
#1,094 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Aida Opera
Hotel Aida Opera
#478 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Diva Opera
Hotel Diva Opera
#604 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cecil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cecil Hotel

Property: Cecil Hotel
Address: 7 rue du Conservatoire | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,669 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,845 - ₹ 29,102
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Cecil Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing