We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
3
1
3
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
1
3
13
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2010

This hotel is in a brilliant location! But thats about it!! .... I can't say anything for the condition as everything was very basic, dated, old etc. The bedroom was also very small, very basic and dated. The hair dryer didnt work and just smoked - giving off burning smells. The bathroom smelt very bad at times mostly after the maids had been in and cleaned it which was strange. Maybe the hot water when mopping brought out the in grain urine smell and the mouldy shower curtain also didnt entice me into have a shower. Im not sure weather we got a bad room, but if you can over see all this and mostly enjoy your time outside the hotel then its alright as it is in a really good location. Breakfast again, very poor - 1 croissant, 1 small bread roll and cornflakes if wanted. No additions or extras as breakfast staff are rude when asked! Also they watch you like your in a zoo when your eating breakfast.

Date of stay: February 2010
3  Thank Emily021189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

I stayed here with a large group and the trip was pre booked by a travel company. The hotel is terrible!! when we arrived we were given the key to our room which when we got to the door was already open and the maid had all her wet washing on the beds and on the radiator in our room. There were crumbs all over the floor and the maid kept coming in and out of our room for about 10mins without knocking or asking us. The carpets in the corridor look riddled with grease and deperatley need replacing. The beds in our room where made up with picnic rugs with white paint all over them and there where numerous hairs in the beds. The pillows are not pillows, they are pillowcases stuffed with...... something and are very uncomfortable. There is no heating, we had to plug in an electric heater which was in the wardrobe which had only 1 wheel instead of 4 so it was very unstable and dangerous to use. The bathroom was disgusting, the taps had grime covered all over them, the toilet was dirty, in the corners of the floor there was a digusting build up of dirt. We told reception about all these things and they agreed to clean it, bit there wasnt much change. The staff are very rude, i asked for a glass of water so i could take some medication and they refused to give me one. I will never stay there again and i would advise you stay well clear unless you can overlook these things..

Date of stay: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hanachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

clean, good location, good services, have a excelent breadfast and big rooms.

Date of stay: November 2009
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Arrived as part of a group of 34 and was placed in a quad room. Man working on reception was very rude, refusing to speak English to those who spoke no French, though it was evident he could as he one time shouted at us in it. However, as I speak French this was no problem, though he still refused any kind of conversation, merely pointing and grunting even if I was awfully polite to him. The room was pitifully small, with brown marks up the wall. Generally dilapidated fittings, with nowhere for suitcases, though the beds were acceptably comfortable.
The bathroom was a tiny little room, again with no place for belongings. There was no toilet roll holder, so these had to be placed on top of the cistern and, due to the poor quality of the shower and the fact that rather than going downwards, the water sprayed outwards, we soaked 4 rolls. After a shower, one was left with around 2 inches of stood water covering the floor. Strangely, the bathroom doors of all the rooms I saw the inside of had 3 circles cut out of the bottom. I was in the only room with a balcony, though it was impossible to step out onto it due to it being caked in bird faeces. The breakfast was not the grandest affair; one had cornflakes, with a stale tasting bread roll, a flat, un-glazed and greasy croissant and then tea, coffee, cheap hot chocolate mix (left out in its box), water or orange juice, all served by 3 scowling staff. A larger choice and maybe a more jovial atmosphere would have been nice. The serving of these delicacies was, however, very fast. The lift was tiny, claiming to be able to fit 4 where as I would have struggled to fit two. The staircase was dark and covered in 2 different, but equally tatty, carpets.
On the up side, the location was good (though not for those who like a lie in- the church opposite is being renovated by noisy builders and its bell on the hour and on each quarter). Métro Grands Boulevards is nearby.
This is my seventh visit to Paris, and though I loved the city, I would never, ever consider returning to Hotel Cécil. Or, for that matter, the awful Flunch chain of restaurants.

Date of stay: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakkhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

The location was actually a good one, real close to 3 different metro stations and also 2 minutes walk from the Grand Boulevards (plenty of shops, restaurants, cafes and bars). Breakfast was really ok too. Besides these facts, it was a pretty [--], old and dirty whole. The bathroom was hideous, you could really see the microbiology going on there without a microscope. They also didn't have a place to lock the luggage (after the check out) or a restroom in the lobby!
Enjoy.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honorbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews