We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hostel & friendly staff”
Review of Smart Place Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smart Place Paris
Ranked #21 of 194 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We had a double room with ensuite. Everything was there that we needed, including towels (which we didn't expect to be provided free of charge). TV in the room, wardrobe, small safe. Basic but comfortable and extremely clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English, they stored our bags after check-out so that we could spend the day in Paris luggage-free before travelling in the evening. Excellent location, a few minutes walk from Gare du Nord and not far from Montmartre, with plenty of places to eat nearby. Free tea & coffee available in the kitchen at all hours.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buttercup6125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart Place Par... |, Manager at Smart Place Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Buttercup6125,
It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.

It was very rewarding to read that you found our reception to be very warm and accommodating to you throughout your stay with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed all our facilities and that the room was as you expected.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property, and once again, thank you for your positive comments!

Warm Regards,
Valérie E
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is good located, accessible with many buses and subways.
People from staff are very friendly and nice.
The room was very clean and good maintained, although a little small if all beds are taken.
All in all, i’ll recommend this place for every young traveler.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Aron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart Place Par... |, Manager at Smart Place Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Aaron,
It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed our location, which is very central to all the best restaurants, cafes, bars that Paris has to offer. We are also just minutes away from Montmartre, and much more!

We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property, and once again, thank you for your positive comments!

Warm Regards,
Valerie E
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Hostel located quite near the Gare du Nord, easy to catch the train to/ from UK. The receptionists are quite friendly. Shops and supermarkets are nearby provide the needed items. However, the room is so tiny, and quite difficult to move and store luggages. The lobby area provide the cooking utilities are highly appreciated. In general, it’s a happy choice

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Hai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart Place Par... |, Manager at Smart Place Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Hai L,
It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.

It was very rewarding to read that you found our reception to be very warm and accommodating to you throughout your stay with us. We have staff available 24-7 to assist you with all your requests.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property, and once again, thank you for your positive comments!

Warm Regards,
Valerie E
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Stayed for one night as a stopover, because of its proximity to Gare du Nord. It is close but it was still quite difficult to lug 40+ kg worth of things there and back.

The room (4 bed female dorm) was very comfortable and clean. The kitchen though a bit small (it is Paris after all) is adequately equipped if you would like to cook.

I had a lot of errands to run in the morning, as well as documents to sign, and the lady at the reception was very helpful and patient, as I was printing quite a few things and running in and out of the luggage storage room a lot.

As well as being close to Gare du Nord, I was able to walk to the Opera area in about 20-30 minutes.

Recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart Place Par... |, Manager at Smart Place Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Michelle,
It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.

It was very rewarding to read that you found our reception to be very warm and accommodating to you throughout your stay with us. We have staff available 24-7 to assist you with all your requests.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property, and once again, thank you for your positive comments!

Warm Regards,
Valerie E
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I'm basing my review on my expectations. I read the description of the hotel and knew that it was a hostel/budget hotel I was an older, solo traveler, so I booked a single room. Overall, this is a solid, no frills, inexpensive option. Read on for more details.

Positive. 5 minute walk to the Paris Metro and Gare du Nord train station. Also within walking distance to Gare de l'Est train station. This gives excellant access to the major trains in and out of Paris. The staff was very friendly. A lot of dining options nearby. The room was small, but I was a solo traveler who wanted a single and got what I wanted.

Neutral. They advertise as a hostel/budget hotel and that it is what it is. The room did not have AC but I wasn't expecting it. My room looked out over a courtyard with other residences across the way. So privacy was an issue if you wanted to have the windows open at night. It was in the upper 30° C when I was there, so I definately, did want to have them open. Here again, I got what I expected and it was not an issue. For free Wi-Fi, you had to check in on social media. Not a real issue, but slightly annoying. It is a hostel catering to younger travelers without restrictions on age. Kinda a dorm feel. Young people hanging out talking into the night. So noise was an issue, but this really spoke to my preferences and not the hotel. If I was younger, I might have been booked a different room and been talking also.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart Place Par... |, Manager at Smart Place Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Jerry,
It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.

It was very rewarding to read that you enjoyed your stay at Smart Place Paris.
We were also pleased to read you enjoyed our location, which is very central to all the best restaurants, cafes, bars that Paris has to offer. We are also just minutes away from Montmartre, and much more!

We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property, and once again, thank you for your positive comments!

Warm Regards,
Valérie E
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Regent Montmartre
#16 of 194 in Paris
1,050 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vintage Hostel
#14 of 194 in Paris
795 reviews
Arty Paris
#13 of 194 in Paris
652 reviews
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#7 of 194 in Paris
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Place Paris? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Place Paris

Address: 28 rue de Dunkerque, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 194 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range: ₹ 2,463 - ₹ 8,684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Smart Place Paris 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Place Paris is the perfect budget hostel to experience the most of Paris. Located few meters to Gare du Nord and close to all the popular areas where the day and night life is quite animated, you will discover the most beautiful places of the french capital while enjoying a local city life. Surrounded by bars, theatres, you can easily walk to the Grands Boulevards, Opéra and Galeries Lafayette. Chose between the modern private, double or triple rooms, or share a dormitory with your friends (mixed or not). Prepare a meal in the common kitchen, relax in the lobby, stay connected with the free wifi and ask anything you need to the friendly team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your Smart Place Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing