We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,038)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveller rating
676
290
44
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
676
290
44
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rue cler around the corner eiffel tower great location rick steves charming hotel within walking distance napoleon's tomb metro stop de mars small hotel corner room would definitely stay here again minute walk restaurant recommendations junior suite third floor
Filter
Updating list...
442 - 447 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Just back from spending a few days in Paris with my teenage daughter. As everyone has already said this is a great little hotel if you want to be in a central location and not in a boring "chain hotel". We were "upgraded" to a suite (Room 303) and it was still tiny but very cute with a single bed on one floor and then up some stairs to a double room and the bathroom which was of a decent size with a full bath with shower above. A good choice for a family with one child or, at a pinch one child plus a cot. There was some noise from the street but frankly that is to be expected in a location like this. Everything was immaculately clean and the staff extremely friendly. The hotel is on the corner of Rue Cler which is full of cafes and local shops and a brisk 5 minute walk to the Eiffel Tower. Ecole Militaire metro is just a few steps up the street with a direct line to "Opera" for those of you looking for good shops - this is where Gallerie Lafayette is to be found! We would definitely consider returning here on our next trip.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ajcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

Dear guests,

One can tell by reading your message that you made the most of your stay in Paris ! We would like to thank you for your very complete comment on the Hotel de la Motte-Picquet. We are glad that you liked the junior suite and transmit to the efficient cleaning staff how much their work is appreciated !
Talking about the Grands Magasins (Galeries Lafayette, Printemps Haussmann), you know that they just reveal their beautiful Christmas decorations and it is simply amazing with puppets, lights and an incredible giant Christmas tree decorated by cristal Swarowski right in the middle of the big hall of the perfumes and jewelry! It is splendid !
We do hope you will come back soon,

Cordially,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

A lovely boutique hotel in a fantastic location. There are lots of cafes and restaurants around it and it's just a short walk to the Eiffel Tower. Our room was small but so pretty and clean it wasn't a problem. Also had a lovely view. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. If I'm ever lucky enough to go to Paris again I would definitly stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LynneHNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for your brief but straight-to-the-point message that summup everything one could say about the Hotel de la Motte-Picquet ;)! We wish that you will have the luck and opportunity to fly again all the way from Beautiful New Zealand to Magical Paris. You know beside the restaurants and cafés, we are also surrounded by amazing bakeries and chocolate.....just saying :).
Take care,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

"Put the bed under the bed to make room in the room" was the quote from one of our soon to be 12 year old twins girls. It's small; hard to turn around in the shower and not a place you want to do anything in but sleep. But it's Paris right? From memory there is no lift either, so you're carrying your bags up the small stair well.

Staff are fantastic, location is superb and the price is right. The breakfast, while expensive, was possibly the best we ate in Paris - fresh bread and pastries that I couldn't stop eating! And it's next to Rue Cler, a tasty market street. You can also break fast on Rue Cler.

We walked to galleries every day. A stroll of 20 minutes gets you to the Sein and about the same to the Eiffel tower. There is a metro station you can hop on to 2 minutes down the road.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Dear guests,

First let us assure you that we were very happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay among us, at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet. You came all the way froml New Zealand so it is very important for us tobe certain that we did our very best to make your travel the best possible ! It is funny how people often notice the great location of the Hotel (walking distance from Eiffel tower, by rue Cler and the metro stop) and the fantastic amount of wonderful places for gourmands around us : cafes, bakeries, restaurants, chocolate shops, cremeries, fresh market... We are glad you were delighted by the hotel breakfast, we try to offer the larger choice we can.
Best regards dear guests,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Hotel Motte Picquet in Paris is a very small hotel located within a short walk to the Eiffel Tower and the Invalides and is convenient to a number of shops and restaurants. I have never stayed in a hotel where the entire staff is as friendly and helpful as at this hotel.
With this said the double room we had (room 205) was tiny and lacked storage space. There was no bureau of any kind and the "closet" was divided up so you couldn't even hang a sport coat in it. I have stayed in small rooms before but never one that used it limited space so poorly. A couple of suggestions, remove the desk that has little to no use and build in a bureau, the desk won't be missed and the bureau would be much appreciated. Add a small closet to the right of the bathroom door allowing one to hang up a sports jacket or a long dress.
In the bathroom add a soap dish in the shower as there is absolutely no place to put soap or shampoo. Add a coat hook on the back of the door so one can hang a robe. Build in an open shelves above the radiator and over the toilet so one has a reasonable spot to put a shaving kit. These suggestions may only work in room 205 as I would imagine each room is unique in size in shape. I don't want to be too harsh but seeing how little it would take to make an ideally located hotel, staffed by the best people you could possibly have working at a hotel, far more livable was frustrating.
I would definitely stay here again but would opt for the junior suite.

Room tip: Opt for a junior suitable
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ppags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for the time you took to write this review. We thank you also for all your advices about the room 205 : we will definetedly take them in consideration to make it better. Certain points have already been changed since your visit. You are absolutely right with you about the sensational location of the Hotel de la Motte Picquet and you are absolutely kind about the helpful and friendly staff :)!
Anyway, we appreciate that you help us try to ameliorate ! Be sure we wait for your return with impatience,

Cordially,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

What a quaint little boutique hotel!! The rooms are small but comfy and the hotel staff are wonderful. The hotel is so close to the Eiffel Tower that we walked to it every day of our 5 day stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting inexpensive pleasant accommodation. Cafes' all around and the metro virtually next door.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Almar1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your adorable review pointing out all the great advantages of a nice stay in the Hotel de la Motte Picquet : warm atmosfear, amazing location, good price and ..... our neighborhood of cafes, restaurants, delis, bakeries, chocolate shops (the best : Jean Paul Hevin, La maison du chocolat, Lenôtre, Jeff de Bruges). We wait for the opening of a new cheese shop, yummmmmy!
See you soon all the way from Australia !

Sincerely,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews