We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Central Saint Germain
Ranked #640 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Oxford
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Better than average hotel in good location”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The Central is very conveniently located in the 5eme : it's just round the corner from the Sorbonne, and a few minutes walk away from the Musee de Cluny end of the Boul Mich. There's a famous (but expensive) brasserie two minutes away, and it's in the same street as an excellent arthouse cinema, and a funky student bar serving good beer and great music. The rooms are surprisingly large for Paris and the place has been recently decorated and modernized. It's surprisingly quiet too, especially if you get a room on the courtyard side. They serve something approximating to a full buffet style breakfast with scrambled eggs and toast, but it's quite pricy (12 euros). I've stayed there a couple of times and will probably do so again, though it is a bit expensive (120 euros a night). Oh, and unlike some other reviewers, I found the hotel staff to be both friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlonsoTheMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    180
    66
    18
    15
See reviews for
96
136
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Putnam Valley, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at the Central Saint Germain in April 2012. The location is exceptional...located one block from the intersection of Boulevard St. Michel and Boulevard St. Germaine. You are always within walking distance of the excitement of the Latin Quarter, as well as a walk to Notre-Dame and even the Louvre. La Sorbonne is right outside your window. Also the Underground/Tube/Subway is one block away which is key in Paris.
Thus the location is absolutely fantastic! However....
1) the room we had for 3 people (Room 502) would have been small for two adults. It was nicely appointed but don't expect to spread out.
2) the front desk people - as with most service people in Paris - just don't get it. How about a smile? Some warmth? Empathy? Although they did their job, it seemed to be a bother and you wondered if you were getting real help or an easy answer to get rid of you and your question. The owners would have people crawling all over the place if the front desk staff were happy and helpful.
Luckily, when you are in Paris, you are not looking to spend time in the hotel but out in the city so the primary strength of this hotel - the location - saves the day. BTW, it is not cheap. The room for three people ran $315 dollars per night!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1TheSmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centra22, Directeur général at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We're glad you're happy with our location and facility and look forward to seeing you in Paris.
Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel. This help us being better.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with a friend. Was expecting very small room, given that most hotel rooms in Paris are, but it was pretty good. We had a twin room, which also seems quite hard to find in Paris - we booked the Twin Confort room (304) if anyone is looking for one. We paid about 100 Euros per night.

Rooms was fine not pokey, clean, comfortable beds, bathroom adequate. Two windows overlooking the front. Easy to walk anywhere from there. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel (12 Euros) as it was cheaper elsewhere.

Staff weren't particularly friendly or helpful, but not offensively so. The hotel is perfectly adequate, just nothing fancy.

Location is good. Short walk to area full of restaurants. Less than 5 minutes to Metro. If you drink coffee, be prepared to pay between 5 and 6 Euros. However, on our last day we found a small, modern cafe just around the corner from hotel (come out of front door, turn right down to main street, turn right again, small black/white fronted cafe next to cinema), that had the cheapest coffee we'd seen plus really fresh croissants and pastries, that were delicious and cheap.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLovingBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centra22, Responsable réception at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
We are glad you're happy with our facility and look forward to seeing you in Paris. Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Paulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have visited this Hotel on the 26th till 28th of January. The first impression regarding the room was bad. Old fashioned and the worst is, that was a bad smell from the humidity and the carpet. We left the window open till night in order to sleep.

We had an offer for free breakfast and we mentioned that from the very first time in the reception, the receptionist assured us that it is ok. When we left the Hotel another receptionist asked from us to pay for the breakfast as well, claiming that on the system there was not such an indication. When we told her that her colleague reassured us that there was not a problem her behaviour was not polite and there was an argument with the risk to miss the flight. finally we presented the printed offer and the issue resolved.

there are much better hotels at thye same price and i hope with more polite staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vassilis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centra22, Responsable réception at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
We are sorry that you are not happy with our facility and staff. Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel. We will do our best next time we see you in Paris.

Paulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I stayed here for two nights while in Paris. The hotel itself is nothing fancy but the room was clean and surprising a good size for a Paris hotel. The price was one of the best in the area and the location was great. It was an easy 10 min walk to Nortre Dame. It was about a 5 min walk to the metro station and the area was filled with shops and coffee houses and book stores.

I felt completely safe while walking around the area and to and from the hotel. It is just off of a main road on a small road so there was not much foot traffic. My window faced the street and it was not too loud but word of caution that I was there during the week and not on the weekend. There is a theater right next door so this may get loud, I don't know.

The staff was very nice and friendly when I got there late at night. The room was fine and clean with a flat screen tv and free wifi. I also had breakfast there. A bit expensive for what you get - basically just a continental breakfast.

The cab ride from Charles deGaulle was 50 Euros late at night. I'm sure it would be substantially more during rush hour. So on my way back I took the short 10 min walk to the RER suburban train station and only paid 9 Euros. Well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centra22, Responsable réception at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
We're glad you're happy with our hotel. Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel.
All the staff of Hotel Central Saint Germain is looking forward to seeing you again in Paris.

Paulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Suez
Hotel de Suez
#502 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#339 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#164 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Le Petit Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Saint Germain

Property: Hotel Central Saint Germain
Address: 3 rue Champollion, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #640 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,691 - ₹ 18,395
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Central Saint Germain combines the grace and typically Parisian comfort.Centrally located in the Latin quarter and Saint Germain des Prés, near the Seine, Notre-Dame, the Sorbonne and the Pantheon, near the Jardin du Luxembourg.Building with a charming new decor since 2009 with 5 levels in various environments, it offers luxury and tranquility of a beautiful house in the heart of an historic district in a setting designed in harmony for all your well-being.Its central location allows you easy access to tourist areas and business.Our 35 rooms are all equipped with bathroom, hairdryer, satellite TV, air conditoning, personal safe, modem and wifi access.A great welcome awaits you for a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Central Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing