We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Central Saint Germain
Nearby Hotels
US$ 254
US$ 223
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Le Six(Paris)
US$ 316
US$ 288
Le Six
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 230
US$ 213
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 209
US$ 202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 407
US$ 383
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 277
US$ 267
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 309
US$ 285
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Leveque(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$ 169
US$ 140
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 103
US$ 100
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Duo(Paris)
US$ 319
US$ 302
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
116
196
74
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
196
74
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscluny la sorbonneflat rooflatin quarterquiet streetluxembourg gardensshops restaurantsexcellent locationnear notre dameleft banksmall thingswithin walking distancegood nights sleeplovely little hotelmain attractionsgreat areashort walkbreakfast was delicious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at the Central Saint Germain in April 2012. The location is exceptional...located one block from the intersection of Boulevard St. Michel and Boulevard St. Germaine. You are always within walking distance of the excitement of the Latin Quarter, as well as a walk to Notre-Dame and even the Louvre. La Sorbonne is right outside your window. Also the Underground/Tube/Subway is one block away which is key in Paris.
Thus the location is absolutely fantastic! However....
1) the room we had for 3 people (Room 502) would have been small for two adults. It was nicely appointed but don't expect to spread out.
2) the front desk people - as with most service people in Paris - just don't get it. How about a smile? Some warmth? Empathy? Although they did their job, it seemed to be a bother and you wondered if you were getting real help or an easy answer to get rid of you and your question. The owners would have people crawling all over the place if the front desk staff were happy and helpful.
Luckily, when you are in Paris, you are not looking to spend time in the hotel but out in the city so the primary strength of this hotel - the location - saves the day. BTW, it is not cheap. The room for three people ran $315 dollars per night!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1TheSmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centra22, Directeur général at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

We're glad you're happy with our location and facility and look forward to seeing you in Paris.
Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel. This help us being better.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with a friend. Was expecting very small room, given that most hotel rooms in Paris are, but it was pretty good. We had a twin room, which also seems quite hard to find in Paris - we booked the Twin Confort room (304) if anyone is looking for one. We paid about 100 Euros per night.

Rooms was fine not pokey, clean, comfortable beds, bathroom adequate. Two windows overlooking the front. Easy to walk anywhere from there. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel (12 Euros) as it was cheaper elsewhere.

Staff weren't particularly friendly or helpful, but not offensively so. The hotel is perfectly adequate, just nothing fancy.

Location is good. Short walk to area full of restaurants. Less than 5 minutes to Metro. If you drink coffee, be prepared to pay between 5 and 6 Euros. However, on our last day we found a small, modern cafe just around the corner from hotel (come out of front door, turn right down to main street, turn right again, small black/white fronted cafe next to cinema), that had the cheapest coffee we'd seen plus really fresh croissants and pastries, that were delicious and cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLovingBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centra22, Responsable réception at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

We are glad you're happy with our facility and look forward to seeing you in Paris. Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have visited this Hotel on the 26th till 28th of January. The first impression regarding the room was bad. Old fashioned and the worst is, that was a bad smell from the humidity and the carpet. We left the window open till night in order to sleep.

We had an offer for free breakfast and we mentioned that from the very first time in the reception, the receptionist assured us that it is ok. When we left the Hotel another receptionist asked from us to pay for the breakfast as well, claiming that on the system there was not such an indication. When we told her that her colleague reassured us that there was not a problem her behaviour was not polite and there was an argument with the risk to miss the flight. finally we presented the printed offer and the issue resolved.

there are much better hotels at thye same price and i hope with more polite staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vassilis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centra22, Responsable réception at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

We are sorry that you are not happy with our facility and staff. Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel. We will do our best next time we see you in Paris.

Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I stayed here for two nights while in Paris. The hotel itself is nothing fancy but the room was clean and surprising a good size for a Paris hotel. The price was one of the best in the area and the location was great. It was an easy 10 min walk to Nortre Dame. It was about a 5 min walk to the metro station and the area was filled with shops and coffee houses and book stores.

I felt completely safe while walking around the area and to and from the hotel. It is just off of a main road on a small road so there was not much foot traffic. My window faced the street and it was not too loud but word of caution that I was there during the week and not on the weekend. There is a theater right next door so this may get loud, I don't know.

The staff was very nice and friendly when I got there late at night. The room was fine and clean with a flat screen tv and free wifi. I also had breakfast there. A bit expensive for what you get - basically just a continental breakfast.

The cab ride from Charles deGaulle was 50 Euros late at night. I'm sure it would be substantially more during rush hour. So on my way back I took the short 10 min walk to the RER suburban train station and only paid 9 Euros. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centra22, Responsable réception at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

We're glad you're happy with our hotel. Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel.
All the staff of Hotel Central Saint Germain is looking forward to seeing you again in Paris.

Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Very central location. Nice quiet, albeit small, rooms. Had some challenges, but nothing non-recoverable as, for example, the bed seem to have reached the end of the service. Hotel staff was friendly and very becoming. The area gets most of the tourist traps: next to Notre Dame and only ~10 minutes walk from Louvre, however I think this convenience means that price is a bit high for a hotel of this quality. Well apart from the price being what it is, I can full.heartedly recommend this hotel to my friends and alike.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seppo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centra22, Responsable réception at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

We're glad you're happy with our facility and look forward to seeing you in Paris. Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel.
I'm looking forward to seeing you again.

Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews