We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge Internationale des Jeunes
Ranked #118 of 187 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The only good thing about it was the location. The bedding felt like it was unwashed. The shower was horrible. Something about this hostel made it feel like .... a prison for me.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MangoSorbetYummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 131 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

Friendly staff, good conditions for the low price, quite clean, and they have parties on Saturday night :). It is also in a very nice location

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geoL110981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The beds are really small and unconfortable. The common bathrooms are a complete disaster: as someone said before, the doors are open on the top and on the bottom, like "western movies"' doors (including the door to the corridor), so forget the privacy. Besides, the bathrooms are really dirty, you don't have where to put your clothes (a real problem, because everything gets wet). The staff are very disrespectful, specially with the girls: they try to touch your hair, your hand, just awful! Besides, they are not helpful, at all. Ok, the location is good, the price is good, but, sincerely, don't worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roberta_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed in a 4-beds room for 2 nights (2 adults - 2 kids). The hostel is quite well located (3 minutes from metro station Ledru-Rollin on line 8 or 10 minute walk from Bastille). But it is indeed very basic: bunk beds, a sink, a very small toilet, a shower (good one!)... and that's it. Don't expect anything fancy here: it's good to just sleep and spend the rest of the day in the city. Rooms are not accessible between 10am-3pm. Breakfast is included (sandwich, coffee, jam & butter), but there are bakeries in the surrounding streets if you're still hungry :)
We arrived by car, the hostel has private parking about 10 minutes away for 25 euro/day... but then again, this is Paris!
Staff is helpful and correct, no problems there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan-travelspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I've booked a room in Bastille Hostel, that belongs to the same group, 3 months in advance. At first, I had booked a room for 2, but then my sister gave up and I asked to change the reservation for a shared room for 2, as said in the website. When I arrived, they said that Bastille Hostel only has private rooms, and put me in a room for four girls at AIJ (both belong to the same group). Also, they said I shoul move to a room in the 4th floor (I was in the 1st) in the last day. I didn't like that, and, as I realised later, they to that kind of thing with many clients - I've met a girl who had to change room every day! The bathroom in the room is very small. You have to keep pressing the shower button every half minute, otherwise the water stops falling. The bathroom's door is open on the top and on the bottom (like in the shopping bathrooms), so you have no privacy - when you're going to pee or to take a shower, the person who sleeps in the top bed can see everything!! The common bathrooms in the corridor have the same problem. In the room I've stayed the last night, you have to keep the water buttom pressed in order to actually get water. There's only a tiny lamp in the room, that is very very dark. There were lots of kids in the hostel, so it was very noisy early in the morning. Also, there's a cafe that works until 2am, something like that, and the noise is loud. The internet is available only from 4pm to 11 pm. The staff isn't helpful at all - I had to take a train at 6 in the morning and they didn't want to book or call a taxi for me - they said I should try in the street. The only good thing was the location, that was convenient, near to the metro station. Didn't take the breakfast.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
The Loft
The Loft
#34 of 187 in Paris
239 reviews
Arty Paris
#14 of 187 in Paris
637 reviews
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Entrepôt
Smart Place Paris
Smart Place Paris
#18 of 187 in Paris
409 reviews
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#12 of 187 in Paris
679 reviews
Quartier Latin
Young & Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hostel
#40 of 187 in Paris
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Internationale des Jeunes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Internationale des Jeunes

Address: 10 rue Trousseau | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , République
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 187 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range: ₹ 1,740 - ₹ 6,829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A youth hostel in the center of Paris. During your visit in Paris, you will certainly be looking for a nice and comfortable place to stay. Our hostel represents the best alternative for young travellers, as it combines an excellent location, a good quality lodging (clean, safe and nice) and the most competitive prices in the City of Lights (recommended by Lonely Planet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Auberge Internationale des Jeunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Internationale Des Jeunes Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing