We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL AND SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
Ranked #656 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOTEL AND SERVICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

My wife and I spent a week in Paris at Hotel des Gobelins. We caught the Eurostar from London to Paris. The metro system is easy to negotiate to the hotel. The Les Gobelins station is less than 5mins from the Hotel.

The hotel is clean and tidy in appearance and we were met by Jean Marc at the front desk. He was very friendly and helpful.

We were on the 5th floor. The room was small but very cosy. It was clean and tidy with 2 single beds pushed together. We spent little time in the room so it was perfect for what we needed it for. There was no air conditioning but a fan was provided and there was plenty of air flow, if not a little noisy, if you left the window open. The bathroom was good, with a shower over the bath. The only problem with this was there was no shower curtain and water went everywhere when you had a shower. I felt sorry for the maids but they didn't mind at all when I tried explaining the mess.

A continental breakfast is provided. The food was great and provided a good base before exploring Paris.

The local sights are easily within walking distance but as mentioned earlier the underground is only a 5 min walk from the Hotel.

There are plenty of good restaurants in the area. Jean Marc is only too pleased to point you in the right direction. There is also a supermarket nearby in order to get any food, drink or cosmetic items.

Internet is provided and available in the lobby area.

Overall Hotel des Gobelins is great and centrally located.

Highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    353
    106
    30
    13
See reviews for
132
264
63
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

I loved my stay at Gobelins ... arrived to fantastic desk staff, always eager to help me with any enquiry i had. Breakfast great, room was clean & windows opened for fresh air.
Located close to Metro & RER, a must in Paris. Would stay again ... How i love Paris !!

Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kathybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

I stayed here last weekend for a 2 night break with my mum for her birthday.
I can not fault this hotel.
The hotel is situated in the Latin quarter which is central for everything you need.
The staff are really attentive and always on hand to give advice or make a restaurant reservation.
The rooms are small but decorated nicely and had air conditioning. I was in room 66 which had a lovely ample sized bathroom with bath and shower.
Although the hotel is on a busy road when you close the windows you can not hear any street noise.
Yes the breakfast room is tiny but the lady who seats everyone makes sure that there is tables for everyone.
The red open bus tour is a must and leaves from outside Notre dame which is abut a 25 minute walk from the hotel.
I can not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sloan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

We booked this hotel for 2 nights in May. Arrived in the evening to be told that our room was flooed an we would be moved to a sister hotel in Bercy. The other hotel is not in as central a location nor is it as nice. They offered no compensation just a smiley apology. We felf this was a scam on their behalf. We could be wrong but I am just warning others.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Moso06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

We came to Paris with the intention of seeing as much as possible in a long weekend - needing somewhere to sleep, have breakfast and head out for the day. This hotel is lovely, needs a little tlc round the edges, but this doesn't detract from a very sweet and cosy little hotel. Staff were very helpful, booking things for us by phone if we asked and recommending places to eat etc. Breakfast is nice - don't expect a fry up (not my thing anyway), but cereals, yoghurt, ham and cheese as well as gorgeous croissants. We had a double (two twins pushed together, which is normal for France), with a large double window/balcony onto the street. This provided good soundproofing when shut, and some air and hustle and bustle when open - perfect. The room and bathroom were very clean and well serviced/made up during the day. The only criticism I had was the smallness of the shower cubicle.....I'm an average sized person but found it a tight squeeze - just don't drop the soap as it's difficult to bend down and pick it up!! (Apart from that the shower was powerful and hot).
This was not enough to put me off staying here again though.....a sweet Paris hotel for a sensible cost.
The nearst Metro (Les Gobelins) was a five minute walk if you turn left out of the Hotel......ridiculously easy to get everywhere, day and night.
The Rue De Mouffetard market is not much further along than the Metro station - it's charming and a feast for the senses - if you carry on through there you reach the Pantheon and a lovely walk through St Germain Du Pres....andon to the Centre of Paris....what more could you want.
As for nearby restaurants.......go to Marty's, just near Les Gobelins Metro station, the best food I think I have ever tasted - and in a beautiful Art Deco setting.......the wine is to die for (Macon Village). Would recommend Le Lido for great cabaret.
All in all a great weekend and a lovely hotel - 5 * in my book.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peanut3289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Best Western Plus La Demeure
#422 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Gobelins
Kyriad Paris 13 - Italie Gobelins
Gobelins
Hotel Saint-Marcel
Hotel Saint-Marcel
#1,121 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Devillas
Hotel Devillas
#690 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Hotel Acropole
#309 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Quartier Latin
Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Gobelins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Gobelins

Property: Grand Hotel des Gobelins
Address: 57 boulevard Saint Marcel, 75013 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #656 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,542 - ₹ 10,697
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel des Gobelins 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel des Gobelins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Paris
Hotel Des Gobelins
Le Grand Hotel Des Gobelins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing