We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for what it is”
Review of Hotel le Chat Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel le Chat Noir
Ranked #383 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok for what it is”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed in room 704 after paying to upgrade. The room was tiny compared to others we saw. The view of the eiffel tower was however amazing from the bathroom window and balcony. The room has a bath tub instead of the Italian showers in other rooms.

One problem was that you could not see this view from the bed wihtout breaking your neck. You can see it from the bathroom if you stand up in the bath which would make for a fantastic shower if only there was a shower screen/curtain and a proper overhead shower.

Our air-con did not work on arrival and when we asked about this we were told it must be. The next evening we got back and it was working but was way too cold so we tried to adjust it and it stopped working again.

The in-room safe was locked when we arrived. Despite two calls to reception who said they would unlock the safe with the master key this never happened. Eventually I went and obtained the master key myself the following morning.

Most channels on the TV do not work and only 2/3 are in English. This was not a problem however as we did not visit Paris to watch TV.

Breakfast is ok. Cold pancakes, croissants, pan au chocolat, ham, cheese and salami. There is are also boiled eggs which you cook yourself.

Location wise this is fantastic for Moulin Rouge which is why we booked it. It is however in the red light district and the area is rather noisy throughout so we were glad to be on the 7th floor.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stainless1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline P, Gérant at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, 7 May 2017
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sweet comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in our brand new renovated hotel.
Best regards,

The team a Hotel Le Chat Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    393
    120
    28
    24
See reviews for
114
510
42
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is an average 3 star hotel in Paris positioned in the heart of Montmartre in the red light district. This is not a problem as its a lively area with lots going on just a few yards from Moulin Rouge. The problem is that the hotel is very very warm and the air con isn't put on until August (probably for a couple of days) so you really need to open the window and as the sex club below is up and running with 'live shows' until 5 in the morning this means you won't get any sleep. After the first sleepless night when we spent ages trying to work the air con we told staff who said they'd get it repaired - when we asked if this had been done another receptionist told us it wasn't broken it was the manager who refused to switch it on - we complained (as did 2 other guests that we knew of) to no avail and asked for another room at the back of the hotel but were told it was full until the day we were due to leave. It was a real shame as we had planned our sightseeing trips and somehow it just isn't the same when you're 3 nights knackered!! BEWARE

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilingmarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHAT2011, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear guest,

We do apologize for the inconvenience due to air conditionned off.
The weather were awfull and cool the days before .This is the reason why we hadn't decided to stop the heat to active the air conditionned . 48 hours are needed for technical reasons between heat and cool air so that we could nt put the air condition on at once .And of course in this lively area if you open the window it is noisy... Sorry again ! This year the decision to stop the heating was difficult as we havent seen the spring yet
But it works and now it is on.... We hope that we keep your confidence and will have the pleasure to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The hotel is lovely, the design is fabulous, the room was immaculate and the beds the most comfortable hotel beds ever! Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and courteous. Our only complaint was the bad smell in the lift. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QusieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHAT2011, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Customer,
We are pleased that your stay at the hotel has helped to make your visit to Paris even better.
We find indeed a problem at the elevator but do everything possible to modify the inconvenience.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Me & a friend shared a room. While the room was very nice, there was no AC! It wasn't working & it was very warm.
Also, it was in a great location BUT too much noise!! (maybe a room in the back would have been better) They didn't even ask if we wanted to change rooms & didn't even offer a plug in fan.
The food in their restaurant attached was nice - crepe Susette was quite good.

A nice hotel but feel it could have been a lot better experience.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room facing the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyliciouz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHAT2011, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,

I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you .
The heat and the air conditionned used to work properly and perarps there was a problem then.

Thanks for your comment.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eenrum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This is the most difficult review I've 'had to' write so far, because this hotel has so many advantages that I feel slightly guilty to warn people about the noise and the heat. Also, even though my travel companions didn't sleep extremely well, they slept much better than I did, so it also depends on what kind of sleeper you are. So, just read the below and decide what are the most important criteria to you.

The hotel has a rich history - Google 'Chat Noir' and it'll put a smile on your face.

The location itself is pretty much perfect - subway station Blanche is in front of the hotel, the beautiful and quiet streets of Montmartre are only a few minutes away, there's a Franprix (supermarket) between the hotel and the subway station (with opening times accommodating early stocking up for a long day in Paris as well as an evening snack in your hotel room), the Moulin Rouge (for some quintessential touristy night shots) is very close, there's a Starbucks across the street and enough restaurants and bars to last a lifetime.

In the heart of Paris' sex district, it's not a hotel for families with small children and very religious people I'd say, but for most other people it'll be fun to watch all the hustle and bustle and smile at the not-so-distinguished shops and establishments. Even more so - the hotel is right next to a sex museum (well, the Musée d'Erotisme, as it's called) that is open until 2AM (!) and actually pretty entertaining. This location however has a big disadvantage: it's very, very noisy, even for Parisien standards, and it never stops. The insulation of the hotel is probably very good, but there's just no way to completely keep the noise out. Once again, my travel companions slept better than I did, but would've still preferred a different location. We slept on the 3rd floor, I assume the higher up, the less noisy.

The hotel keeps an eye on reviews on TripAdvisor, which I think is really good. That way, I found out that the system that cools is the same system that heats. Which means that during a hot day in a week of cool rainy days, the airco in the room won't work because the system is needed to heat other parts of the hotel. It's a good excuse and I don't blame them, but it's something to keep in mind. A partially sunny day of 21 degrees Celsius is already enough to make Paris feel hot and heavy, and the fact that opening the windows to cool down the room also means letting the noise in doesn't make it easier.

The hotel looks great. The rooms and other areas are well designed and as goodlooking as the website claims. The bigger rooms have an extra bed and a big FatBoy, which is rather lovely to come 'home' to in the evening. The italian shower (i.e. mounted on the ceiling) is great and this was actually the very first hotel bathroom I've come across where the rest of the floor stays dry when you are in the shower. The toiletries have the black cat design, very cute. The toilets are mounted on the wall and make a lot of noise when you sit on them - I heard that in the room next to us as well, so that might be the case in more than just these two rooms, but not a big deal. The bigger rooms have bathrobes and slippers. There's a blowdryer and even a file and cotton make-up remover pads. There are many sockets to charge your phones and cameras and there's free wifi (get a code at the desk) that works great.

The breakfast is great. There's enough for everyone, it's constantly restocked, there's different kinds of bread, eggs, mini crepes, meat, cheese, cucumber, tomato, tea, coffee, fruit juices, fruit salad, yoghurt, you name it - and of the course the lovely pain au chocolat that is a necessity when in Paris. ;-)

The staff is very friendly and helpful - from the receptionists to the breakfast staff. They are also efficient, the breakfast area was cleaned up constantly. I put a note on the door of my room (in French) to ask them to skip cleaning my room (I don't think cleaning a room if you only stay 3 nights is necessary, I don't change my sheets at home daily either, plus it's better for the environment) and unlike some other hotels, they actually did skip my room. As we travelled by Thalys, they didn't mind us leaving our luggage in the hotel until 3PM on the day of departure.

All in all, most things about this hotel are well above average for Paris.
Just keep in mind that if you are a light-to-average sleeper, the noise and heat might bother you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantalvanderEnde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline P, Gérant at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, 7 May 2017
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sweet comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in our brand new renovated hotel.
Best regards,

The team a Hotel Le Chat Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#56 of 1,802 in Paris
893 reviews
Montmartre
Montmartre Mon Amour
Montmartre Mon Amour
#334 of 1,802 in Paris
816 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Declic
Hotel Declic
#212 of 1,802 in Paris
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel Le Squara
Hotel Le Squara
#899 of 1,802 in Paris
259 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Basss by HappyCulture
Hotel Basss by HappyCulture
#440 of 1,802 in Paris
491 reviews
Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
#507 of 1,802 in Paris
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Chat Noir? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Chat Noir

Property: Hotel le Chat Noir
Address: 68 boulevard de Clichy, 75018 Paris, France (Formerly Le Chat Noir Design Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#244 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#314 Family Hotel in Paris
#415 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,879 - ₹ 17,325
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Chat Noir 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Chat Noir is located at the foot of the Montmartre district, just 165 ft from the Moulin Rouge, Paris 18th district . Le Chat Noir Design hotel is close to "Blanche"metro station , walking distance to the famous "Rue Lepic", "Place du Tertre" or le "Sacre Coeur" and the artist's square (12 min walk). With the same name as the famous Chat Noir Cabaret, our hotel has contemporary decor with red and black tones. Each floor of the hotel is dedicated to a famous writer or poet from the cabaret period. Ours guest rooms at the Le Chat Noir Design are decorated in an original style and are air-conditioned, TV Flat screen, italienne shower. Some of the rooms have a balcony or offer panoramic views of the Eiffel Tower. The hotel is serviced by an elevator and the front desk is open 24 hours a day. We welcome you in a quiet and cozy atmosphere in the heart of one of the liveliest districts of the capital, so you just "lovez" in our hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel le Chat Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais De Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing