We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped rooms but a lovely staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Exelmans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Exelmans
Ranked #1,587 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cramped rooms but a lovely staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Someone here mentioned that a woman travelling alone shouldn't even consider this hotel, but I think the hotel is ok if you just don't mind the rooms. The staff was very helpful and nice and they spoke all spoke proper English (which was important to me since I can't speak French). The lounge was nice and cozy, but when I got to the room... It really was like a prison. The room was tiny, the bathroon even smaller and there was mold and water damage in the walls above the shower and it smelled really bad. The bed was uncomfortable and the lack of a nightstand bothered me. The walls were paper thin and I could clearly hear what the German family staying at the room above me were talking about. The only nice things about the room were the tv (big and new, but of the about 35 channels one was in German and other, Eurosport in English. I'm not really into sports so I watched the German channel if I opened the tv at all) and the view. I quite liked the garden so it was nice to have a window on that wall and not facing the street.

I didn't eat any breakfast there because I thought ten euros a day for a croissant and tea was more than I was ready to pay. So I usually had breakfast just before noon because the subway ride was so long and I didn't want to be in the way of commuters (so I didn't leave the room at 8 or 9 in the morning) But really, if you want to be at the sights just after they open and before the ques, you really do have to get up early because no matter where you go, the subway takes at least 20 minutes. And if you plan to go to Disneyland, choose another hotel. This one's too far.

The services near the hotel: the subway stop isn't too far and there's a drug store and a small grocery store just along the road. If you don't care for French food, there's a Chinese restaurant, McDonald's and a Subway a small walk away (but you don't have anywhere to store the food in the hotel room, though)

The hotel was ok, but I'm not going to stay there again. The prison-like rooms and the location weren't for me.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    47
    73
    57
    86
See reviews for
32
91
34
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

The staff messed up our rooms, our room was not cleaned, so given another room for one night which was dirty, mould growing on the walls, bare wiring, tiny bathroom, noisy, holes in the floor, leaking toilet flooding the bedroom carpet,the list goes on. No kettle or cups

Im glad we were out all the time in beautiful paris, would not recommend this place at all :(

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seas0ned_traveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

I'm actually in the hotel as I write this. Most everyone is correct. The rooms are cramped, the building itself has notable wear and shows a need for renovation. But the beds are comfortable and the staff is quite friendly. This hotel is for you if you are really just going back to your room to sleep while you enjoy the city, which by the way is easily accessible by the metro station down the road.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scardabums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

The pictures belie the true nature of this hotel. The lobby is a typical 2 star hotel. But walk down the unlit corridor only to find another, and then another and you'll soon see why it's not a safe / comfortable night's stay for a woman travelling on her own. I've travelled throughout Europe and this is the only hotel where I have left to find another.
It might be ok for a couple or a bloke - but not for a woman travelling alone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank womantravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

The website suggested an elegant place....
Tiny rooms.
Tiny Beds although comfortable.
Entrance small, not very clean but staff helpfull and cheerful (unless you come back late in the evening....)
Noisy, noisy rooms

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikmaffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
Passy
Hotel Boileau
Hotel Boileau
#1,249 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Passy
Holiday Inn Paris Auteuil
Holiday Inn Paris Auteuil
#824 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Murat
#1,499 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Hotel de Paris
#15 of 24 in Boulogne-Billancourt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Residence Hotel Villa Escudier
#7 of 24 in Boulogne-Billancourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Exelmans? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exelmans

Property: Hotel Exelmans
Address: 73 rue Boileau | 16th Arr, 75016 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Passy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,587 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,112 - ₹ 7,838
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Exelmans 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Exelmans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exelmans Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing