We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,058)
Filter reviews
1,058 results
Traveller rating
521
364
93
41
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
364
93
41
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews notre dame latin quarter quiet street great location left bank premium room side street beautiful boutique hotel st michel bottle of champagne the hotel staff small hotel loved this hotel cafes and restaurants around the corner junior suite breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,058 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had reservations for 5 nights at this hotel from July 31st. On July 29th I called the hotel after reading a number of not great reviews on trip advisor regarding no air conditioning and construction noise, smells in the area. I was told that Yes the air conditioning was working and construction only started at 10 am. I was very clear in French , that this was not what I had read on trip advisor. When we arrived it was quickly apparent I had been lied to during my phone call as there was no air conditioning and yes there is construction noise of jack hammers, saws, concrete cutters, etc all day long . I

I was also appalled at the lack of professionalism by the management who allowed a workman into our room when we were not there , with us only knowing this , as this workman came out of our cupboard In our room as he had been checking the roof. No one had asked our permission to access our room ?..? This is insanity , then we noticed , in our oven room, that the 4 euros on the bed was gone, along with our fan, but the towels were still on the floor in the bathroom? Needless to say this hotel should not be receiving guests, as it is not a luxury hotel, it is at most a 2 Star. I did speak to mgmt and they moved us to another hotel, however , they should NEVER have checked us in to begin with . They need to spend money on proper air conditioning and get it fixed once and for all, and they should be advising guests about the construction that never stops.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 17Sassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cecile_costenoble, General Manager at Melia Paris Notre-Dame, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear 17Sassy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Meliá Paris Notre-Dame Hotel following your recent stay.

As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology regarding the noise issue and the inconvenience with the A/C. We have shared your feedback with the relevant hotel teams and please be assured that processes have been put in place to address the issues you have raised.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope hat you can give us an opportunity to improve your last say with us.

Best regards.
Cecile Costenoble
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

I am a travel agent and my family and I stayed at the Melia Notre Dame and lived a nightmare. There was no air condionting, we wanted to die!! And they did not even notice us upon our check in. The staff is very aloof. They dont care much if we died of heat in our rooms. The hotel is under construction, it smells really bad thrue the windows. They did not advise us of that either.
This hotel is not ready to receive people.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Me T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cecile_costenoble, General Manager at Melia Paris Notre-Dame, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Me T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Meliá Paris Notre-Dame Hotel following your recent stay.

As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology regarding the noise issue, the staff welcoming at the hotel when you arrived and the inconvenience with the A/C. We have shared your feedback with the relevant hotel teams and please be assured that processes have been put in place to address the issues you have raised. Should you choose to stay with us here at the hotel, please feel free to contact us directly before your arrival so that we can assure the best stay possible.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to the “City of Lights”.

Best regards.
Cecile Costenoble
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Excellent location and short walks to great breakfast, lunch, and dinner spots and also a great staff. They helped book our trip to Normandy and gave us very useful tips on the area. It was a short walk to hop on/off bus near Notre Dame and a long manageable walk to a few other key location. Before you book this hotel, if traveling before summer’s end, do call to make sure the A/C is working, it’s broken as of this morning. We were made aware of the issue when we checked in for a 5 nite stay and were made to feel as if the heat wave and broken A/C was tolerable for the locals and the hotel was working to fix the problem, so we gave it a try since we would be gone all day most days. The staff was very kind and provided fans but for all things good about the place it could not overcome the broken AC in the midst of the hottest days of heatwave, and more crucially staying one more nite and thankfully our last one, without A/C would have completely ruined my wife’s birthday. Management was very accommodating in letting us check out early, it was a bittersweet departure. Also, there is construction happening on the building across the small street, so if you sleep in, be forewarned. I would definitely stay again here again, assuming the AC is fixed and construction is complete as it seems like a very quiet area with a great staff despite its central location and would be worthy of 4/5 stars under better circumstances.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cecile_costenoble, General Manager at Melia Paris Notre-Dame, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear James P,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing a few words about your time at the Meliá Paris Notre-Dame Hotel.

We strive everyday to make your stay the most enjoyable: all of your observations will be very useful for us to improve our quality of service and our offer to our guests. Knowing that the staff was of great help for you is very much appreciated. Furthermore, we are sorry for the inconvenience with the A/C our technical department is taking care of that.

Hoping to see you again very soon,

Best regards.
Cecile Costenoble
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Broken Air Conditioning, terrible mattresses and pillows. Great location. Friendly staff. Very expensive breakfast, can't comment on the quality of it because we passed on the offer. Mentioned the air conditioning and was told

Room Tip: Hide your razor! The maid removed my blade. Very strange.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cecile_costenoble, General Manager at Melia Paris Notre-Dame, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear maxknots,

Thank you for letting us know you thoughts about our Meliá Paris Notre-Dame Hotel.

We truly sorry that the hotel was not of your liking, We take note of your observations: they are very meaningful for us since they help us improve the quality of our service and the offer we deliver. Our aim if for our guests to feel relaxed when you to stay with us, that you feel like you are at home when you are away from yours.

We would like to welcome you again for your next visit to the City of Light,

Best regards.


Cecile Costenoble
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

The location is the only feature on this hotel. There wasn't anything great about this hotel. The rooms were tiny and hot. Even at full blast, the AC did not cool the room up. We had breakfast only one day and it was totally not worth it.
The staff was nice and the location was great. However, this is not enough to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cecile_costenoble, General Manager at Melia Paris Notre-Dame, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear LucyD2010,

Thank you for taking some of your time to comment your recent stay at the Meliá Paris Notre-Dame Hotel.

We sincerely apologize if the experience did not meet your expectations. Nevertheless, we are pleased to read that you could enjoy the location of the hotel at its best; it is true that the hotel as an ideal situation, since it is very central and that most of the things you need (museums, shops, restaurants...) are easily accesible by walk.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you once again to change your impressions,

Best regards.


Cecile Costenoble
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews