We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice but no Sleep Number bed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madison Hotel by MH

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madison Hotel by MH
Ranked #124 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice but no Sleep Number bed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Clean, modern, reasonable size by Paris standards, nice staff, and good area if you prefer a somewhat quieter area (which we liked.). Plenty of nice cafes and within walking distance of many attractions.

The courtyard view is basically a view of outside walls, but quiet.

Overall a nice hotel, except the beds and pillows were not comfortable, especially since all sites such as Expedia and Hotels.com state that the hotel has Sleep Number beds by Select Comfort. I am not sure where this misinformation began, but personnel at the hotel have never even heard of a Sleep Number bed!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cgarrett101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear cgarrett 101,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you have enjoyed our very central yet quiet location on Saint-Germain-des Prés.

I was concerned, however, to learn that you were not fully satisfied with the comfort of our beds and pillows...
Thank you for letting me know about Sleep number beds. There was a terrible misunderstanding between us and Expedia because we do not have Sleep Number Beds.

Besides the issues mentioned above I hope that you will give us the opportunity and the pleasure to welcome you back to the Madison Hotel.

Best wishes,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    162
    27
    14
    4
See reviews for
113
291
38
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
westchester, new york
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Ok, clean hotel with a good location and a pleasant staff BUT my husband and I were expecting a romantic charming hotel and this it was not. Tiny room barely fit luggage, two twin beds pushed together, detached toilette, tiny bathroom, view of a wall and air conditioning unit, mediocre breakfast for 25 euros each! For the money they are charging there are so many other choices. Wouldn't stay again- we've travelled quite a bit and this is a 3 star hotel.Maybe there are much nicer rooms, we certainly didn't get one!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank larmar055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Larmar055,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on the Madison Hotel with us.

About the breakfast, it is the first time we receive this kind of complaint from our guests. The breakfast you mention is actually € 25, which includes a wide range of fresh and home made products : coffee, croissant and fresh orange juice, eggs, fine pastry, cereals, fresh fruit salads, etc...

Some of our rooms are indeed small, however we do communicate the exact size on our web site, so to be perfectly transparent.

Should you need further information, I remain at your disposal.

Your Sincerely,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Eye-wateringly expensive unless you're on company expenses (or get a better deal than I did: 300 euros per night!) That was excluding breakfast at another 25 euros per head. Sacre Bleu! We were escorted to our room, which was well furnished and very comfortable but be warned - quite a few rooms seemed to have a view from their window into a set of air-conditioning units. That was the view from our window. I nearly requested a change, but couldn't face the hassle. When I checked out, someone checking-in was back at the desk requesting a change, but was having no luck. Given the way the hotel is built, in fact, I'd guess the majority of the rooms do not face out onto a Parisienne Boulevard.
On the positive note, the rooms are of a pretty high standard with coffee making facilities, mini- bars (I didn't dare test my wallet on this), dressing gowns, slippers, air conditioning that is simple to work, multi-channeled flat screen satellite tv and aesthetic decor. Bathroom was small but adequate. The hotel itself was pretty tidy and modern and the staff were great, very helpful and friendly which, for Paris, is always a plus. Most spoke really good English too, and not grudgingly!
The location was the best thing in my opinion. It's right next to two Metro line stops, but you can walk to the Seine and Notre Dame cathedral in about ten minutes. Restaurants and cafes abound, and nearby shops attest to the fact that you are in an expensive area - it's all Ralph Lauren, Prada, Gucci and other fashion victim temples. It's easy to relax and unwind despite the fact that you're in the heart of the city. I'd probably return to this hotel if I could be sure of a room with a boulevard view. I suppose the cost is probably not outrageous given the standard, location and character of the hotel, but it would make me pause for thought.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room NOT facing inward over the air conditioning units.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank uryjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Uryjm,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your impressions on your recent stay at the Madison Hotel.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to appreciate the excellent and dynamic location of the hotel.
We are most happy about the fact that despite theview of your room, you state that you are longing to return, which is perhaps the best compliment we could hope for.

We look froward to welcoming you soon again,

Kind regards,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Went to Paris for a suprise 40th Birthday weekend. I had nothing to do with the hotel choice, and I could not have picked a better place. I love boutique hotels. The only issue we had was that 2 deluxe rooms were confirmed several times prior to arrival. Upon arrival we were informed that there was only 1 available. We were told a tour company had booked the hotel and that they were given the deluxe. The downgraded room was nice and adequate, just not as large as the deluxe bedroom or it's bathroom. The hotel staff was very accommodating. Spoke great english. Great with directions. The hotel is in a very very good location. I am very partial to the St.Germain area. It is my favorite part of Paris. The Rue de Buci is right across the street and great for shopping or a sidewalk cafe. The area between St Sulspice and the hotel is a great area too, lots of small shops and restaurants. You can walk to the Louvre and Notre Dame no problem! We were barely in our room, because we were out and about getting lost in Paris and drinking wine anywhere we felt the need to. But the hotel was a great place to come home to! The rooms were decorated beautifully the beds were super comfy the drapes darkened the room totally and the windows blocked out any outside noise! I can't say enough good things about Madison Hotel. I just love Paris and the Madison make it that more special.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear JeannieStu,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay which I gather is pretty favorable. As far as staff friendliness is concerned, I take on board your observations and will endeavor to improve this aspect of our service standards together with my colleagues.

I nevertheless hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again to the Madison Hotel, until then I remain,

Kind regards,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Absolutely amazing hotel...great location right by the metro station...not much else I can say other that how great it was. Staff were very kind and spoke excellent English. The room was gorgeous. I stayed with a friend for only one night and it was totally worth it! We didn't have to worry about a thing because the hotel took care of everything. Nothing was too much trouble!! Whenever a Paris trip comes up...I will definitely be returning to this hotel!!! Thoroughly recommended!!!

Room Tip: I don't think it matters what room you have because they are all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Kelly J,

It is truly a pleasure to see that the Madison Hotel has successfully achieved in bringing a positive contribution to your stay in Paris.

It is on behalf of all my colleagues here that I extend to you our sincere feeling of gratitude for having stayed with us and for relating your positive experience in such fine terms.

We all look forward to welcoming you soon again to Paris and the Madison Hotel,

Kind regards,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#101 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#68 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#82 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#130 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#99 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel by MH? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel by MH

Property: Madison Hotel by MH
Address: 143 Boulevard St Germain, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Paris
#87 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#127 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#218 Business Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,655 - ₹ 25,944
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel by MH 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel, in the Latin Quarter of Saint Germain-des-Prés, is a boutique hotel in a chic, contemporary style.This delightful hotel with its 50 rooms and suites is located on the Left Bank opposite the church of Saint-Germain-des-Prés and a mere stone's throw from the Seine, the Louvre and the Musée d’Orsay, and the Cathedral of Notre Dame de Paris.The hotel rubs shoulders on the Boulevard Saint Germain with the Café de Flore and the Café de 2 Magots, at the heart of a quarter famed for its cafés, art galleries, museums, antique dealers and designer fashion boutiques. The Madison Hotel is also firmly at the heart of literary Paris... Albert Camus spent some time at the hotel in the spring of 1940, and it was here that he completed his existentialist novel "L'Etranger" (The Outsider). Perhaps his spirit still hovers somewhere... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Madison Hotel by MH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madison Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing