We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Lutece

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de Lutece
Ranked #469 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

This is a charming hotel in a wonderful location. The staff is helpful and friendly. The room was small, but if you're organized, that shouldn't be an issue. And it was quiet and clean.

I had only one problem, and that was the bed, which I found horribly uncomfortable. Horribly. When I was younger, it probably wouldn't have been a problem, but I'm not; and as it was, I had a hard time sleeping and a sore back the whole next day.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kgs1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    125
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
50
151
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

For location in Paris, you cannot do better than being in the I'lle St-Louis, which is in the centre of Paris, connected by bridges to Left Bank, Left Bank (Marais), and I'lle de la Cite (home of Notre Dame & St-
Chapelle). A two-block one direction and you are in the Left Bank; two blocks another way and you are in the Marais. And, sitting right in the quaint, traffic-calmed main street of the island where all the shops and restaurants are, it just does not get better than this! And, despite the amazing location, the hotels here are not outrageously priced.

This one, like its neighbours (3 other hotels), are renovated small hotels. As such, you do need to be prepared (especially if you are North American like us) for the small lobby, small rooms, and ludicrously small elevator. (Don't expect to take your luggage with you up to your floor!) And like all European hotels, they will attempt to put you in the worst room in the place as soon as they realize you are a non-European (standard practice, since they assume you are unlikely to return). So, speaking from experience, avoid the rooms at the back (in the annex building), one of which we were initially assigned. Luckily, the front desk clerk, perhaps sensing that we weren't enthralled with the accommodation, one so small that you really couldn't find a place to stash your luggage and make it to the bathroom!, offered a few hours later to move us the next night to a larger room.

The second room was indeed larger, but being on the second floor, facing the street, you did have to put up with a significant amount of street noise. The best rooms are on the top floor (ie. away from the street noise, and with a bit of a view, and no danger of being deported to the dreaded annex which doesn't reach to the top floor.) I believe the slightly larger rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors - just make sure that you aren't on a street-facing room if possible.

Given that small rooms and some street noise may be the price you pay for this amazing location, I don't want to leave the reader with the idea that this was a serious complaint. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly. In particular, the breakfast server was a gem! Breakfast itself was very good - delivered to your table rather than the more typical buffet style. And coffee excellent.

We would without hesitation stay again at this property. In fact, we have: this was our second stay!

Room Tip: Avoid the "annex" or room at the back for 1st, 2nd, 3rd floors. Street-facing rooms are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davide32424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiasso, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

The location,the room, spacey renovated bathroom since we've been 3 girls traveling. Other reviews wrote too small elevator but for anyone who knows Paris,it is everywhere like this. We didn't book the breakfast,since at the corner is a very nice & typical French bistro St.Regis which we just loved,it was perfect for breakfast or lunch or just a quick coffee.On day of check-out we overslept,and did checkout an hour later which was no problem at all. RER metro station just 10 min away, closest metro station 2min Pont Marie.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

This charm hotel, in the heart of Paris, is extremely silent and quiet. The staff is very friendly and the rooms, despite a little small, are very clean and comfortable. It is a great value for money!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos_Barbosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We booked this hotel because of its location smack in the middle of the Ile St. Louis. It was a great experience.The hotel is on the main street of the island amid wonderful shops, boutiques and restaurants. It's a great base for walking tours of the city and reasonably close to the Metro. Our room on the top floor was small but charming. It had an open beam ceiling and great views of the neighboring rooftops and street below. Not much room for the suitcases but tons of closet space. The bathroom was quite large and comfortable with heated floors. I can't say enough about the staff - very friendly and super helpful. I was sick for a couple of days, and they brought me medicine and room service. The breakfasts are a bit expensive and way more food than I can eat in the morning, but the service could not have been better or more cheerful. I forget the name of the breakfast lady, but she was absolutely wonderful. At the end of our one-week stay, a car to the airport was arranged for us. We have recommended this hotel to our friends, and we would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We liked our top-level, street-facing room. It was not noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonia39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel des Deux Iles
Hotel des Deux Iles
#866 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
#491 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
#202 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#224 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#190 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris
Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris
#1,065 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Lutece? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Lutece

Property: Hotel de Lutece
Address: 65 rue Saint Louis en L Ile, 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#411 Family Hotel in Paris
#430 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,359 - ₹ 16,630
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Lutece 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de Lutece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lutece Hotel
De Lutece Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing