We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional and rude... ça c'est Paris!”

Hotel de Nevers Saint-Germain
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel de Nevers Saint-Germain
Ranked #1,684 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unprofessional and rude... ça c'est Paris!”
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Booked a room on the phone with the hotel 3 weeks in advance - with credit card number and all. Called in the afternoon of my arrival to warn that I would check in later in the evening. Was told that there was no booking under my name. When I mentioned the room number and rate from memory (which by the way was higher than advertised on their web site), was called a liar by the person on the phone before he hung up on me. By the way, I'm a native French speaker, so no "lost in translation" excuses apply here. Called back and finally managed to get the person to give me phone numbers for nearby hotels. Found out that both numbers were wrong. Called again, finally got accurate numbers.
When recounting the whole incident to Parisian friends at a party that evening, their answer was... What did you expect? Welcome to Paris!
I'm now waiting for the credit card statement, to see if they extend the joke to charging me for the no show... will keep you posted!

  • Disliked — The total absence of professionalism or courtesy from the staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
5 Thank MamyTromblon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    4
    11
    17
See reviews for
11
9
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2007

We came to know of this hotel after having stayed in the rue de Bac
/ Sevres-Babylon neighborhood several times over the past few years. It's definitely the best bargain for a 2-star in the neighborhood - though prices seem to have crept up recently vis-a-vis what's discussed in the guides.

Rooms are simple and not huge, but they are clean, and ours, at least, had wonderful windows overlooking rue de Bac and the neighborhood. The building itself is charming - interesting exposed stonework - but history & charm mean no elevator, and the many flights of stairs are steep even for a relatively fit young couple. A good way to work off dinner?

The big catch with the hotel is reservations, which are hit or miss. It's a small hotel without e-mail, Web site, etc. and so you are dependent on the integrity of the person on the other end of an international phone line. That integrity was somewhat lacking in our case - when we arrived, we were told that while they had not honored our reservation for the first night, there was "no problem" as someone else was bound not to show up and we could have their room instead. That seemed like a bit of a problem to us, so we ended up at another hotel for our first night of the trip. One thing we found was that the night staff are generally friendlier / more helpful than the daytime folks, so it might benefit you to call during the evening hours.

  • Liked — Location; value
  • Disliked — Dicey reservations
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RJ_LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2007

I love the Left Bank of Paris and rue du Bac was an ideal little street to base myself. I had room #10 which was small but just fine for one person and I enjoyed my little private Parisian terrace with street view. However, I would never stay there or at least in that room if I was with another person or in the middle of summer without AC.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank kittykarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2006

Rue Du Bac is excellent and the hotel is a good find in that location. Our room was very small indeed, but fine for a weekend stay. It was immaculate clean and the bathroom was big. It lacked a little charm, or at least our room did in comparison to the other ones I saw, but for the price at around 90 euros, I would definetely go back if looking for a cheap and clean place in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CopenhagenFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 July 2003

My husband, son and I have stayed at this wonderfully charming hotel on several different occasions. It was perfect for us. We had the good fortune of dinning at some of the wonderful restaurants which surround this hotel.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Duc de Saint Simon
Hotel Duc de Saint Simon
#585 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Bac Saint-Germain
Hotel Bac Saint-Germain
#870 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#209 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Stanislas
Hotel Stanislas
#1,622 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Palais Bourbon
Hotel du Palais Bourbon
#1,228 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
K+K Hotel Cayre
K+K Hotel Cayre
#252 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Nevers Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Nevers Saint-Germain

Property: Hotel de Nevers Saint-Germain
Address: 83 rue du Bac, 75007 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,684 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,419 - ₹ 5,853
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Nevers Saint-Germain 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Hotel De Nevers Saint Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing