We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel du Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Lys
Ranked #1,384 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in the Latin Quarter of Paris. It is an old building but perfectly equipped yet the lift and passageways are very narrow.
The room was large enough and nice to be able to open the windows for air. The bathroom was not large but clean and very useable.
They serve breakfast individually and it was adequate with a croissant and bread with jam and coffee.
There is a parking area further up the road but it's around 35 euros for 24 hours.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Colette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Location is great, beds are nice and comfy which was nice as the room was freezing cold. The hotel & rooms are worn down. Breakfast french - croissant and bread with butter and marmalade, we bought our own yoghurt and cheese. We stayed there 5 days and during our time the staff was very indifferent and unwilling to help or be a little friendly. We where "upgraded" to a bigger room, but when we where about to check out we where informed that was not the case and we where forced to pay the extra amount for the upgrade - which they themselves suggested in the first place.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank CorHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Good location and some charm but the hotel is in desperate need of renovation.
Very arrogant staff and poor cleaning. Put your money some where else.
The rooms are very different in standard and
you have to be lucky if you get a decent one.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank LottaDeVisscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESteffen, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017
Google Translation

L 'hôtel du Lys est ainsi : beaucoup de gens l'adorent certains le détestent.
Cette très vielle maison est plein de charme. Nombreux y sont sensible d'autres pas.
D'où parfois des commentaires très contrastés mais toujours légitimes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

My adult family and I have been staying at this hotel regularly over the last 20 years. It is family run and the standards, while not in any sense of luxury class, has been rising steadily over these years. For instance last year, an elevator was installed - something that makes the hotel even more appealing. Previously, the walk to the 5th floor, when your room was located there, was a challenge, particularly to older guests. While being just off the corner of the Blvd St Germain and Blvd St Michel it is extremely quiet, which is surprising because these two streets are some of the busiest in Paris.
If you aim to stay in Paris in a quaint, spotlessly clean, family hotel, and where all the staff are helpful and friendly and in one of the best locations, you can do no better than the Hotel du Lys

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mag647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were flying to Bangkok and ended up with a 36 hour layover in Paris. We had just been in April so opted to stay somewhere cheap for the night knowing we wanted to enjoy the city more than the room. The room is what you pay for. It's the same size as most hotel rooms you'll find in Europe. The bathroom is definitely dated but again served its purpose. The major downfall we found rather quickly was there was only one outlet in the entire room. The staff was kind and the check in and check out process was very easy.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elyssa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Eugenie
Hotel Eugenie
#1,105 of 1,803 in Paris
301 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Le Petit Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#175 of 1,803 in Paris
1,138 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#211 of 1,803 in Paris
496 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clement
Hotel Le Clement
#664 of 1,803 in Paris
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lys? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lys

Address: 23 rue Serpente, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,384 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: ₹ 6,993 - ₹ 13,606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a 17th century old mansion situated in a very quiet street, Hotel du Lys is one of the best offers in Paris for its location, services and reasonable prices. It is located on the left bank, in a stone’s throw from the Seine river, and in walking distance of Notre-Dame, the Louvre, the Sorbonne, the Luxembourg 's garden, Saint Germain des Prés, Beaubourg, Saint Louis island, Invalides, Sainte Chapelle and the Musee d’Orsay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lys Hotel
Du Lys Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing