We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
62
103
64
22
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
103
64
22
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baguette latin quarter notre dame croissants authentic parisian experience wood beams butter and jam winding stairs quiet street a ground floor room germain area rooms are small family hotel every morning french breakfast the holiday inn saint michel
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Location is great, beds are nice and comfy which was nice as the room was freezing cold. The hotel & rooms are worn down. Breakfast french - croissant and bread with butter and marmalade, we bought our own yoghurt and cheese. We stayed there 5 days and during our time the staff was very indifferent and unwilling to help or be a little friendly. We where "upgraded" to a bigger room, but when we where about to check out we where informed that was not the case and we where forced to pay the extra amount for the upgrade - which they themselves suggested in the first place.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank CorHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESteffen, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017
Google Translation

Vous avez été surclassée car vous avez demandé à prolonger votre séjour ( vous deviez donc vous sentir très bien chez nous).
Nous n'avions de disponible qu'une chambre plus chère et nous vous en avons informé du prix que vous avez accepté.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Good location and some charm but the hotel is in desperate need of renovation.
Very arrogant staff and poor cleaning. Put your money some where else.
The rooms are very different in standard and
you have to be lucky if you get a decent one.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank LottaDeVisscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESteffen, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017
Google Translation

L 'hôtel du Lys est ainsi : beaucoup de gens l'adorent certains le détestent.
Cette très vielle maison est plein de charme. Nombreux y sont sensible d'autres pas.
D'où parfois des commentaires très contrastés mais toujours légitimes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

My adult family and I have been staying at this hotel regularly over the last 20 years. It is family run and the standards, while not in any sense of luxury class, has been rising steadily over these years. For instance last year, an elevator was installed - something that makes the hotel even more appealing. Previously, the walk to the 5th floor, when your room was located there, was a challenge, particularly to older guests. While being just off the corner of the Blvd St Germain and Blvd St Michel it is extremely quiet, which is surprising because these two streets are some of the busiest in Paris.
If you aim to stay in Paris in a quaint, spotlessly clean, family hotel, and where all the staff are helpful and friendly and in one of the best locations, you can do no better than the Hotel du Lys

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mag647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were flying to Bangkok and ended up with a 36 hour layover in Paris. We had just been in April so opted to stay somewhere cheap for the night knowing we wanted to enjoy the city more than the room. The room is what you pay for. It's the same size as most hotel rooms you'll find in Europe. The bathroom is definitely dated but again served its purpose. The major downfall we found rather quickly was there was only one outlet in the entire room. The staff was kind and the check in and check out process was very easy.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank elyssam32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

The hotel itself is located on an obscure, quiet street that is tucked in between bustling squares and other streets crowded with a huge variety of restaurant options. The wifi worked great, there was a breakfast/lounge room in the lobby, and there was an elevator, although it was maybe only 1 ft x 3 ft; however, the narrow, winding stairs were so adorably antiquated that we preferred them anyways. Breakfast every morning was simple, authentic, and delicious: a croissant, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, and a baguette with butter and jam, all served on a little tray. Our room was modest and quaint, but we were hardly ever there so it was perfect; we had three people and even though it wasn't very roomy, there was a double and single bed and an armoire. The only complaint we had was that there was only a bathtub with a hand-held shower head and no curtain so showering was a bit of a challenge.

Room tip: I believe that rooms that accommodate more than two people aren't as spacious; other rooms may have been much grander than ours.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews