We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Fabulous”
Review of Hotel du Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Lys
Ranked #1,387 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 24 July 2008

For me, this hotel was perfection. Its top selling point is its location - just around the corner from the Metro, and you can walk to all the major sights - Notre Dame, the Louvre, Musee d'Orsay, Centre Pompidou, shopping on Boulevard St Germain, antique shops on the Rue Jacob, St Sulpice, etc., etc. I have to admit that the Arc de Triomphe was too far away - though not for my walking-mad travel partner - and I insisted on taking the metro... There are plenty of restaurants close by, and I grew oddly fond of the breakfast they offered (every day the same - one croissant, one piece of baguette, one miniature jar of jam, one butter pat, and as much coffee as you want, included in room rate). The hotel is in an old home on a tiny, quiet, charming street. As others have noted, the stairs are steep and narrow, but our room happened to be directly off the lobby (it was sort of weird to hear people eating breakfast outside the room - I'd recommend earplugs for this room), and was wonderfully situated to pop in to grab a jacket or take a break in between sights. (There are two rooms right off the lobby.) The room was smallish and rather dark, as the window opened only onto the tiniest of courtyards. The plus side of that was that we could - and often did - sleep quite late, because the light was pretty much the same any time of day. The bathroom was spacious and I have GOT to find out where I can purchase one of those wonderful towel warmers. Heat was a radiator that worked well. Flooring was jute or something like that with a pleasant texture underfoot. Front desk staff were helpful and courteous. I would definitely stay there again if given the chance!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PandaPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2008

This hotel has no lift (elevator) and the stairs are winding and cranky. They only have one staff on duty at any time, so they cannot or will not offer to carry your baggage up for you. With four floors to navigate, you definitely cannot stay here if you are disabled, sight-impaired, of large physique or you suffer from vertigo. Look elsewhere in Trip Advisor for your hotel.
Still reading? Then you need to know that the place is dingy, dirty and dusty, and in need of major refurbishment (May 2008). For example, there are old stains from hair oil on the wall at the head of the bed (room 17), the bed cover is frayed and marked and every surface is dusty and stained. The bathroom is mouldy.
Although the room itself was not small by Paris standards, I could not towel myself dry after a shower in the minuscule bathroom. Once again, if you are of large physique, I don’t see how you can use this bathroom at all.
The manageress is Parisienne and is very knowledgeable about tourist things. The other staff are not native French speakers and will tell you any old thing rather than admit they don’t know. Beware – you might end up on the wrong side of Paris if you listen to them.
The bathroom and the bedding were clean. It cost 120 Euros per night including breakfast for two which means it was about 80 Euros per night for the room (May 2008). That’s about right for the area but because of the state of the place I did feel ripped off.
And yet I enjoyed staying here... I really don’t know why. Character yes, charm, no.
The location is great. Being down a side street it avoids much of the noise of the Bde St Michel but is in the heart of the city for eating out, touring etc.
Bde St Michel Metro is 2 minutes walk away and on a direct line from Gare du Nord and Aeroport Ch de Gaulle (Take the RER line B, not the Metro).
In conclusion I would say if you’re visiting Paris as a tourist, try to find a hotel in this location for its ease of getting around. Use this hotel if you can’t find anything else nearby. It’s OK but nothing special; just a place to lay your head at night.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaxCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was the first door half-way up the first flight of stairs - sort of felt like we were being led into a storage closet, but once inside it was such fun, with low ceilings and exposed beams in contrast to the huge, flowery paper on the walls. The bathroom was new, so full sized tub, which was great. We didn't have any problems with cleanliness and loved the easy access to the city, quiet street and daily french breakfast brought to our room.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StillWithWanderLust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

Stayed in Room 22 after reading an earlier Trip Advisor review that recommended that room and a Lonely Planet recommendation. Both wife and I happy we stayed there. Basic, clean accommodations overall in a great location, with the following considerations (some of which may apply only to Room 22):

- Great, central location.
- Clean, bright, modern bathroom.
- Pretty, blue wallpaper.
- On the 4th floor, so lots of stairs and no elevator.
- Small balcony, which would be great in a warmer season (we stayed there in a cold, wet November).
- Just a small room safe and a tiny TV with poor reception; not much else in terms of amenities.
- Staff was not rude, but neither were they especially cheery (most importantly, they let us keep our luggage in the lobby after we checked out, which was the only special request that we made).

If, like us, you're looking for a clean place to stay in a great location and don't need all the bells and whistles of a fancy room, consider this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank speed3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2007

I stayed with my sister at the Hotel dy Lys in early August and found it to be exactly what we were looking for- simple, helpful staff, modestly priced, clean, and in a great location. I was a little anxious looking for a 1-2 star room in the 1-6 Arr., and I did get myself even more anxious after reading so many conflicting reviews of different places online. We were generally aiming for a modestly priced room with the some essentials (phone, private bathroom, double bed) , which in Paris seemed to be in the 80-130 euro range, preferrably in a very uniquely parisienne hotel (no chains). We looked up Hotel de Nesle, but were a little put off by the conflicting reviews, even though the rooms were absolutely gorgeous, and more importantly we felt we could get a better deal (amenities-wise) for 120 euros (at least that should get us a private bathroom and a phone), so we settled for Hotel du Lys, and I am very glad we did. It's in a great, albeit very touristy location (we wanted to be near Notre Dame), in a small side street with very little traffic at night, right smack in the center of the Quartier Latin. The area is littered with touristy cafes and restaurants with over-priced menus and greasy food, so we went into the smaller inner streets for better fare for dinner. But at least we didn't have to go out for breakfast as it was already included- a beautifully crispy croissant (always fresh thankfully), coffee, butter/jam on gorgeous antique china. The breakfast area is actually in the lobby downstairs- space is tight so get down there early (or order it up to your room, but you'll miss out on chit-chatting with the staff).
The staff were friendly, polite and obliging. They locked up our luggage for us when we arrived, while they got our room cleaned up. But be careful- they tried to give us a small, dark room under the stairs but then offered one of the more expensive rooms upstairs at a 'discounted' price of 115 euros, which of course we accepted. We later found out that smaller room was used by the staff during the night shift! We later saw them pull the same stunt on another couple as well. But we were happy with our room, the bathroom had a stand up shower, it was all very clean- the beds were made every morning after we left, and there was a small safety deposit box in the closet. The TV had 4 french channels, but we never turned it on- in fact we didn't spend much time in our room during the day anyway. We didn't mind the 4 flight climb to the room either, except when we had to haul our luggage. All in all we were both very happy with this place, we didn't have any complaints, definitely recommended. Should mention that there's a pharmacy and a dry cleaner nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank merriamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Eugenie
Hotel Eugenie
#1,106 of 1,804 in Paris
301 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Le Petit Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#173 of 1,804 in Paris
1,138 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#216 of 1,804 in Paris
496 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clement
Hotel Le Clement
#674 of 1,804 in Paris
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lys? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lys

Address: 23 rue Serpente, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,387 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: ₹ 6,979 - ₹ 13,427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a 17th century old mansion situated in a very quiet street, Hotel du Lys is one of the best offers in Paris for its location, services and reasonable prices. It is located on the left bank, in a stone’s throw from the Seine river, and in walking distance of Notre-Dame, the Louvre, the Sorbonne, the Luxembourg 's garden, Saint Germain des Prés, Beaubourg, Saint Louis island, Invalides, Sainte Chapelle and the Musee d’Orsay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lys Hotel
Du Lys Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing