We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location - Must Stay”
Review of Hotel Daunou Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Daunou Opera
Ranked #462 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Location - Must Stay”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

First Trip to Paris. Stayed in October 2011 - 3 nights for 3 people.

Price- Good, Didnt try the breakfast so couldnt rate if its worth paying for it.
Rooms- Very Comfortable Bed , Has separate toilet & bath which makes things easier in the morning for 3 people in a room, Was abit tight/small but it might be because of our extra bed. The corridor has this weird/funky smell though.
Location- Great/Awesome
Staff- Friendly and Polite, Can speak English and gives good direction and recommendation when needed.

I think this is one of the best location thus far. Its situated at this alley between 2 big main streets. One that houses all the designer shops from tiffany&Co to Cartier to Dunhill etc and guess what its just few steps away from all those big 5stars hotel situated along the designers streets.

On the other street is the main street where one corner is the Grand Opera and towards the other end is all the shopping area where it houses Gucci, Prada etc (abit of a walk to reach though). But what i love most is the "le tour Bus" busstop which is just 2mins walk from our hotel situated on this main street. This hop on n hop off bus just brings you to everywhere you want and is so convenient with every 15mins theres a bus and only cost you say 30euros each if i dont remember wrongly.

You will have ample reasonable price food. There this Japanese restaurant on the left that opens till 12am and the food is actually very authentic and the price is reasonable. There a Italian restaurant on the right, pizza's was good. There a Harry's Bar which apparently has been there for 50years or so and a few pubs which is quite lively at night so there no worries about dark,cold, dodgy streets coz there always people around. One cheap and fast food there's also a Kebab shop next to Harry's Bar,

Would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is looking for an affordable room, comfy bed to rest after a long day, dont really care much about the interior design and most of all looking for a great location to enjoy Paris.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheriYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    235
    76
    13
    15
See reviews for
146
127
42
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

the hotel has no much going for it but it could be so much better. Location is fabulous - a 100 yards from opera metro stop; designer shopping on your door, a selection of bars & restuarants down the street. Staff are very friendly and charming.

Hotel room (double for single use) was a good size, especially for Paris. Double was effectively the continental style of two singles pushed together. Room was spotlessly clean and kept that way. Room suffered from a lot of street noise; but it was first floor and this is a city centre hotel.

Bathroom was small and the bath itself was too short and too shallow - shower was a hand held which really you should anymore find in a hotel of the calibre. Lose the bath and put in a proper shower!! Breakfast was included in the roomrate and was a good mix of Frencah pastrys and typical continental cold meats. But horrible coffee served from a machine .. yeuch! Nice designer chairs; looked good but not really comfortable to sit on.

So all in all a mixed bag - sort the shower out and I'll be back...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishman_abr0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2012

compared to other Paris central hotels, one of the best in this price category

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juli2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Chose this based on location when it's close to both buses to/from airport, close to a lot of the sights and I close to the metro I needed to go with daily. Tiny reception with friendly (being french) staff and the normal dark corridors with small but nice rooms. The corridor smelled and got me a bit worried about the room but no problem at all. Cramped but clean and I would use the same hotel again.
Note! The breakfast was 15 Euros and definitely NOT worth it. It was supposed to be included when I booked but did not state so on the confirmation (booked through company agency).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blajjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Have not been to Paris in 25 years and was worried with my reservation. Booked 3 nights at Hotel Daunou and I was pleasantly surprised! Small Bed and Breakfast but brand new and just perfect for a short stay. The entry is very small, no Lobby, etc. The Staff is SUPER friendly and helpful. The Breakfast (extra charge) was just right to get you started! The self service Coffee Maker is the Best. Cappuccino, Latte, Espresso anything you like.
The rooms are modern, clean and my room (top floor) had a view overlooking the Paris roof line. The Location is just perfect - close to the Opera and all in walking distance.
I was VERY happy with my stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Choiseul Opera
Hotel Choiseul Opera
#840 of 1,801 in Paris
238 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Etats-Unis Opera
Hotel Etats-Unis Opera
#611 of 1,801 in Paris
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel L'Horset Opera, BW Premier Collection
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
Volney Opera Hotel
Volney Opera Hotel
#561 of 1,801 in Paris
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daunou Opera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daunou Opera

Property: Hotel Daunou Opera
Address: 6 Rue Daunou, 75002 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#532 Family Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,223 - ₹ 19,428
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Daunou Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daunou Opera enjoys a prestigious location in the heart of the right bank of Paris. It offers every imaginable comfort in a quiet and sophisticated setting. The hotel is superbly located between the Opera and Place Vendome, a few minutes from the Louvre, the Grevin Museum, the magnificent Tuileries Gardens, major department stores (Galeries Lafayette, Printemps Haussmann) and Gare Saint Lazare. It is convenient to the Olympia music hall and theatres such as Theatre De La Michodière, Théâtre de Paris, Théâtre de la Pépinière, Théâtre Edouard VII, Théâtre Daunou, Théâtre des Variétés and Théâtre du Gymnase. The Hotel Daunou Opera offers you Paris in all its splendour : Garnier Opera: 200m The Louvre: 800m Place Vendome: 300m Department stores (Lafayette & Printemps): 400m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Daunou Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daunou Opera Hotel
Daunou Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing