We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tricky review to write!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris
Ranked #293 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester / Hampshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A tricky review to write!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have stayed in apartments in UK, USA and France several times. This was a tricky one purely because it was SOOO expensive that I guess we were expecting more. The trouble is that we dont have any prior knowledge of apartment or recent hotel prices in Paris.

We booked the apartment for a family trip and we were fortunate to pay with 'points' from an award I received at work. We booked an apartment for 2 adults and 2 children. When we arrived, they offered us, at no additional cost, 2 separate studio apartments instead, which we accepted. They also allowed us to book in early which was great as we had been travelling since 3 in the morning!

The apartments were small, but clean and very useable. What they didnt have, which we were expecting, is an area where you could eat (though they had basic kitchen facilities) so we ate out every meal apart from breakfast. Neither did they have any sort of lounge area. It was really like a hotel room with a kitchenette.

When I saw the cost of the apartments I was stunned, at €350 per apartment per night, so €700 for the pair of apartments. We pay around £200/250 per night for significantly larger apartments in London (which sleep 4 people). Those apartments also have a lounge area and dining area, menaing you can control your costs by eating in rather than going out for lunch and dinner for every meal.

Clearly, if reading this you'll be comparing to other apartments and hotels so you can make a valid judgement.

The apartments were superbly located and pretty quiet for central Paris (quiter than most hotels I have stayed in). The staff were superb, and there was free tea/coffee/water etc in reception area, which was a godsend as coffee in the local cafes left you very little change from €10 for 2 coffees.

So overall it was a positive experience, though I'd struggle to 'highly recommend'.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stuartAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    685
    130
    34
    31
See reviews for
704
611
54
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed at the Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres over New Year's 2012. It is a superbe location, right on the Seine, just down from Notre Dame on way and the Loivre and the Musee d'Orsay in the other direction. It is located in the Latin Quarter with hundreds of quaint shops, restaurants and museums within walking distance. The hotel is modern, spotlessly clean and the staff are very helpful. Our suite had a kitchenette, was spacious by Paris standards. The only drawback was that the windows are not soundproof and we found that we were woken up sometimes by the garbage being collected in the street at 5 am. We will definitely stay there on our next visit to Paris. We were also surprised at how pleasant Paris is in the winter time. It was not cold, just a little rainy, but very comfortable for walking around outside.

Room Tip: A room opening onto the street is great because it opens onto a quintessential Paris streetscene. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Almontonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My family and I stayed here in March 2012 on our first trip to Paris. The location is a plus. Opposite is River Seine. The 2 major art attractions - Museum D'Orsay and the Louvre - are within walking distance (15 to 20 minutes). The Metro is nearby as well. There are lots of eateries around here - just go and explore the areas around the Metro and the small lanes there.

The hotel itself is well-kept and well-maintained. We had a 1-bedroom apartment that opens into the court yard. There is a TV in the living room as well as the bed room. The sofa bed opens into 2 single beds and is comfortable enough. Free wifi in the room (get ID and password from reception).

Buffet breakfast is served on the ground floor near the reception. The hot drinks machine dispense free hot drinks 24 hours e.g. coffee, hot chocolate. There are also a couple of vending machines dispensing snacks and other drinks (payable with coins).

The reception is helpful and courteous. Housekeeping is good although I am not sure why they did not wash our plates left in the basin.

Overall, I would recommend this place. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack_CCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Great location. clean. Very nice and helpful front desk. Free WiFi in rooms is a blessing for google maps etc. Buying your own food saves a bundle- there's a Monoprix a couple of minutes away with great deli food (rabbit, beef tongue, escargot,-also chicken etc) and cheap groceries and wine. Lots of room. Having the 1 bedroom gives you a chance to spread out and get away from kids. Small dishwasher in kitchenette. Free coffee/espresso/chocolate etc in lobby.Tons of eateries around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trvlbug45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Spent 7 nights in a studio apartment. Simply ideal for exploring Paris on foot. Notre dame, Lourve, musee de orsay, opera, and much more all within walking distance. St germain itself is simply charrming. It depend on your tastes but i preferred St germain to the Opera area. Very cool and funky without being prententious. Has a great vibe with all the winding streets and cafes and charming shops. Not loads of tour buses ect. For booklovers..shakesphere & co bookstore is just up the road and just delightful.

The apartments are very well designed and equipped with comfortable space and windows that open (great as i found the heating can get quite stuffy in paris). Very comfortable bed and pillows that were like clouds. Having Kitchenette really great for bringing home some of those french delights. There is a supermarket a very short 5 minutes walk away which has everything you would need as well as many independent food shops selling many treats, sweet and savoury.

The hotel offers breakfast at 15 euros (continental). However with the many cafes and supermarket you may want to consider your options.

Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Special mention. There is a spa around the corner on Rue Daulphine called 'Ban Thai spa'.
Simply magical massage treatments. I visited twice. It is at the higher end $ wise but well worth it and needed after all the walking you will do in sensational paris.

Room Tip: I stayed in an apartment towards the side/back of building and was ' very' quiet. Anything t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsygirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Citadines Les Halles Paris
Citadines Les Halles Paris
#444 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Citadines Bastille Marais Paris
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#167 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citadines Tour Eiffel Paris
#315 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#145 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#34 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris

Property: Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris
Address: 53, ter Quai des Grands Augustins, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#168 Family Hotel in Paris
#181 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#247 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#416 Business Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,965 - ₹ 21,082
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Seine, Apart'hotel Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Prés Paris is set in the heart of the Latin Quarter. Soak up the truly exceptional atmosphere of the famous Boulevards Saint-Michel and Saint-Germain, its narrow streets and its art galleries. You'll have front-row seats to a historical performance. In addition to numerous bus routes, you can count on Metro lines 4 and 7 as well as RER lines B (direct to Charles de Gaulle Airport) and C to get you where you need to go. Our reception is open 24/7. Since parking in this district can prove something of a challenge, a private car park (charges apply) is available. Because we are committed to guaranteeing you an exceptional stay, enjoy our many lounge areas, where coffee and tea are available, as well as our fitness room. Your Apart Hotel offers you an uninterrupted view of the banks of the Seine and its bookshops that will plunge you into a typically Parisian atmosphere. The Pont-Neuf, the oldest bridge in Paris, is directly opposite your door. Cross it to reach the Ile de la Cité and Notre-Dame. You can then head off to drink a hot chocolate at the Café de Flore, one of the iconic institutions of Saint-Germain-des-Prés. In the afternoon, why not go to sample one of the famed ice-creams at Berthillon, on the Ile Saint-Louis? But perhaps you would prefer to go shopping along Rue de Buci, visit the Louvre or stroll along the paths of the Luxembourg gardens. For your evening, don't forget to book a theatre seat at the Théâtre de la Ville, the Théâtre de l'Odéon or the Théâtre du Châtelet. Whether you are in Paris on business or for your holidays, our serviced apartments hotel offers you modern accommodation that is suited to your needs. From our studios for one or two people to our two-room apartments for three or four, all offer a fully equipped kitchen, cable television, air conditioning and complementary WiFi. Personalise your stay with a whole range of à la carte services: daily housekeeping, laundry and dry cleaning, buffet breakfast and flexible modular meeting rooms with views of the Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige Saint-Germain-Des-Pres Hotel Paris
Citadines Paris
Citadines St Germain Des Pres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing