We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
79
100
39
39
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
100
39
39
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rue montorgueil etienne marcel rooms are small an extra bed boutique hotel typical for paris paris attractions marais district metro station gare du cafes street seine bonjour neighborhood charles
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel was well situated the front office employees were nice to us especially the manager who helped us to get to the place that we were looking for and a cab with a very good price .
Clean rooms yet a bit small but we really enjoyed our stay the breakfast was good also

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sunshine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DANIEL L, Responsable relations clients at Victoires Opera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Sunshine,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review: we are thrilled to read about your delight in your most recent stay. Thank you for your kind compliments superior service and Helpful staff, we are so very proud of. Thank you for allowing us to serve you; we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards. Daniel/ Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We recently visited this hotel in early October this year. The location is ideal with many wonderful restaurants and shopping so close by. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful with any questions that we had. We plan to stay here on our next visit to Paris!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandramirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DANIEL L, Responsable relations publiques at Victoires Opera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Sandra,

This is really great to read this kind of feedback after visiting our hotel, I will let all the team know about your satisfaction, it's our best reward.

I agree with you about the location of the hotel, it s super central, full of restaurants and shops and only 15min from the Louvre Museum.

We hope to welcome you again very soon. Best regards. Daniel/ Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

In history books, the 15th century domestic disputes between Armagnacs and Bourguignons are somewhat unjustly overshadowed by the series of struggles of that period between France and England, the Hundred Year’s War. However, in the area where Rue Montorgueil and Rue Etienne Marcel meet, the most elegant part of the Quartier des Halles, between the 1st and 2nd Arrondissement, you can still catch a glimpse of this bitter conflict which opposed the party of the king’s younger brother Louis d’Orléans and the supporters of his cousin, John the Fearless, the Duke of Burgundy. The cousins represented two branches of the royal Capetian dynasty who tried to increase their influence over the kingdom of France during the intervals of mental illness which the mad king Charles VI (1380-1422) suffered from in his apathic reign of forty-plus years.
At Rue Etienne Marcel, no. 20, in the courtyard of an elementary school, the impressive Tour de Jean sans Peur, crowned with machicolations, is the last remaining vestige of the principal residence of the Dukes of Burgundy in Paris, the Hôtel de Bourgogne. The Hôtel served as a hangout for John the Fearless when entering Paris and taking control of power in 1408, after having assumed full responsibility and having publicly admitted his orders for the brutal assassination of Louis d’Orléans. On November 24, 1407, Louis had been ambushed and stabbed to death by fifteen masked criminals, after returning from a visit of Queen Isabeau of Bavaria at the Hôtel-Barbette in the Rue Vieille-du-Temple. A plaque at the entrance of the Impasse des Arbalétriers in the historic Marais -district commemorates this assassination. From then on, the dormant conflict between Armagnacs and Bourguignons would soon turn into a full scale civil war.
Today, just a few meters away from the bars and markets in the lively Rue Montorgueil, and from several late-gothic mastperpieces in the neighbourhood such as the church of St. Eustache, the Tour de Jean sans Peur proudly watches over Haussmann’s avenues and squares as a wise and silent eyewitness of long-forgotten Burgundian power in the French capital.
A great place to stay especially for latecomers arriving from Belgium by train at the Gare du Nord, stepping out of Metro Line No. 4 at Etienne Marcel, or for travellers from the United States arriving at Charles de Gaulle Roissy Airport and taking RER Line B to Châtelet-Les Halles, but beware of the extra rollaway beds if you sleep with more than 2 persons in the rooms: having no boxspring, they will easily break.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Piet_van_Weerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I stayed in this very special and well located hotel with my family for a week.Right from the start of our stay we were so impressed with the personnel service from all staff,particularly in the reception area, Wali was amazing,He had a very big smile and he was very helpful with his knowledge of Paris.
Our room was great, super clean and tidy and was the same with our bathroom,it had everything that we needed.
We would definitely go back and stay there again. Well done guys.

Room Tip: The street side is bit noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GoodL46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DANIEL L, Responsable relations clients at Victoires Opera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you very much Good L for your lovely comment. We are happy and proud to have been able to meet all your expectations and hope to see you again very soon.
Daniel / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This is a terribly dishonest hotel who have been contacted by an attorney and still refuse to refund what is clearly their mistake. They offered room credits instead - why would I consider staying there again after being treated so poorly.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carlcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 October 2017

Dear Carlacaz;

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the Victoires Opera Hotel.

However, we are sorry to hear that we charged you more than you had to pay. Please send us an email at: hotel@victoiresopera.com by providing a booking reference, name and first name, arrival and departure day, as we found no reservation under the name of carlacaz. Make sure that your comments have been recorded and if this is true, the necessary steps will be taken to ensure that the quality of service complies with the category of our hotel.
We hope to hear from you.
Best regards,
Daniel / Guest Relations


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews