We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as shown on their website!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Opera
Ranked #499 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I felt misled the moment I walked into this hotel. The pictures shown on their website do not match reality!!!! The lobby is just OK. The halls as cramped, smelly, hot and dark. You can smell food from the restaurant bellow 24/7. My room was dated, dingy and worn out. The mattress and pillows are horrible! Metro noise is bothersome. It's not just loud necessarily, but vibrates too. My 'view' was to another building just a few feet away. Bathroom was outdated by at least 2 decades, shower curtain made of cotton and was too short, water got everywhere!
Staff was friendly, but nothing out of the ordinary. One day I asked information about a bus tour of Paris. They referred me to the brochure stand. No one tried to help.
I was very disappointed by this hotel. Would NEVER stay there again. Not worth the price!!!

Room Tip: Try to go to another hotel! If you have to stay here, ask for a room on the top floors to minimize m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patbrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

I have to travel to paris twice a year for work but i decided to try a closer hotel to gallerie lafayette this time. Im not sure if i'm staying there again.

Positive: great, great location. Not a minute away from the subway station that has access to various metro lines. Very close to the Opera and the main shopping stores. Although the hotel is small and old, they did some renovation so the rooms are clean so do the bedsheets. Staff are very nice but i had one incident that bothered me a bit. The lights went off around 10pm and i thought it was a blackout. Checked the streets and the hallway and it was only in my room. I called the concierge and he kept asking me if i plugged anything. Yes, i was charging my phone. He told me to not charge at night, only during he day. Wth? How am i supposed to charge during the day if i have to USE my phone when im outside?? It seemed like the room next door was charging their phone too and it made the lights go off ( seriously...?)
They have free wi-fi, which made my stay much easier.

Negative: this hotel is not good for lightsleepers or moderate sleepers like someone mentioned before. Location is great and its full of restaurants on the street. That being said, since the hotel is older, they have no soundproof walls. You can hear the street noise and worse, walls are so thin that you can hear the next rooms conversation.
I stayed in the second floor facing the entrance of the hotel. Im not sure if the rooms facing the other side are better but if you are a light to moderate sleeper, i wouldnt recommend this hotel.

Overall, if you are a light to moderate sleeper, DONT stay in this hotel. I'm a moderate sleeper and it was difficult for me to fall asleep. Otherwise, the location and cleanless make it worth it. It was extremely convenient for me.

Would i stay there again? 50/50. I work around the shopping area so the location was really convenient for me. If i do stay there again, i'll bring good earplugs.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoungTravelAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The personnel was very helpfull, the rooms were clean and comfort,there was an elevator and it was working!!!! The hotel is near the Opera House and very close to La Fayette Galleries. You can find small cafes and snack bars around the hotel.There is metro station a few seconds away. We didn't take breakfast but as i took a look it waa poor for my taste.

Room Tip: 2nd floor was a bit noise cause of the metro
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roundtripz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I came with wife and 2 small children age 4 & 6. I reserved via booking.com for triple room. The hotel was generous enough to upgrade us to quad room at top floor (6th floor) free-of- charge after few email communications considering that we would need a quite room to rest. The room is sizeable and confortable for 4 of us, very quite at night. The free wifi is a big plus point. service is generally good. convenient store is by the doorstep and it opens early at 7am everyday. Launderette is within walking distance. restaurant serving hallal food is plentiful nearby (all accessible by foot). Public transport (Roissybus to CDG airport), metro & double decker tour bus is nearby. The infamous Lafayette & Printemps Shopping mall is nearby. This is unmistakenly the right choice of hotel for me.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Msia_Boleh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Great location but not for light or moderate sleepers. Traffic on the main street is loud all night, I was even staying on the 4th floor! If that wasn't enough, the walls are paper thin, the room next door had a guy snoring all night that sounded like he was right there. It does prove however someone slept well...

Service and breakfast was good, but cannot recommend unless you request and get a room well off the main street...not sure its possible.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room overlooking the main street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrbrownstone11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Opera d'Antin
Hotel Opera d'Antin
#563 of 1,803 in Paris
456 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Richmond Opera Hotel
Richmond Opera Hotel
#977 of 1,803 in Paris
170 reviews
Opera / Bourse
The Chess Hotel
The Chess Hotel
#234 of 1,803 in Paris
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
Residence Orion Paris Haussmann
Residence Orion Paris Haussmann
#1,477 of 1,803 in Paris
90 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Emeraude Hotel Helios Opera
Emeraude Hotel Helios Opera
#425 of 1,803 in Paris
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Opera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Opera

Address: 5 rue la Fayette, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #499 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: ₹ 9,898 - ₹ 16,190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated at the foot of Galeries Lafayette, 200 metres from the Garnier Opera House and 10 minutes walk from the Louvre Museum, offering direct links to the Eurostar terminal, Roissy-Charles De Gaulle airport and the Paris Disneyland amusement park, the Hotel Excelsior Opéra provides a warm welcome to both businessmen and women as well as tourists on a visit to the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Opera Hotel Paris
Excelsior Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing