We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Francais...pretty satisfying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #92 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I stayed here with my wife for my summer vacation from July 14th to the 18th. I was very impressed with the thoughtful way of recommending nearby restaurants as they had already printed out the pertinent information on a local map(address, phone number, type of food;italian, chinese etc). I went to 4 of the places and was satisfied with all of them taste-wise, and 3 of the cost-wise. Two bakeries were also excellent, one on the same side of the road and about 100meters toward the Nation metro and one next to Paul Bert bistro(on the local restaurant map).

The hotel is situated about 8 minutes walk from Nation Metro station, which ensures direct metro service to Champs Elysee(Franklin D'Roosevelt), Lafayette/Printemps departement store and La Vallee village(outlet)/Disneyland. Though on the out of the center of Paris, the location of the Metro and small size of Paris ensures arrival at any point in about 30 minutes travel.

The room was very small but I understand that this is the norm for Paris. The staff presented us with 2 small complimentary bottles of wine, 2 small water bottles and 1 can of sparkling water. However, the water was not refilled during room make-ups and we did not request any as we had brought water of our own. Soaps and shampoo is provided though Q-tips are not.

The TV set showed only programs in French and not even CNN, and this is something to be upgraded, thought the free English newspaper in the lobby somewhat mitigated this.

The staff were helpful and spoke excellent English. They provided 24hr service and were able to provide detailed directions when asked.

All in all, a satisfactory experience in my first visit to Paris. Would not hesitate to recommend this place again, though I may choose a hotel more centrally located next time. Would definitely go to the local recommended restaurants again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyongKi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happymanager, Manager at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Dear

Thank you for choosing our hotel,

We are delighted that you enjoyed the service of our hotel as the list of restaurants that we recommend.

for the size of the room once again I would say what's surprising 95% of tourists who visit Paris find the small hotel rooms and is why we put in our room descriptions of the size of all the rooms. And as you can see we have different type of rooms that are larger or smaller relative or another but it is true that the room in Paris will always be smaller than elsewhere but I think that's what makes the charm of Paris

for drinks and foreign channels, we have CNN, BBC Eurosport TVE Spanish German ZDF chain, in terms of beverages as stated in the ROOMDIRECTORY it is offered in Drinks reception if you want to recharge it just asked the front desk and we do it with pleasure.

Thank you for sharing your feelings about our hotel and we hope to see you again soon

warm regards
zyad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 857 of 2,027 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

Reality: Moderately priced Parisian hotels are somewhat similar in our experience. They are generally smaller than what you would expect in the US, with fewer amenities. This hotel fits in that category. If this is your first visit to Paris expect to walk into the room and think or say out loud – are you kidding – this costs $185 a night? Also expect that you won't find an alternative to this – it is reality. One example – there is often about 1 foot of space on either side of the bed.

The Good:

Friendly and helpful staff – they were able to recommend good restaurants, arrange shuttles etc. Someone is available 24 hours a day.
Interesting location – in a non-touristy location off the Place De La Nation. The area around the hotel was not swamped with tourists in July like the Latin Quarter or other parts of Paris.
The lobby, halls, rooms and bathrooms are extremely clean.

The Not So Good (depending on what you want)

The bed was pretty hard and our hips and shoulders were sore – requiring frequent turning in the night. Some folks might like this style bed, but it's definitely harder than what most Americans would be used to.
The location is a bit far away from most of the attractions in Paris – so a metro trip or pretty long walk is required. We enjoyed both. But if you want to be where the action is – this isn't the place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiddle_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed here in May, and what a great little hotel!! Staff were amazing, friendly and knowledgeable, hotel was in a great, quiet non tourist driven location!! Checked in to discover we'd been given a complimentary upgrade as it was our honeymoon, when we reached the room we found a very nice note from the hotel on the bed congratulating us along with a bottle of wine and a little box of chocolates to share.

The room itself was a little tight (as is the norm in Paris hotels I've heard) with a queen sized bed, the bathroom was very modern and clean, and the room also had a nice little balcony that spanned the length of the room around the corner (the room was on the corner of the building) that had a great view of the tree lined street which was lovely to stand on and enjoy a glass of beer or wine during the day, at sunset or evening.

One of the days we needed to do laundry we asked the staff where the local laundromat was, the front desk clerk informed us the hotel provided a complimentary wash, dry and fold service which was a great touch to the overall experience.

The front desk staff were very, very helpful, helping us with all our queries and spoke to us like we'd known each other for years. They pointed us in all the right directions, and told us great areas to visit for meals that weren't tourist driven where we had some of the best meals of our honeymoon and some cool little bars to go for a drink.

The hotel is in a great location, 5 mins walk from the Nation metro station where you could get the underground subway to many different areas as it covers 4 of the Paris subway line.

Definately worth a stay in you ever cme to Paris, can't recommend it enough!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I visited this hotel 3 weeks ago with my girlfriend and having read the excellent reviews on here, was not in any way disappointed, in fact they exceeded our expectations.
We arrived at 12:00 midday on a Friday, and as check in was not until 14:00, the friendly chap on reception (who thankfully spoke English than I speak French) recommended a decent local restaurant for us to grab a drink and a bite to eat – and what a great shout it was.
This hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist traps and that’s just how we liked it. This is not a problem at all as less than 10 minutes walk away you can access the Metro, which is so quick and hassle free – The London Underground should take note!
The rooms are small but immaculate, with lovely furnishing, flat screen, wall mounted TV and the shower and bathroom area are extremely modern. Some chocolates were laid out on the bed for us, which was another nice touch, also a small balcony for you to get some fresh air.
As the hotel did not supply iron/ironing board, they offered to iron my clothes on the house and these were returned to my room within 45 minutes, again the customer service just blew me away. The reception staff were very helpful and offered sound advice on anything we asked, I would definitely return.
The only minor gripe is the lift is incredibly slow, but that is being very picky and certainly did not put a dampener on what was a fantastic weekend break. Another tip to those staying here, if you decide you don’t fancy venturing out to a local restaurant one night, take away places are very few and far between round here so you may want to pick something up on your way back to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeedsLadBornAndBred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The staff were wonderfully helpful and the room was so much more than I'd hoped for.

We were welcomed with champagne in the room and had a very nice view out onto the street below from our little balcony.

The hotel is a little bit of a walk into the touristy areas but there is a couple of very close metro stations and the area close to the hotel has some great restaurants that the staff are only too helpful to book for you.

We made the mistake and thought that breakfast was included in the tariff- which it wasn't and really I would of probably preferred to eat elsewhere if I'd known before check out.

All in all a fantastic stay! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THESHONKOFTONK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#87 of 1,802 in Paris
670 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#39 of 1,802 in Paris
1,567 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#344 of 1,802 in Paris
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#282 of 1,802 in Paris
1,674 reviews
Hotel Astoria - Astotel
#156 of 1,802 in Paris
1,137 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
#65 of 1,802 in Paris
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#81 Business Hotel in Paris
#130 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: ₹ 6,624 - ₹ 14,017 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing